We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Downtown Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Downtown Denver”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Decided to treat ourselves and stay in Downtown Denver after a fundraising event two weeks ago, instead of driving home.

Staying at the Hotel Monaco was just like a min-vacation for us. We arrived and checked in mid-afternoon and enjoyed the oversized jetted tub in the room (one of the spa rooms) before dressing for the evening. The room was very large, more so than the pictures indicated. Everything was laid out and in order for us. Despite being right on 17th Street (the main business avenue in Denver), there was virtually no noise.

We were also surprised to find out about the daily wine tasting and social hour just off of the main lobby. Enjoying a nice glass of good wine (not some jug wine), tasty snacks, and a warm fireplace, was a perfect way to start off the evening.

The staff is really to be complimented. Every person greeted with a smile and was always attentive. We only stayed one night, but it was really was a special way to enjoy our night in Denver.

As you might expect with a downtown hotel, valet parking is the way to go. At $21 for 2 hours (unlimited in and out), this was a real bargain. The room rate was a real bargain as well. We stayed on a Thursday evening and got a very reasonable rate for a spa room. Take the time to call directly to get a rate quote, as the rate quoted to me at the reservation desk was about 15% cheaper than anything I found on the internet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Centennialtraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Have a great day and thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    347
    107
    38
    28
See reviews for
210
475
100
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at the Monaco a couple of times and really like the hotel. The staff is great. Everything about the hotel I really like but it's just too loud. We could hear talking doors slamming from above and below.
I'm done staying here. Sleep is too important to me the deal with this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bayboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If you are looking for a welcoming oasis in downtown Denver this is the place to stay. They are even pet friendly!! Fantastic service, comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Really easy to walk most anywhere in the downtown area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachescape_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your response. On behalf of the Hotel Monaco Denver, we apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay with us. I can assure you that your feedback will be treated as an opportunity for us to improve our operations and remain committed in providing a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through our doors.

We hope that you choose to return to Denver and the Hotel Monaco very soon.

Thank you!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The location is great -- two blocks from the downtown mall, about six blocks from Market Street, restaurants and bars all around. The staff was very friendly and we were greeted with a complimentary glass of wine when we checked in (it was the wine happy hour). We got a hotel room with two queen sized beds and they were very comfortable. The room had high ceilings and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel bar was very stylish and had great cocktails.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor had very high ceilings and was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summervillain124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hosted evening wine hour. And thank you for recommending us to any friends and family that choose to visit the Denver area!

Hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night after enjoying a night out with friends. I probably should have researched parking a bit as valet is $31. Come to find out the parking garage a block away is $5 a day on weekends. I little ticked at the valet service I confronted them and they gladly gave my truck back with no charge and I parked at the garage. All the the staff had this same helpful attitude. Very pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about where your room faces. Our faced a parking garage for the hotel next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENVER COLORADO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I celebrated his birthday this weekend, spending an evening at the Hotel Monaco in Denver. We could not have asked for a better property. The staff was so attentive, the room was beautiful and it was close to everything. We enjoyed having happy hour at Panzano right next door. Prosecco and wines for $5.00 and excellent tapa size apps between $4-6... so yummy. I also saw guests with dogs, so I'm thinking they are pet-friendly. Oh.. and the bed... the comforter, pillows and bed was amazing !!! They also have a free wine tasting at 5pm in their lobby. Great place for couples or even if I was on business I would enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher floor - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELICASTLE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Convenient in town location for a very well run hotel. Pleasant lobby and very well furnished rooms. Super clean and the rooms are very comfortable. We Stay here almost every time we visit Denver. It is our "go to" hotel and we have never been disappointed. Also, the Panzano restaurant with an entrance from the hotel lobby is excellent.

Room Tip: Third floor and above will avoid street noise but the area is not really that noisy and the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
806 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
559 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing