We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Colorado State Capitol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Denver City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$91.97*
and up
Denver Guided Sightseeing Tour on Motor Scooters
More Info
US$81.00*
and up
2-Hour Small Group Denver Segway Tour
Ranked #11 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A key feature in the Denver skyline because of its gold bell-shaped dome, the Capitol Building, fittingly in the Mile High City, has a point located at exactly 5,280 feet above sea level. Free tours are available for visitors.
Gainesville, FL, USA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

DH is a nerd when it comes to state capitol buildings, so touring this was a "must do" during our Denver stay. We were not disappointed -- even though we opted not to take an organized tour as such (although these are available), we found that walking around and taking in the exhibits at our own pace offered an excellent primer into the state's history.

Although marveling at the overall architecture and construction and looking at the legislative chambers is interesting enough, IMO the most informative exhibit is "Mr. Brown's Attic," which goes through the history of the building's construction in the late 19th/early 20th century.

If you are able, climb the remaining 61 stairs from Mr. Brown's attic to the Rotunda -- the view is SPECTACULAR and well worth the effort.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank radishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    413
    112
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely capitol. Good tour.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We had a good tour guide and so had a nice tour - informative with some humor thrown in. It's a lovely building - lots of history.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ScenicSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 924 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capitol on the hill”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This capitol is as beautiful as many other capitols I've visited. It could be the highest capitol built in the USA because there is a sign of "1 mile above sea level" at one of it's famous stairs. Also enjoy the free tour to check state senate, congress and other offices.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended. Stunning building, nice views, and more.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I enjoyed my visit here for several reasons:
1) The inside of the capitol building is amazing. I took a few dozen photographs of the interior alone, including the galleries, the incredibly ornate architecture (especially looking up at the dome!), the House chambers, and the Senate chambers. There is polished brass, rose marble, & stained glass everywhere. Quite impressive.
2) There are several attractions *outside* the actual building-- most famously, the step engraved with "One Mile High" out front. But there is also a controversial Ten Commandments monument across the street (it has prompted court battles about separation of church & state); a large statue of a slain buffalo; Civil War cannon; etc.
2) The trip to the dome. Warning: Even if you take the elevator to the 3rd floor, you will still have to climb abut 90 steps to get to the dome's viewing area. That said, about halfway up there is a nice little museum about the history of Denver & the capitol building (so there's a nice break if you're out of shape). It's really not bad. Once up at the top, you can see a panorama of the city of Denver & beyond. Warning#2: When I visited on June 9th, you could NOT go outside on the balcony because of continued construction work on the dome. Still, the views out of the windows & open doors are impressive & worth a few photos.
3) The building is just impressive. It really does resemble the U.S. capitol building, and the architecture is bold & striking.
4) The capitol building is located across the street from Civic Park -- which itself has impressive, monumental Greecian colonades. Warning#3: like much of Denver's downtown, there is usually a substantial presence of homeless individuals in the park. I have yet to feel threatened by anyone, however, and even had a 15 minute chat with a guy who had lost his job & was living on the street. Anyway, Civic Park offers beautiful views of several nice buildings, including the impressive County building across from the Capitol. And there were lunch trucks when I was there, which was nice for refreshments.
5) The capitol building is near other stuff, too: the Denver Art Museum (DAM) is across the street; the US Mint is a few blocks away; and the Byers-Evans House Museum is a few blocks south. The "Unsinkable Molly Brown" historic house museum is also walkable (probably 7 blocks?). I also walked to the Convention Center to see the famous "Blue Bear."
6) The capitol tour is free.
OH! I almost forgot........When we gathered for the capitol building "tour," our guide gave us the option of just going straight to the Dome by ourselves, or actually going on the tour. We all opted to go directly to the dome & skipped the tour. I am an American history buff (a Master's degree, actually), but honestly, I can't imagine you miss too much by investing the additional 45 minutes in a tour. You can still explore the building, look in the legislative chambers, go to the Mr Brown's attic museum & learn all you want about Denver/capitol history, and you can go to the Dome. I am sure they do a great job with the tours, but if you're pinched for time & want to keep moving, I'd go straight to the top if given that option!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank emmonz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice state capitol building but....”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The building is nice, safe, well maintained and no admission except for a guided tour. The surroundings of the building however are crawling with a lot of 'shady' characters and gave us an unsafe feeling

Helpful?
4 Thank Jumparound65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colorado State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Colorado State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing