We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Zoo!”
Review of Denver Zoo

Denver Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #7 of 252 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Awaits! Every day, Denver Zoo seeks to inspire exploration and discovery, and creates connections with people, animals and nature. And every day, we’re working to save animals and conserve wildlife here and around the world. Your visit and support aids in all these efforts- Thank you. Denver Zoo is home to 3,800 animals representing more than 650 species and is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). AZA accreditation assures the highest standards of animal care. A leader in environmental action, Denver Zoo is dedicated to ensuring the safety of the environment in support of all species and is the first U.S. zoo to receive ISO 14001 certification for the entire facility and operations. This international certification ensures the zoo is attaining the highest environmental standards. Since 1996, Denver Zoo has participated in 594 conservation projects in 62 countries on all seven continents. In 2012 alone, Denver Zoo participated in 98 projects in 18 countries and more than $1 million in funds was spent by the zoo in support of animal conservation in the field.
Denver
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a beautiful zoo. The relatively new Elephant enclosure is really nice. This is a great place to visit with the family. Nice layout.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,844
    946
    260
    45
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Denver Zoo visit with adult family”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There were lots of animals, and if you looked hard enough, probably 95% of them were within visual range. The place was clean and well kept up. Lot's of kids from camps there but they were under supervision for the most part. Stopped and had food at one of their eateries and that was surprisingly good as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corbin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big zoo a lot to see!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

It was a great zoo. Some parts need updating and the map was confusing. We found ourselves back tracking and trying to get to areas we hadn't been to yet. Took us four hours to see all of it. Not a ton of shade to sit in so bring sunblock. Parking lot and entrance were a bit confusing but we figured it out thanks to smart phones. Food and drinks were expensive but that wasn't super shocking for a tourist stop. Have a ton of different animal sections and different shows/feelings. We didn't make any of them though. Only three bathrooms throughout. If you find one use it. You may not see another for for an hour or so. This was tough having kids with.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit in Denver. A lot if the animals were not available to see but I'm guessing because it was an extremely hot day. It was very clean inside the zoo. It was also very affordable.

Helpful?
Thank Smstearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth going to”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a nice zoo. Did not top the Omaha Zoo, but we really enjoyed it. We are from KC and this is way better than the KC Zoo, except for our awesome Polar Bear exhibit. The Denver PB exhibit is old school. Can't really see the bear in action.

The elephant, rhino and hippo exhibits were our favorites. Wish they had more bears, being Colorado after all, but that is just my opinion.

The staff at the zoo is fantastic. We loved that there were tables set out with zoo staff explaining more about the animals or their environment. That made the experience even better.

I also liked the size of the zoo. About the time your feet are tired or your nerves are tattered, you reach the end.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Denver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing