We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I travel often for work--and this is a true favorite. Beautiful, reasonable, and best staff ever”
Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Teatro
Ranked #20 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Vidalia, GA
1 review
“I travel often for work--and this is a true favorite. Beautiful, reasonable, and best staff ever”
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Letter I just sent to GM:

I stayed at your hotel almost a week for a culinary conference the end of March. Every single employee was charming, helpful, and on their A-game. Even the maintenance person—who looked very busy!—kindly stopped what he was doing to ask if I needed help finding something as I was wondering down the hall.

I had my shoes shined, an aromatherapy bath drawn, clothes laundered, ate at Kevin Taylors, ordered room service almost daily, asked the concierge and front desk for restaurant tips, and used the courtesy car a zillion times. In other words, I really put the staff to the test—and they passed on all accounts!!!

Wes’ drivers/doormen were all so polite, and I just cannot tell you how nice it is when you’ve been on the road for six week to have such courteous, polite, and sincere attention. It made me feel like I was at a true home away from home! Sure, the beds are great and the amenities are nice, but your staff is what makes this one of my all-time favorites.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VidaliaSweetOnions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 12 May 2009
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We strive to be your home away from home and are happy to hear that you agree. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    263
    89
    50
    36
See reviews for
89
519
95
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

An excellent small hotel in downtown Denver. The location was very convenient to all the downtown tourist sites. The entire staff (valet, bell captain, front desk, concierge) was outstanding with their service. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, and contained all the necessary amenities. The theater-theme in the hotel decorations was very interesting.

This is one hotel that we truly enjoyed and would go out of our way to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldog86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 12 May 2009
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent. You are within a couple blocks (walking distance) of the 16th Street Mall. I will not stay here again but I rated this hotel high because I think most people will find this hotel apealing. Also, it is very common in the downtown area to pay $26 for valet parking.

We are from a very small town and this was our first trip to Denver to take our 7 month old baby to a specialist. We chose Hotel Teatro because we didn't know our way around Denver and this was relatively close to the hospitals. This hotel was a little out of our league. We felt very awkward receiveing the level of service that we did. (we are very independant, not used to people opening doors for us, carrying our bags, parking our cars etc, kissing our [--] to get tips......)

The only negative was: The restaurant was pretty pretencious. There was a bad snow so most everything downtown was closed. Our son was very sick and we were trying everything to get him to eat. There was no place open to go get him some food. So I called down to the restaurant (knowing that it was a long shot) to see if they had some applesauce. Being a prestigious place, they were offended that I had even suggested they would have such crap in their restaurant. The matrodee actually hung up on me. In a hotel which had staff available to go jogging with us if we so desired, they got upset by my 'hope' that they might accidentally have applesauce? A simple "no, I am sorry maam," would have sufficed. We were already stressed out with a sick baby who is screaming, hungry and won't eat, we are already intimidated by the city and the hotel, that was the last thing we needed. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prh307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I greatly apologize for the service you received in the PRIMA restaurant. The interaction that you described is not typical of our expected level of service. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond the call of duty and clearly fell short during your stay. We will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the restaurant staff to follow up with additional training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Our room was small, but everything in it was perfectly detailed and scaled to fit the room. I especially loved the fact that Aveda toiletries were in the bathroom. The hotel car was available at all times to whisk us free of charge to any destination within a 2 mile radius.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abylover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon. Thank you for your feedback about our Aveda products. We get great feedback about their products and will continue to keep using Aveda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The Hotel Teatro is in Denver's up and coming theater district, across the street from the Four Seasons, which is under construction. It's a short walk to lots of shopping, and the on-site dining is incredible.

To be sure, this isn't a budget property, but the rooms and other amenities definitely warrant the price. The beds are sublime, the rooms are generously sized. My entry way was set up in such a way that we heard absolutely no noise from the hall.

Also, the bathrooms are spacious with all the latest features and plush towels and Aveda soaps and shampoos.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon. I appreciate your comments about our Aveda products. In the past, we have discussed going with another brand; however with such positive feedback about the product we have never made a change. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Teatro during March 2009. The hotel had a perfect combination of charm and character in the architectural details found in historic hotels, coupled with a warm, refined, and polished staff. The shadow box art of the vintage costumes added to the flavor of this hotel near the Denver Performing Arts Center. Both the restaurants in the hotel were wonderful! There is absolutely nothing that I would change about our visit!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marenlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aisleseatnewyork
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I am writing to tell you about my recent stay at the Hotel Teatro. I was attending a professional conference from April 2 to 5 in Denver. Despite the inclement weather and a short power outage on Saturday (neither of which I could blame on the hotel!) my stay at your hotel was special. The staff (from housekeeping to the front desk) was always friendly and courteous and made me feel completely welcomed during my stay. My room was outstanding and made dining in my room (which I did a number of nights and the food was amazing) a unique experience. Perhaps the most memorable event occurred my first night at your hotel when upon returning to my room and laying out my clothes for the following day I discovered a large opening in the seam of my suit pants where it appears the thread had ripped. In a state of panic I called the front desk to see if they knew of a local dry cleaner or tailor where I could take the pants the next morning and hopefully have them repaired in time for a meeting later the next days. The front desk said they would get back to me and in a few moments the phone ring and it was the Night Manager (Jim) calling. He seemed genuinely concerned and asked me to tell explain where the tear was located and suggested that he would be happy to hand sew the pants so that I could have them in the early morning. Suffice to say I was impressed that he would make such a generous offer and even more impressed the next morning when the pants were returned not only perfectly repaired but also pressed. He had actually taken the time to press the pants himself!

I have stayed at many fine hotels throughout the United States and Canada but have never received such superb treatment. I extend my sincerely thanks to everyone at the Hotel for making my recent visit so enjoyable and a special thanks to Jim for sewing and pressing my pants!

Thank you so much,


Dr. Martin Ruck
New York, NY

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisleseatnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationsManager, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback about Jim does not go unnoticed! I will make sure to pass on your sincere thanks to him at our next Staff meeting. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope that you will be back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,076 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
822 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Property: Hotel Teatro
Address: 1100 14th St, Denver, CO 80202-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#21 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing