We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #15 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Don't be put off by the Tripadvisor avg.price/night* displayed - various travel websites offered substantial discounts. We enjoyed 2 nights here at the end of May and were very pleased with the location, so convenient for sightseeing, eating out etc. Our room at the back of the hotel was exceptionally quiet, though we felt that those in rooms close to the 2 elevators or ice machines might tell a very different story.
Parking in the handy lot nearby came to $17 for 24 hours and was an easy 2 minute walk from the hotel entrance.
The 16th Street Mall was better than some posts had suggested, being greatly enlivened by the quirky addition of several pianos, positioned at intervals for anyone wanting to entertain the passing crowds.
A tour of the State Capitol Dome is a great way to orientate, but must usually be reserved in advance.
A $4 trip on the Platte Valley Trolley rewards you with a nice view of Denver's skyline across the river and is a small price to pay to help preserve a piece of history, run by enthusiastic volunteers. What's more, it's right next to the flagship REI store in a beautiful old building, just crammed with interesting stuff.
Would be happy to stay at the Hotel Monaco again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    345
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
208
465
99
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We booked on a discount travel site and got a rate at a fraction of the hotels BAR. We arrived very late, staff was very nice and helpful. When we opened our room door my wife and I burst into laughter ... I have never seen a room so small. We assumed it was because we arrived late and the hotel was full, but another person in our party had a room on a different floor and location and same situation. We also bordered the "fitness room" which consisted of a few exercise machines, it too was small and if combined with our room would be the size of a typical hotel room. The public areas were clean and welcoming with beverages in the lobby during different times of the day. The location also was great being so close to 16th St. Mall. Overall, I didn't mind it too much, added another story to our travels but if I'd paid full rate I wouldn't have been so happy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I have stayed at nicer hotels in Downtown Denver but would definately stay at the Hotel Monaco again.

Cons: Small rooms, no pool or hot tub etc, very very small work out room, no vending machines, bar closes early.

Pros: Very nice, clean rooms, good location, price was reasonable, good location to all attractions, free internet for being part of Kimpton Inn Touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoBlndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed here for a night while in Denver and was very happy with my experience. It was in a pretty good location, the staff was friendly, and the room was very clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable the bathroom was large and had a great mirror and they offered free wifi in the room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Denver.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoor_travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had originally not planned to stay at Hotel Monaco; however, after a bad experience at another well-known hotel, we were fortunate enough to be able to move to this wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in our well-being. Walking into the restaurant in the morning, the first thing you smell is wonderful baked bread. We were told the restaurant bakes all its bread, scones, and muffins. There's nothing like freshly baked bread in the morning.

Happy hour in the evening is like spending an evening with good friends. There is wine for the adults, back massages, and video games for the kids. The hotel is pet-friendly and some people brought their dogs down to socialize. All in all, a great experience.

The rooms are lovely, bright, and comfortable. The front desk staff was amazing and eager to recommend good restaurants. Even the parking staff was wonderful, as we did arrive and leave quite frequently with our car. We never had to wait for more than a minute or two.

All in all, this was a great experience. We visit Denver at least once a year and will definitely call the Hotel Monaco our home whenever we are in Denver.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oceangirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed for a conference at the Colorado Convention Center - an easy 5 minute walk. Room was adequate size, nice decor, bed very comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and willing to help. Liked the wine reception from 5-6. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good. Internet is free if you are a member of Kimpton's In Touch program. Got a good rate through Expedia.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeofRyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This is a nice hotel in a good location, Lodo. I would have rated it higher normally--the lobby was beautiful in the typically Kimpton-funky way. It, along with the room decor, felt a bit like Alice in Wonderland. I loved the plush animal-print robe and the room was large.

My issues were small but important to me, so here's my hail of bullets: First, I had called weeks in advance (and several times leading up to my stay) to request adjoining rooms. This couldn't be accommodated and I was frustrated. (However, we did receive a complimentary bottle of wine) Second, the toilet and tissue papers were like sand paper. I had a better experience at the gas station. Pretty similar results for the bed linens. While the bed itself was comfortable, the sheets felt stiff and scratchy. Third, my room was adjacent to the elevator. I didn't really notice until starting at six am, I was awoken with the constant dinging of the elevator doors. Fourthly, the shower caulking was pretty stained and the tub didn't drain properly. Neither did the shower fully dispense all the water even though the drain switch was properly pulled into shower-mode. So it felt quite icky showering with my feet in a few inches of water. Other than that, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fivez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing