We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get outside and ride!”
Review of Cherry Creek Trail

Cherry Creek Trail
Ranked #31 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Parallels its namesake creek for 15 miles.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get outside and ride!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Denver has great bike paths along Cherry Creek. We spent several hours riding along Cherry Creek the first day we were in Denver. We used the City Bikes, which you rent for $8.00 for the entire day. Basically you use the bikes for 30 minutes and then return them to a kiosk (they are located all through the city, every few blocks), and if you want take another bike out for another 30 minutes, and so on. The trail is well paved and marked, and goes on for miles. We took a break at one point to visit the huge REI store near Confluence Park. Wish there was a bike path like Cherry Creek in my town!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NYMemorymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    109
    22
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful, safe, and convenient riding/running trail”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nicely kept, and paved trail parallels Cherry Creek, and gives you a feeling of being in the country instead of a busy city! Streets are clearly marked so you can determine where you are, and trails are below the overpasses, so no traffic to navigate! Trail is wide enough for runners and bikers to coexist. There are a few homeless people camped out in a few different areas close to the downtown area, and trails occasionally get congested, but for the most part easy to navigate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Needs a cleanup”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I've ridden this path for many years. I still ride here but visitors should note that it has become a haven for homeless. Also, many cyclists here are rude and endanger everyone by riding too fast for the crowded conditions. I see behavior here that simply wouldn't be tolerated at the equally crowded Wash Park, where multiple use paths are a friendlier, civil delight. Avoid this path at night. Use caution during daylight hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol-AnnInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 Stars, but...”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Until they finish the work between Downing and Colorado, it's a hassle. If there is a newbie rider in front of you, be patient. When it goes to single file in that area, it can get a little creepy. Otherwise, hop on and start spinning!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyTownCryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easily accessible”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's a great path that can take you most of the way to all points of interest in Denver. Easy ride. The downside: some seedy types hang around by the path and I would be a little nervous to make the trek in the late, late hours. But from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m., it's so busy that there's no need to worry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalareesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherry Creek Trail also viewed

 

Been to Cherry Creek Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing