We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Time Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel Monaco has the charm of an older time, but it is a newly renovated attractive hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the rooms were large, clean, and stylishly decorated. Hotel Monaco is in a great location; within walking distance of the 16Th street mall. Panzano's Restaurant, located downstairs, is an excellent restaurant. The menu offers many chef specialties that are exceptional. The first night that we were there, we were celebrating two birthdays and an anniversary at the restaurant and were complimented with dessert and champagne. Happy hour also occurs in the lobby every evening from 5-6pm serving wine, sangria, and light snacks.
I would definitely suggest anyone to stay at Hotel Monaco and we would surely revisit this hotel. My only complaint would be the $31 daily parking fee....a little steep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agranier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are extremely happy about our new bold and vibrant lobby and we are glad you were happy with it too! We always take extra good care of our guest that are celebrating that special occasion and we hope you enjoyed the complimentary dessert and champagne. We hope to see you back soon, thanks again for your review!

Best,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    338
    100
    35
    28
See reviews for
200
449
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have stayed here twice now over the last few years. The hotel decor is modern and fun. The rooms are extremely clean. Exceptional staff-- made us feel incredibly welcome by giving great restaurant recommendations, sending up champagne (it was our anniversary), and serving wine in the evening/ coffee in the morning. Nice location right off of the 16th Street Mall, with a short walk to Coors Field or Larimer Square. Pets are welcome, but you don't feel as if they have ever been in your room if you arrive without one. The only downside is the $31 daily valet parking fee if you park on site, but it is downtown & parking is a premium. This is one of our favorite hotels, and we'll definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBeachinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks for the great review, we are glad you experienced a good stay with us for the second time this year! We do have a pretty good team that do a fabulous job ensuring that our guests are taken very good care of. We hope you had a memorable anniversary and hope to see you back again!!

Best,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Really nice hotel, in a good location with nice, helpful staff. Enjoyed my stay. Wish Kimpton Hotels would place coffee in the rooms, but otherwise a really terrific hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room..the Queen rooms are a bit small and in the back side of the hotel so they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allyson360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us! Our hotel really is in a great location in the heart of downtown. We are sorry about the coffee maker not being in our rooms, but we do have plenty and they are upon request. Let us know when you come back and we will be sure to place one in your room!

Best,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Kimptons are great when you come with a dog or two. You get a nice room, always clean and are made to feel welcome. I love the wine hour and also if you join their group you get free internet and you get to raid the mini bar for a snack. Sheets are Frette and the robes are fun animal prints. Do yourself a favor and try this chain, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jba31857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our wine hour is always a hit especially during our summer campaign, where we offer not only wine but our homemade summer sangria which is so refreshing after a long day! We hope to see you back again when you r travel brings you back to Denver.

Best,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have stayed in many four star hotels and was not exactly sure that this one would live up to that standard after reading the reviews. Decided to give it a try and I am glad I did. After a very long day of driving myself, my two girls, our two dogs and a bird checked in. The room was fantastic and with AAA I received an unbelievable rate. The dogs had beds waiting with bowls and treats :). The service was outstanding and so was the restaurant. The beds were very comfortable and a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel with a very personable and accomodating staff. Attention to detail and personal interaction was really good. Helpful, generous, and requests filled happily and graciously. Comfortable Beds, showers, soaking tub, view of city from our corner suite, (sweet). All in all, a great experience. I understand that some visitors even get a goldfish bowl (inhabited) to keep them company in case they get lonely. 3 woman at a big conference..ourselves..
were not too lonely. All in all, a wonderful experience. c,s,r in Boulder, co

Room Tip: Book way ahead! Corner suites were good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Sales at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you for the fantastic review! From everyone here at the Hotel Monaco and Panzano, we thank you for the great review and taking the time to write about your experience.

Now if you decide you'd like a goldfish companion for your stay next time around, please don't hesitate to ask!

We hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Another great Monaco hotel! Pet friendly, lovely stay. Enjoy the nightly wine tasting and free appetizers. Nice Hotel for 3 nights

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 346donnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed our wine hour too!

Make sure you to come see us again very soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing