We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a small wedding, lovely accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #19 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We got married at the Hotel Monaco last December and it was a very beautiful setting. Our waiters were polite and helpful, and the hospitality went above and beyond. The food was catered from Panzano, which happens to be some of the best food this side of the Mississippi. There was a slight miscommunication with the bill, but Monaco's staff was more than helpful to remedy the issue.

In addition to having our wedding, we stayed the night in one of Monaco's standard rooms. The decor was trendy and aesthetically pleasing, while the ambiance was relaxing. Our room had a little mold in the bathroom, but nothing unbearable. I would definitely stay at a Kimpton Hotel in the future for a relaxing night away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

This is a mostly a great hotel. We have stayed in several Kimton hotels, and this is one of the better ones. The rooms and lobby are very nice. The staff was very nice and tried to be helpful. The hotel offers free wine and limited appetizers from 5-6 every night in the lobby, which is always welcome.

Panzano, the restaurant in the lobby, is very good with an excellent happy hour. The location is also great if you want to be downtown.

I would have given this hotel 5 starts, but the TV in our room did not work correctly. They have a surprisingly bad cable package, with no AMC, HBO, Sci-Fi channel or anything with a good movie on. So we bought an in-room movie. Unfortunately, the pause, rewind, and fast-forward buttons on the remote all turn the TV on or off. The 'engineer' they sent to fix the problem brought extra remotes that also just turned the TV on and off when he tried to rewind our movie. If you are going to restrict the TV options to encourage purchasing movies, please make it work correctly. They did remove the movie charge.

So 5 stars if you never want to watch TV, 4 stars if you sometimes want to watch a decent movie at night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrolleig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Decor is Kimpton, fun, colorful whimsy. The cool thing is they allow dogs. This is great for Colorado residents who drive to Denver. In fact they have doggy pillows and treats in the room for " man's best friend" The staff seems to really enjoy commenting on the various breeds. They really do the dog thing very well.
Staff was very good! Friendly and very helpful. The hotel was showing some wear in our room furnishings but they were redoing some of it as well. Panzano connected to the hotel is a really nice restaurant with good service, food and wine. We did not use any computer or business facilities so I can not speak to some of the other reviews. They have a nice "happy hour" with wine served in the lobby. Downtown Denver as a neighborhood can get a bit "dicey" at night ,if you wander in the wrong direction. The helpful doormen advised us of safe well lit and populated routes to take for walking at night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for three nights for a wedding in October 2010. The reception was at the Hotel Monaco and it was a perfect location. The rooms themselves were very well decorated, roomy and modern and very clean. We got to check out the suites as well from our friends getting married and it too was very nice. The food was wonderful organic Italian that we enjoyed at the reception and for breakfast room service. It was an easy walk to coffee shops and restaurants right around the corner, as well as shopping and anything else you might need.

The service was amazing. The bellman and all the desk service went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, and really went out of their way for the wedding guests. We had a wonderful stay, and would recommend this place for anyone looking for a wedding location, a romantic weekend away or a great jumping off spot for your Denver vacation! An added perk is they allow pets, and give you a goldfish upon request :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellytherascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2010

Hello!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Warm Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Hotel Monaco Denver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Good location in Denver with most downtown within walking distance, the 16th st mall very close. The hotel is OK. It is for the for first time for me that there was a goldfish bowl placed in my room. Great experience. The colorado convention center is just a few blocks away, within walking distance.
The Panzano restaurant is great for food if you have the time and the patience. Certainly not great for a quick breakfast. Lunch and dinner menus are great.
The decor and rooms are old fashined and the internet is wifi and just about OK.
Overal a good stay and willstay here again.
They have free coffee in the morning and free drinks and massage bertween 5 and 6 pn, if you manage to come back at that time. Also seems to be very pet friendlly...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad.nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I love Kimptons, in general, but I had some issues with the staff. Less than knowledgeable and the front office manager was rude to me when I called after my visit when I was later charged for an early check out fee even though there was no notice of such and I stayed 6 nights instead of 7 and informed the clerk upon check-in. She said "no problem" she would make the adjustment. A week later, I get an additional charge billed to my credit card. It took some doing to prove I was not informed. Anyway, it soured me on the hotel. So different than other Kimptons!! There are lots of other alternatives in Denver.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I usually stay at Kimptons when traveling but I think the Hotel Monaco brand, and this hotel in particular, is well past it's prime. The duvet on our bed was threadbare from use as were most of the furnishings. Staff were great and made an effort, but with so many hotels to choose from in downtown Denver, this one is going to have to step up its game if it's going to compete.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrightone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
663 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,115 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £125 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing