We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #14 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I enjoy the Kimpton brand of hotels and have stayed at many with good experiences so I joined the In-Touch program. Unfortunately my experience at the Denver Monaco was less than optimal. I made my reservation 4 months prior to arrival. The room that I was given (#208) was the worst I have ever been in and seemed unsafe with a cement wall and walkway outside the window. I was astounded a Kimpton would even sell such a room. I was informed the hotel was full with a wedding. After a rough night in the room I packed my suitcase and was prepared to check into another hotel if I could not be given a decent and safe room. The staff at the front desk were nice but seemed unable to manage the necessary service recovery without my persistence. My colleagues did not have the same experience, reserving a king room, not the queen as I did. I guess at this hotel you get better treatment if you spend $9/day more. By the end of the following day I did get another room facing the street on the second floor, which apparently is the dog-friendly floor. I was not informed of this fact so you may want to ask beforehand. The restaurant at the hotel is lovely with good service. I would choose another hotel in Denver next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beyond98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Jowan88,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in Denver, so that I can offer you a complimentary upgrade, based on availability, so we can offer you a more pleasant experience.

Kind regards,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    345
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
209
466
99
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a very nice Kimpton with clean rooms and a nice location. All of the staff was lovely but we did have a few housekeeping snafus that keep it just shy of a 5. One day, none of our rooms were cleaned by the time we returned home at 4:30p.m. And one day they left the housekeeping sign on the outside of the door so we did not want to disturb them as they cleaned. Eventually, we realized no one was actually in the room. The goldfish are cute until they die. I am not completely sure how well taken care of they are and by the end of the trip, my teenagers were very concerned with the whole idea of the goldfish being used as a cute trick to make people feel more at home. We were perfectly content petting the visiting dogs at the afternoon happy hour, which we loved. We also do not love the mosquito repellant smell of the C.O. Bigelow products they offer. The beds are amazing and I never sleep better at any hotel than a Kimpton. The location is right near 16th Street - with east access to the free shuttle that runs up and down 16th. Take advantage of the cute Tea Cloud store directly across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jemom68,

Thank you for writing us a review. Your feedback is so important to us, so we will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. At the same time, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis Junction
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

AAA+ attention from the moment we arrived till the very second we departed. Room was very well appointed and worth the price - bed and pillows were just right! Right in the heart of downtown so getting around was very easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyDavisJunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi SammyDavisJunction,

Whoo-hooo!!!! We are as excited as you are that you had an awesome stay!!! See you again the next time you are in Denver!

Cheers,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is well run, service excellent for absolutely everything! It is modern, clean, stylist, well located for easy walking access to everything yet in a quiet street. Can't fault it in any way whatsoever. Rooms spacious, well equipped, clean, modern and the beds are really comfortable. All the staff could not be more helpful.

Restaurant food excellent and most things home made on the premises. Reasonably priced, service faultless.

If you would like coffee making facilities in your room just ask reception and they will provide it. Extra drinks in your mini bar, just ask and it arrives. Anything at all that you would like that has not been provided, just ask and everything seems to be available and no problem to provide.

What more can I say. This hotel is A+++++!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Fiona240,

Thank you so much for the awesome review!! You made our day with your wonderful comments! We can't wait to welcome you back again and again :)

Cheers,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Special touches and Kimpton style are classic in this clean, perfectly located Denver hotel. Away from the hustle/bustle of 16th but close enough. LODO is an easy WALKO as is Coors Field and lots of area highlights of this growing city. 4th floor Suite was clean and cool in style but lacked the updated stylish walk in shower one might expect for this size, price and style room.
Food at Panzano was great (breakfast anyway) with lots of homemade options and creative thought. Service and staff are over the top (Paul might get nicest guy award for any hotel I've been to) as he even treated Cardinal fans with over the top service respect:-) Elevator had issues but they are smart enough to help facilitate guest coming walking down. Temporary issue but how they wanted to accommodate the guests was the idea. Classic Kimpton service.

Room Tip: If you want more stylish accommodations such as spa shower make sure you book that style room. Jr su...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great bike share program that will help get you to and from locations within the city which is bike friendly for sure.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello BillyTeddy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We will be sure to share your wonderful words with Paul! We are glad that your stay with great all around, between the hotel and Panzano!

Kind regards,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay in a Kimpton Hotel and I have to say it was the best and most memorable stay I have ever had in a hotel.
I would first like to thank Lauren & Melissa for being two of the most attentive people in the hospitality industry. Theses two ladies were so helpful with questions/concerns before we even made it to Denver and once we arrive for our stay they impressed us even more.
I cannot say enough with how wonderful of a hotel this is and it's central location to everything we desired to do while in Denver.
Every staff member that we encountered from the front desk to members of house cleaning were kind, polite, professional and more than happy to take the time to tell is about local favorites that we should see during our stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TroubleOgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay. We absolutely loved meeting you and can't wait to welcome you back again and again!

Cheers,

Melissa Deacon & Lauren Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I traveled to Denver for a Broncos game and two night stay in December. There were quite a few other fans (but not rowdy) staying on the property so that made for fun! This property was consistent with other Kimpton experiences we've had across the country. The location is convenient with plenty to walk to right out the front door. We had intended to use the free bikes, but simply ran out of time and were disappointed we didn't get to explore on them. There were quite a few available and all different styles. The restaurant was tasty and service was good. My only complaint is that the hotel is a shorter downtown building so the views aren't quite as spectacular as others in the area. Staff was very friendly and housekeeping was on top of everything and never intrusive. Room was in great shape and very clean. Good coffee available in the lobby in the morning. Overall very good stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandiLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello BrandiLB,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that we lived up to our other properties look and feel. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Melissa Deacon
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing