We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff, wonderful restaurant, quirky furnishings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #19 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Hotel Monaco was a good bargain and located close to the sold out conference hotel. The location is central, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The happy hour attracted an interesting mix of customers who seemed to be enjoying themselves.
I am familiar with Kimpton hotels, but not the Monaco line. That being said, the somewhat scruffy furnishings and cluttered closet (with items to buy) and tv armoire (also with many items to buy) surprised me, and thus it's a step down from the big name luxury hotels. The walls are thin, and if you have neighbors with loud voices you will hear much of their conversation.
The restaurant is amazing, with attentive but not overbearing service and wonderful flavors; I highly suggest dinner if you have the funds.
With the right price i would recommend this place to a friend; at full cost I am not so sure.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Moncao for three nights; if you're familiar with Kimpton Hotels, this a quintessential Kimpton hotel - lobby and rooms nicely appointed, warm, prompt and friendly staff, quality restaurant on premises, very boutique hotel feel. Bed wasn't all that comfortable (which I find a common Kimpton drawback), and the rooms are on the smallish size, but not to the point of discomfort. Better pillows would go a long way to solving the bed issue. No coffeemaker in the room, but there was a small refrigerator. Bathroom is also very clean; marble sink counter, white tiled bath. Aveeda products are the toiletries of choice.

Location is about a 10 minute walk from the convention center; hotel is on Champa St. a couple blocks off of 16th street mall. Seems centrally located, although I don't know Denver that well. The room service is very prompt, and breakfast was good every morning. I did, however, get food poisoning from what I believe was dinner at Panzano, the in-house restaurant. No one else affected, I was the only one in my group who ordered the dish, and every other meal other people ate the same thing I did. In fact, I
was originally slated to stay two nights, but the food poisoning delayed my return by a day - I was in bed from 10a on Tuesday to 7a Wednesday, becoming intimately acquainted with the mini-bar snacks - they were all I could eat. Note the hotel was not going to permit me to extend my stay, but due to persistent efforts from my assistant, I got the reprieve (they would have had to carry me out....).

Wi-fi is free if you join the hotel's frequent guest program; otherwise it is $9.95 per day. There's also cocktails at 5p, which I didn't take advantage of, but is certainly nice. The fitness center is pretty small - a treadmill, two ellipticals, a bike, a few weights, an ab bench are all crammed in there. You do have the option of going down a block to a fitness club and paying $15, but in snowy, 30 degree Farenheit weather, paying 15 bucks to walk a block didn't seem like something I wanted to do.

Overall, a nice hotel, but the small fitness center and not so comfy pillows are blemishes; not sure if the food poisoning was a one off or if this is something to beware.

P.S. sorry for the sideways pix, but computer problems are keeping me from opening up photo program & rotating properly.....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

The photos and the high reviews on TripAdvisor convinced us to give this hotel a try. We found a really good rate on the internet and booked it. Our room had a terrible view of the interior of the building - no outside view. We were immediately disappointed because it felt small and cramped. The decor in the hotel and rooms was different from what I am used to -its kind of a carnival style. The one really nice thing about the hotel is that you can get a goldfish in a bowl delivered to your room. I thought that was a really nice touch. The next night we went next door to the Residence Inn and felt much more comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We went there for the first time in 2000 when we were negotiating a new job in Denver. We loved the hotel and 9 years later, we were celebrating our 10th year aniversary and decided to go there again. The stay was fantastic. The hotel clerk upgraded us to a suite, we had a nice wine bottle free as a gift. It was an awesome stay!!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2009

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the service that we provided. At Kimpton we believe in creating an experience that will touch each one of our guests and am glad to hear we were able to share a special moment with you. We welcome you back for your 11th anniversary next year or sooner if permitted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I have just returned from my stay at the Hotel Monaco in Denver. The staff were outstanding and very helpful. I brought my dog with me and she enjoyed the dog friendly atmosphere. The 5-6 pm daily wine time was a nice mixing of friendly people of all ages.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolaandfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I stayed here for the Denver Broncos/Dallas Cowboys game weekend, which happened to be the same week as the National Police Chiefs conference, so lodging options downtown were hard to come buy. Hotel Monaco had rooms at $350, but luckily I pricelined and got in for $175, which ended up being over $200 with tax. Even at that price I felt the hotel was was overpriced. The room, a single queen was quite small, and the tv was really small for a luxury hotel. I was not impressed.

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn just up the block over New Years Eve, which I think is a much better property. But, of course it was booked up with the police chief convention.

The hotel however is in a good location, close to 16th street mall and LoDo. That being said, I wouldn't stay at the Monaco again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Nothing special--not good, not bad. In the heart of the city so very well located. Clean, quiet, good for business travel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
663 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,115 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £125 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing