We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hopefully will improve after renovations…. not sure...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Teatro
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hopefully will improve after renovations…. not sure...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Like some recent reviewers, we stayed at the Hotel Teatro during it's renovations. We were there for three nights attending family events.

The check in was fine, but I personally do not like to be responsible for a $35 key (they make you sign a form saying you will pay for any key not returned). The also explained that there was complimentary water in the room. It turns out that the complimentary water was only provided for the first day of arrival. Too bad as I was really hesitant to drink from the tap as rusty water came out almost every time we turned on the water (from sink - both cold and hot).

Since the water was a rusty color, I was not inclined to drink it or use it to make coffee. Not a great situation when you are worried about dehydration at higher altitudes.

Our room was fine, but small. The windows were so completely outdated that there were gaps in the panes. Consequently the street noise was a problem. Frankly, the room was not too quiet regardless. We were luckily close to the end of a hall.

The fitness center was a joke… small and really depressing.

The elevators were a mess.

All of this and the price was still a bit high during a renovation. We had made our reservations months in advance and were not aware of the renovations, nor the challenges that would result from it… like no bar, no restaurant, closed off stairs, etc.

Housekeeping service seemed fine, but they did break the cardinal rule… one housekeeper let my brother into someone else's room (albeit a cousin's room, but still!!!) to take a shower while she was cleaning his room.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms that have renovated windows.
See more room tips
Green Features: Was not aware of any environmentally friendly practices, so guess they are not doing a great job.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Happybobbi,
Thank you for the review. I'm pleased to say that we are actually replacing our entire lock system during the 3rd week of July, so in the future we will have a more user-friendly system that does not require us to charge a replacement fee for expensive keys! Additionally, I apologize for the rusty water. That was due to some work we needed to do on a hot water line and is certainly not typical of Hotel Teatro. We are very much looking forward to opening the new restaurant and bar so our guests don't have to leave property with a great meal and original craft cocktails!
Thanks again for your time.
Jordan Murphy, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    251
    84
    50
    34
See reviews for
83
505
94
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly staff upon arrival. The restaurant was being renovated with a projected completion of July 27, 2014. The room was adequate but wasn't worth the price per night. Paint was chipping in the bathroom, windows were outdated with makeshift shims and screws holding them closed. When we turned on the hot water faucets, rusty water flowed for 10-15 minutes before it cleared up. Our breakfast consisted of a bagel with cream cheese and toast which cost $7.56 billed to the room. Overall, not terrible stay but we expected more for a $300/stay. Will definitely not choose this hotel again for our anniversary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Jeffrey M,
I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls during your stay, and I'm sorry to see that you are not interested in coming back. Unfortunately, we had to make some repairs to a hot water line during your stay, which is what caused the rust-colored water. As you can imagine, repairs like that are necessary on occasion, and we do make an effort to inform all of our guests, though it seems we failed to get the message to you.
I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.
Again, my sincere apologies, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Jordan Murphy, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently, we had to stay over in Denver on our way to a wedding in Eagle. We wanted someplace central, and we wanted some style. The location of this hotel delivered on the first count, and our room on the second. We were on the ninth floor with a view of the mountains - and a stunning lightning storm! The room was spacious enough, with high ceilings, a teeny balcony and the vibe of a small urban apartment. Perfect for hanging out and enjoying a glass of wine. The mattress was excellent (always a deal breaker when we stay at a luxury hotel). Downstairs, the new lobby/lounge area is a plus. We would have loved to spend some time there just hanging out, but unfortunately our schedule was tight. A free wine hour (a nice selection of good wines) and breakfast were bonuses, and we enjoyed the walk to the Denver Art Museum (though we were told we could have taken the house town car). I'd love to come back and stay here again (and try the new restaurant) when we have more time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StillTraveling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the review, StillTraveling66!
Our west-facing rooms on the higher floors do have a great mountain view, and the lightning storms this time of year are an added bonus (when you get to enjoy them from the dry comfort of your room!) We sincerely hope you do come back and stay with us when you have some more time to spend enjoying the hotel! Please let us know what you think of The Nickel!
Thanks again, Jordan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Teatro. It was centrally located, the staff was friendly and responsive and it had a really great design aesthetic. The bed was super comfy, and though we had no view, the room was nicely appointed. We were given a room that could accommodate a person in a wheelchair, which was fine and I think gave us extra square footage.

Overall, it had a young vibe (staff and other guests), but we had a peaceful and quiet stay there. The hotel restaurant was being renovated, so breakfast was served in the lobby- a little awkward, but they said the reno would be done by mid-July. No hesitation at all in recommending this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_F_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Michelle_from_CT,
Thanks for the great feedback! We are coming close to completing the renovation and could not be more excited! I'm very happy to see that you weren't inconvenienced by the construction. Please come back and see us after we open The Nickel!
Thanks again, Jordan, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, nice people, tiny room. Little closet space for two people; I ended up putting my shoes where the room safe was and my clothes in the drawers next to the couch. Also needed several service calls for things in the room that didn't work. For all that we would stay here again BUT would pay more attention to the room dimensions! Last word to the wise- hopefully the euphoria of the recent legislation making marijuana legal will wear off - the aroma of pot permeated the halls and led me to place a towel against the hotel door!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the review, Melissa D! I'm sorry you had to contact our staff about things in your room that didn't work; I hope we got those taken care of quickly!
If you reach out to our in-house reservations department for your next stay we will gladly work with you to find a room layout you like!
Please come back and see us soon!
Thanks again, Jordan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel located 2 blocks from Larimer Square. From the moment we arrived we received outstanding service. Mehalia (sp?) at the front desk was both friendly & knowledgeable. We saw her each day of our stay and she was always a tip-top professional. Our room was spacious and the housekeeping staff was efficient & friendly. The bellhops went out of their way with directions and restaurant recommendations. We were able to walk to all the nearby restaurants and shops. Other attractions like the Denver Museum of Art & the Millenium Bridge are also within walking distance. Their new restaurant, Nickel, was not open yet, but it didn't put a damper on our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor facing 14th Street (& the 4 Seasons across the street) and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for the great review April H! We are lucky to have such a great team at Hotel Teatro, and we certainly appreciate your kind words!
We are very excited about the opening of The Nickel; it's just a few weeks away now! I hope you'll come let us know what you think after it's open, we'd love the feedback.
Thanks again, Jordan Murphy, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

First the good news..the beds are so comfortable and the rooms are really nicely decorated and the bathroom was lovely. We were very comfortable while in our rooms. What didn't work was the way it was managed. First we really liked Lance who greeted us, he was very friendly and welcoming.We arrived early, left our luggage and went out. We received a call that the room was ready, came back an hour later. Our luggage was not in the room and it took us a while to chase it down. Small detail, but indicative of management problems. Same with newspaper delivery in the a.m., never arrived though requested. The biggest mistake in our opinion was that they charged for coffee and tea in the morning. That is just low. Even the cheapest roadside motels give free coffee and tea! Step up your game Hotel Teatro, so we can come back to your nice rooms!

Room Tip: High floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Rebecca G,
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry for the oversights you experienced, but I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room. The delay in the luggage was an unusual situation for us, and immediately after it was worked out our bell captain and front office manager reviewed our process for handling luggage in that situation in an effort to prevent the same thing happening in the future. Also, we are very excited to open the coffee shop in the Study next week! You happened to catch it during a transitional period when we were serving just the drip coffee, but starting next week we will have the full shop open for business. We will continue to offer complimentary in room Keurig coffee as well!
Thanks again for the review and we hop to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Property: Hotel Teatro
Address: 1100 14th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#21 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing