We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed at the Monaco for two nights to visit the downtown Denver area prior to a week long ski trip at Beaver Creek. The Monaco was absolutely wonderful with the greatest staff ever! I travel quite a bit; when you experience high quality service, you definitely get spoiled and expect it elsewhere. The Monaco will do this to you, as the hotel staff and doormen were phenomenal.
The hotel itself is gorgeous with large, expansive clean rooms. The hotel is also within walking distance of the 16th Street Mall and other various downtown attractions. Stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWayfarerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so happy you enjoyed being spoiled! It was our pleasure to take care of you during your stay.

We hope you'll think of us the next time you are taking a skiing trip! Swing by before or after your way up to the mountains, and we will take care of you once more.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

We visited Denver in mid-October for my cousin's Graduation. We stayed here because I was so impressed with how my dogs were treated when we stayed in another Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City, UT. Ever since then, I've been a loyal fan of Kimpton Hotels.
So I thought it would only be appropriate to stay at Hotel Monaco. The decor was very inviting. The receptionists were very welcoming. I also asked for a goldfish for our room to keep us company while our puppies stayed home and they delivered asap. The hotel also provides Wine Social at 5pm everyday! It's a great way to meet other guests and locals in the area. The hotel is also a walking distance to all the downtown shops. The location is very convenient to the free shuttle. We will definitely stay here again... Love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dafilpsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thanks for thinking of us as your "home away from home"! We love hearing such great reviews from our guests!

We are also happy you were able to take advantage of our "Guppy Love" program and enjoy a goldfish companion during your stay. Maybe next time we will get to meet the pups!

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have been staying at the Monaco off and on over the years. It is always absolutely impeccable. The staff does everything to make you feel special, including the perks of Kimpton members (The New York Times in the morning, for example, the wine hour, etc.). It is very well located, a block away from the 16th Street Mall and many restaurants, including the excellent Panzano downstairs. This is by far our favorite hotel in Denver and we strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go have dinner or brunch at Panzano downstairs. It is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review. We love hearing from our loyal guests! We are always hear to make our guests feel special!

We are also so happy you were able to enjoy Panzano, our award-winning restaurant. Isn't it so tasty?

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Recently spent 2 nights in December. It had been many years since I've stayed but never disappoints. The rooms are well appointed. We were provided with a spacious corner room on the 3rd floor. The attention to detail is great and fun to see. We naturally went downstairs for the complimentary happy hour, in addition to red and white wine offerings they had a mulled wine that was very good. The best was the cocoa they provided along with the coffee service was outstanding. A nice touch was complimentary 5 minute chair massages during happy hour. The gentleman providing them from the spa was gracious and VERY talented. If we had more time I would have easily booked an appointment. I was disappointed I didn't win the trivia though curious who did as when we left only 3 entrants (Grand Mesa) I believe was the correct answer. None the less a great experience provided and the staff more than accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Always as for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTwin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We're so happy to hear you have a great time with us at Hotel Monaco Denver. We really love hearing such great feedback,

Don't forget to check out our wine hour each time you stay with us. We host it every night from 5 PM - 6 PM with those complimentary red and wines as well as 5 minute neck and back massage. We're glad you were able to partake in that during your stay.

We hope you'll think of us the next time you are in the Denver area.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were traveling with kids and needed two rooms. Reservations got us great rates. Minor problems... toilet in one room was broken and fire alarm went off as i was putting kids to bed. I guess because i was so happy with service and accommodations, These issues didn't bother me as much as they normally would. Hotel was clean, descent location and provided great service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry for the mishaps that occurred during your stay, but we hope you'll give us another chance to wow you!

I'm glad you were able to secure a great rate for your stay with us, and enjoy your time.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Hotel Monaco is one of the nicest, warmest and friendliest hotels I've ever used. Located in the heart of Denver, it is convenient for the famous 16th Street Pedestrian Mall and everything Denver has to offer. The hotel decor is western and warm, and they ever put goldfish bowls in guest rooms. I have stayed here dozens of times, and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Its so nice to hear that you had a great time with us! We love to hear feedback from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to share.

We're glad you were able to take advantage of our "Guppy Love" program. Anytime you stay with us, we would be more than happy to provide a pet goldfish for your stay.

The next time your travels bring you from Maine (that's where I am from!) to Denver, we hope you'll think of us!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at Hotel Monaco for two nights in late December. We made our reservation through Expedia the afternoon of our arrival as we were skiing in Breckenridge. When we arrived at the hotel, the valet was quick to assist us with unloading our bags, and was able to accommodate the fact that we did not want to remove our snowboards from the roof rack. The front desk had our multi-room reservation and had our party in adjoining rooms. The bellman was also pleasant and helpful given the number of bags we had on this road trip.

The rooms themselves are quite nice with extremely high ceilings which I would venture to guess are 15 feet or more in height. Everything was completely clean. Bonus points awarded for:

- They had three full size towels in the bathroom. This is great given my wife needs two towels when showering. We stayed at several cheaper places on this road trip and were disappointed by the number of places which only provided two towels by default. (Strange, but important)

- The mattress was truly comfortable. Again, this makes a huge difference and, in my experience, isn't all that common.

- The rooms are well insulated, the AC is completely silent, and the temperature can be exactly set.

- The restaurant adjoining the hotel has an early happy hour with great drink deals.

- Monaco hosts a wonderful wine and cider reception each evening in the lobby. This is a wonderful distinction and great fun after a day out in the snow and cold.

Other key notes:

The hotel is only two blocks from the 16th street mall. A free tram ride will quickly get you to the fine restaurants on Larimer.

Head to head, and money not being a factor, I would stay at the Monaco over the Ritz in downtown Denver. However, I will continue to favor the Four Seasons when pricing allows. That may not be a fair comparison, but I feel it shows the high regard that I have for this property. I have already booked my next stay for the Denver Broncos first home playoff game.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Monaco Denver.

Next time you are in the Denver area, make sure to check out Panzano's award winning happy hour again! We host it each and every day from 2:30 PM - 6:00 PM. It is always a treat to enjoy!

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
933 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £119 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing