We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Late check in Friday night went well but room was average for this type of hotel. Big disappointment was no coffee maker in the room and we had to go to the lobby for complimentary morning coffee and newspaper. Although room rate was a weekend package the bonus items were not in the room and had to request them at the front desk, twice. Valet parking is $31.00 per night. Our room was "pet free" but the hotel was overrun with very large dogs which was a bit odd even for a pet friendly hotel and there were frequent confrontations in the lobby. It did have a good location downtown but there are other better choices in downtown for this type of hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlhelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I wish I could review this hotel based on the fact that I actually stayed there, but I had to cancel twice on the very day I was suppose to arrive. One was due to illness the next time a death in the family. Both times the hotel refunded me my total amount even though I canceled on my day of arrival. To me this is great customer service and I would stay there based on that alone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Janeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have now stayed in three Hotels Monaco and like the others this place is FUN! Fun decor, Fun staff, reasonable prices (for a downtown hotel that is). And the Panzano restaurant is great!

Room Tip: if you are a Kimpton member you sometimes get surprise upgrades - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheue444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in January. Great location, nice but small rooms. Breakfast is great and compliments to the chef and staff. Only complaint is the charge for wireless and a charge to use computer in business area. Parking was $30/nite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajunrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the review you wrote regarding your recent stay with us. From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver, we sincerely thank you for the feedback.

Additionally, I encourage you to sign up for our complimentary loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch. By doing so you receive complimentary wifi, as well as a bundle of other great perks.

We hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Any time I am in Denver, the Monaco is my first choice for accommodations. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a quirky, off-beat style that is a far cry from the typical chain hotel fare. Evening hosted wine and horsdoeuvre reception in a beautifully appointed and recently renovated lobby is a treat. Service is par excellence? (How many hotels still have doormen? The Monaco does!) Great location just off the 16th Street pedestrian mall is your gateway to tons of fabulous restaurants and terrific shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

And we love our doormen just as much you do!

Thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just stayed one night in December but I arrived very early and they were able to give me an early check-in, which is always appreciated. The Front Desk staff was very friendly. They made a recommendation and dinner reservation at a great sushi restaurant called sushi sasa. Room was very nice, comfy bed which you always find at a Kimpton, and overall very good stay. Location was great for walking around downtown area. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibumm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the review you wrote regarding your recent stay with us. From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver, we sincerely thank you for the feedback.

We hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My one and only stay at the Hotel Monaco in Denver and will be my last one. The lobby is just too bright and loud which makes for a lousy ambience. The rooms are very mediocre so please do not believe in the great picture and photo shop talent they have infused on their website. The worst part of my experience was the charges made to my credit card for the nick nacks that were served on a tray (which by the way had no indication of any cost attributed along with, who would think that they would charge $6 for a water bottle and same overpriced across the board on small airport size packets of chips/nuts etc). There is no sign whatsoever stating that you will be charged if you consume any of it, considering there is a separate cash bar which obviously needs a key and it cost to dive into that box. Parking is ridiculous for this Hotel. I understand that no parking spaces would be allotted by the hotel since it is in the middle of downtown but to charge $25 bucks for valet is just plain.

I am tired of typing here, so my suggestion is to just opt for a motel just outside downtown along with a cab ride. You would still save $100 or more. So just stay away!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TenzinJigme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First off, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and expressing the concerns you had with the Hotel Monaco. We sincerely apologize for the recent experience you had with us.

In addition, we assure you that your feedback will be treated as an opportunity for us to improve our operations and in essence, remain committed in providing a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through our doors.

Again, we appreciate the concerns you noted in regards to your recent stay and hope that you will choose the Hotel Monaco Denver the next time you decide to visit the downtown area.


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
662 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,115 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £124 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing