We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Mt. Evans, but please don't drive...”
Review of Mount Evans

Mount Evans
Book In Advance
More Info
US$780.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Mt Evans from Denver
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Mount Evans Tour: Best Views Close to Denver
Ranked #2 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visit Mt. Evans, but please don't drive...”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a great attraction. I've hiked to the top, I've biked to the top and yes, I've driven to the top. By far, the first to modes of transit are the most rewarding. After Labor Day is best...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MyTownCryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,598
    286
    34
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing stop”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL setting!! The restaurant was wonderful and sits up on an incline. Very cool in the summer; need a jacket for sure! So many hummingbirds buzzing around the level of humming was very loud! I was not able to go to the top of the Mount as I am a senior citizen but those who did were amazed by the view....well worth a stop if just to eat and enjoy wildlife

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank granmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrifying Drive!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After reading all the positive reviews, I was excited to drive up the highest road in North America. We passed the ranger station and paid $10 to continue and almost immediately, we were on the side of a cliff with a HUGE drop off. There are no guard rails and there is no shoulder on this road. It was so scary. We found a small pull out about 2 miles in and turned around. This drive is not for the faint of heart. I'm bummed that we chickened out and didn't make it to the top, but this scary drive is not for everyone. My stomach still flip-flops when I think about how high we were and how narrow the road was.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank karirado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great day trip from Denver”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

You can go from 80 degrees in Denver to 40 degrees at the top of Mount Evans. It has great vistas and worth the trip!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent day”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were in Denver for a long weekend and a show at Red Rocks and had a list of other things to see and do. This was one of them and a great choice. A beautiful ride up through the mountains with continuos awesome views. If you don't like heights you might find this a bit stressful on the way down but you just take it slow and easy. We saw Mountain goats and a few other animals. How many times do you get to tell everyone you went on the highest road in America and were at 14130 ft.? Lakes, rivers and views the entire way! Excellent. Then back down to Idaho Springs where we walked around town and had dinner before heading back to Denver. Very nice afternoon highly recommended. G

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dyver46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Evans also viewed

 

Been to Mount Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing