We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't that impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wasn't that impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

The photos and the high reviews on TripAdvisor convinced us to give this hotel a try. We found a really good rate on the internet and booked it. Our room had a terrible view of the interior of the building - no outside view. We were immediately disappointed because it felt small and cramped. The decor in the hotel and rooms was different from what I am used to -its kind of a carnival style. The one really nice thing about the hotel is that you can get a goldfish in a bowl delivered to your room. I thought that was a really nice touch. The next night we went next door to the Residence Inn and felt much more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    340
    102
    35
    28
See reviews for
206
457
97
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
denver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We went there for the first time in 2000 when we were negotiating a new job in Denver. We loved the hotel and 9 years later, we were celebrating our 10th year aniversary and decided to go there again. The stay was fantastic. The hotel clerk upgraded us to a suite, we had a nice wine bottle free as a gift. It was an awesome stay!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the service that we provided. At Kimpton we believe in creating an experience that will touch each one of our guests and am glad to hear we were able to share a special moment with you. We welcome you back for your 11th anniversary next year or sooner if permitted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

I have just returned from my stay at the Hotel Monaco in Denver. The staff were outstanding and very helpful. I brought my dog with me and she enjoyed the dog friendly atmosphere. The 5-6 pm daily wine time was a nice mixing of friendly people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolaandfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Ok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

I stayed here for the Denver Broncos/Dallas Cowboys game weekend, which happened to be the same week as the National Police Chiefs conference, so lodging options downtown were hard to come buy. Hotel Monaco had rooms at $350, but luckily I pricelined and got in for $175, which ended up being over $200 with tax. Even at that price I felt the hotel was was overpriced. The room, a single queen was quite small, and the tv was really small for a luxury hotel. I was not impressed.

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn just up the block over New Years Eve, which I think is a much better property. But, of course it was booked up with the police chief convention.

The hotel however is in a good location, close to 16th street mall and LoDo. That being said, I wouldn't stay at the Monaco again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Nothing special--not good, not bad. In the heart of the city so very well located. Clean, quiet, good for business travel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Very impressed by the hotel room, although the only drawback (which I thought was very odd) was that it didn't have a coffee maker. Hotel staff were all very friendly and free wine happy hour is definitely a bonus! Can't comment on value/price as I don't know what the meeting organizers paid.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pqjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati oh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Nice enough place. Great staff. Sit a bit overpriced for the room itself.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing