We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in January. Great location, nice but small rooms. Breakfast is great and compliments to the chef and staff. Only complaint is the charge for wireless and a charge to use computer in business area. Parking was $30/nite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajunrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the review you wrote regarding your recent stay with us. From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver, we sincerely thank you for the feedback.

Additionally, I encourage you to sign up for our complimentary loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch. By doing so you receive complimentary wifi, as well as a bundle of other great perks.

We hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

Any time I am in Denver, the Monaco is my first choice for accommodations. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a quirky, off-beat style that is a far cry from the typical chain hotel fare. Evening hosted wine and horsdoeuvre reception in a beautifully appointed and recently renovated lobby is a treat. Service is par excellence? (How many hotels still have doormen? The Monaco does!) Great location just off the 16th Street pedestrian mall is your gateway to tons of fabulous restaurants and terrific shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

And we love our doormen just as much you do!

Thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just stayed one night in December but I arrived very early and they were able to give me an early check-in, which is always appreciated. The Front Desk staff was very friendly. They made a recommendation and dinner reservation at a great sushi restaurant called sushi sasa. Room was very nice, comfy bed which you always find at a Kimpton, and overall very good stay. Location was great for walking around downtown area. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibumm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the review you wrote regarding your recent stay with us. From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver, we sincerely thank you for the feedback.

We hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My one and only stay at the Hotel Monaco in Denver and will be my last one. The lobby is just too bright and loud which makes for a lousy ambience. The rooms are very mediocre so please do not believe in the great picture and photo shop talent they have infused on their website. The worst part of my experience was the charges made to my credit card for the nick nacks that were served on a tray (which by the way had no indication of any cost attributed along with, who would think that they would charge $6 for a water bottle and same overpriced across the board on small airport size packets of chips/nuts etc). There is no sign whatsoever stating that you will be charged if you consume any of it, considering there is a separate cash bar which obviously needs a key and it cost to dive into that box. Parking is ridiculous for this Hotel. I understand that no parking spaces would be allotted by the hotel since it is in the middle of downtown but to charge $25 bucks for valet is just plain.

I am tired of typing here, so my suggestion is to just opt for a motel just outside downtown along with a cab ride. You would still save $100 or more. So just stay away!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TenzinJigme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First off, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and expressing the concerns you had with the Hotel Monaco. We sincerely apologize for the recent experience you had with us.

In addition, we assure you that your feedback will be treated as an opportunity for us to improve our operations and in essence, remain committed in providing a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through our doors.

Again, we appreciate the concerns you noted in regards to your recent stay and hope that you will choose the Hotel Monaco Denver the next time you decide to visit the downtown area.


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. It is in a great location, there are lots of places you can walk to and it is easy to come and go. The room was nice, I loved the lobby although I never got a chance to enjoy it. They have a nightly happy hour from 5-6 with drinks and appetizers but we never made it back in time to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even at 4AM when we had to leave to catch our flight. The valet was always very fast. The only negatives were the valet parking is required and expensive at, I believe, $30 a night and the bed was a little hard. We did not eat at Panzano's, the restaurant downstairs, but we did have late night cocktails at the bar a couple of times and it was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us. We love to receive great feedback such as yours, and hope that you will return soon. Call us before you return and we would be happy to provide other parking options for your next stay.

Looking forward to having you back!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a great stay at the Monaco hotel in downtown Denver. It is walking distance to just about anything you want to do there. The front desk was accomodating and friendly. I had booked a queen room for us and then upgraded a few weeks prior to our stay for some extra $. When I checked into the room it was still a queen and very small, so the request must not have gone through. The front desk was happy to exchange it for a suite, which made all the difference and is the reason we would go back. From what I saw of the queen room, I'd suggest getting a King or above. Also, the rooms in the back of the hotel face a dark courtyard and into each other. The rooms in the front are a much better option if you can get one.
The restaurant donwstairs, Panzano's, does have a great happy hour but it is beyond crowded. We went after happy hour and the service was slow (food came out before my drink) and appetizers were so-so. I think there is better in the area. Overall, the hotel is the main draw here- both the lobby and rooms are exquisitely decorated and worth a stay.

Room Tip: Facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Monaco for one night. We needed a hotel that allowed us to bring our dog. The Monaco was very dog-friendly and they offered us a dog bed, along with a food and water dish for the dog. In addition, they did not require a pet deposit! Although we didn't participate in the dog-sitting, the staff told us if our pooch made much noise while we were out for the evening, they would give us a call and let us know how he was doing. Thankfully, our dog settled in just fine and a phone call wasn't necessary. Even though the hotel is dog friendly, it is very clean without any pet odors.

The room, while small, was incredibly clean and quiet. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the room contained a safe and a mini fridge. The lobby was large and inviting; many people were enjoying conversations and tea/coffee, while some of the younger guests played Wii. The hotel staff was very helpful and offered us a great deal of assistance. The restaurant downstairs, Panzano, served delicious and unique Italian cuisine at a decent price. I could not believe we were able to stay at this little gem of a hotel for only $109.00. The only unfortunate aspect of our stay was the mandatory valet parking which cost $31.00. I would have liked to have had an area to park that did not require valet parking. All in all, however, this hotel was amazing and I definitely recommend it to anyone to needs to stay in Downtown Denver. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amberrose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver and Panzano, we thank you for the review you wrote in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear about your experience with us and most certainly appreciate the positive feedback. We hope your time with us will have you returning very soon, and make sure to bring your dog too!

Looking forward to having you back in Denver!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
932 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £120 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing