We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Teatro
Ranked #30 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wonderful hotel! Close to everything downtown, the service was excellent, and we wouldn't stay any place else in Denver. Was very close to the theater where my husband and I saw a Broadway show, very convenient! Didn't get to use the car service, but it's a wonderful idea now that the weather is getting colder.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shancgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Front Office Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Hello,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the corner room and the convenient location. Our Escalade will be here for you when you come back - we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,

Matt McCrary
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

If there were rankings for top hotel bell staffs, it would be hard not to put the Hotel Teatro bellmen near the top of the list. They were down to earth in a snooty area, quick with suggestions or instructions, seemed to have eyes in the back of their heads to get the door when you are coming out, remembered our names, and were very professional and clean cut.

The highlight for is were the several rides we took in the courtesy car, a 2014 Cadillac Escakade, to our conference about a mile away. The bellmen would jog to beat us to the car doors to let us in. The car only travels up to a two mile radius and cannot be reserved, but we never had trouble getting a ride when we needed one. The bell staff never seemed to have their hands out for gratuities and several times we had to ask them to come back to get a tip. It was refreshing to get top notch service in an era when service is a dying art.

We had two rooms. In one, we had a lot of trouble with the complimentary Internet....the other room had no problems at all. Both rooms were the same rate type, yet the second floor room had a TV in the bathroom.....the sixth floor room did not. If you want to soak in the oversized bathtub, you may want to ask for a room with a bathroom TV. We were bummed that you had to go to the front desk to get ice or be stuck tipping a dollar or two for a bellman to bring some up.....no ice machines on any floor.

The room was very clean, but the layout is awkward. Of course, the building was converted into a hotel so it is not surprising that the layout is limited. The TV was rather small so it could fit into the entertainment center cabinet. There is significant movement in the water pipes and our caulking was broken where the pipe came out to the toilet.....which was sort of an eyesore in such a nice hotel. The overhead shower was okay, but could have used more pressure. Our two rooms were both facing 14th Street and were pretty noisy. Valet parking ran us $29.00 per day with in and out privileges and was well worth it.

The hotel is close to everything related to entertainment. The multi-theatered Denver Performing Arts Center was two blocks away, the Comedy Works was two blocks away and the Convention Center was three blocks away. The Pepsi Center was about a half mile away and was within walking distance. Larimer Square is sensational and was one block over. The Kevin Taylor Restaurant looked pretty empty the whole time we were there and it looked like it would be hard to eat a meal for less than $60.00 per person. With so many other budget friendly restaurants in the area, we decided to pass on the hotel's top eatery.

The hotel is right across the street from the Four Seasons Hotel and the downtown area is very vibrant and busy late into the night. Any of the issues mentioned in this review would not be discussed for a two star hotel.....but when you are in a 4.5 star hotel, expectations are high. Even though there are a few minor issues, the hotel was a very good value. We would go back just to be spoiled by the bell staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent hotel: attentive service, quality linens and towels, pleasant rooms, location near Larimar Square and theater. We chose to eat at the hotel's Prima restaurant (assumed it shared the kitchen with the fancier hotel restaurant across the lobby) but the food, presentation, service and atmosphere were disappointing, didn't fit with the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORNORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice now when going downtown for the company holiday party. Its great! Service is impeccable. The room we have stayed in (we have stayed in the same room both times) is small, but very clean and comfortable. It has a queen size bed (which is small for us since we sleep on a king at home) but we have never slept better together than when we stay here. Their queen bed for some reason feels so much bigger to us (hard to explain, but its true...even when the wife was 6 months pregnant we were quite comfortable). Hotel offers a free shuttle (a big pimping Cadillac Escalade) to take you anywhere downtown. It is across the street from the DCPA, so a perfect location if you are taking in a show and are staying downtown.

When we stay here, the party we go to is at the Hyatt across the street from the convention center...the Teatro is night and day different from that property. Walking into the Hyatt is like walking into Grand Central Station with the crowds of people, line at the check in desk, lines at the elevator banks...but the Teatro on the SAME NIGHT is calm and quiet in the lobby. Very relaxing. Just what two tired parents need when they get a night away from the kids.

Bottom line...if you are looking for one of the best places to stay down town Denver, this is IT!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Attended a conference here and the experience was fabulous! Easy check-in; great accommodations; superb staff and excellent services. Everyone was very hospitable and a joy to interact with. Usually staff do their best to stay out of the guest way, but here they are very visible and energetic in greeting me. The establishment is very cozy and the rooms were creatively designed and pleasing to the eye. This hotel met and exceeded all of my expectations. And not just me, I heard the same compliments from most of the attendees at the conference.

Room Tip: 9th Floor wasn't bad at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel Teatro is great. I had high expectations going on for this stay and they met or exceeded them across the board. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is professional and the location for downtown is ideal.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Enjoyed a three night stay at Teatro while attending a conference at the convention center...There wasn't a huge amount wrong, and the facility is quite snazzy, although for what I paid I usually expect just a tiny bit more. Given the price of competing options I researched nearby, though, I am hesitant to say there are better values around -- downtown Denver is apparently expensive!

Pros:
-Friendly staff, good service overall
-Free wifi
-Nice room, comfortable bed
-Cool decoration in both private and public spaces

Cons:
-The fitness room is pretty sparse
-Wifi slow
-Some rattling in the HVAC inside the room, and some noise from outside

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
932 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Address: 1100 14th St, Denver, CO 80202-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £119 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing