We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Bad Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The location is great. It is walking distance to shops, restaurants and transportation. The room was spacious and comfortable. That said, there were a few issues with the hotel that were really frustrating. One, they tried to charge us for parking ($33 a night!) when we told them when we checked in that we did not have a car. On the following day, we made sure that they did not have a car on our account, which they said they did not. Then, the day we are checking out we get a bill in the hotel room for parking! They took the charges off, but still how many people have had this happen and not notice the charges? Also, and this is where the 2 stars come in….as we were getting into the elevator to leave we see a manager with a door for a bay open. Mind you, we are on the 15th floor. He says, “Sorry this elevator is reserved. We will call a new one for you.” OK that is weird. So we wait and wait and wait. About five minutes later, we are still waiting for another elevator when we see some jerk finally come and take the special elevator just for him. No apologies from him (but really he seemed like the person who doesn’t give a S, and nothing from the manager. He refused to look at us the entire time. Only after that guy left, did we get a car. Obviously we couldn’t take the stairs with our luggage, but it probably would have been quicker. It left a really bad taste in my mouth after that kind of service. It had made me never want to go to Embassy again, and it’s the only hotel I ever use for travel.

Room Tip: For views of downtown, ask for a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear traveler,

We thank you for your review and posting - parking in our primary location in Denver is of course expensive and we are happy to report that we charge along the lower range for valet parking in downtown hotels, while there are several self-parking surface lots close by for your future travel needs. We are shocked to learn about the person who refused guest elevator access to you and we are convinced of a misunderstanding, our managers and staff are highly trained hospitality professionals and we hope you agree with us that there could have been room for a misunderstanding. I hope you will give us another chance and return so we can show you how good we are.

For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,629 - 1,635 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed over one night last week in Denver. And what can I say I regret that did not stayed in this hotel a week before when opted for a more international brand.
Very good value for money. Well pleased with this hotel.
Nice and clean spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear traveler,

Thank you for your terrific review and rating! Come back soon!!
For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel is nice and convenient to convention center. Room was not clean upon check-in and smelled very musty. Changed to 2 additional rooms that smelled the same. Finally gave up and stayed in the 3rd room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nipper234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate learning from our guests always. We inspected the room and could not determine any aroma/smell but we certainly realize it impacted your stay and experience and for this we apologize. As a precaution we have shampooed and deep cleaned the room once more and reinspected it once over. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Close to the converter center and modern with good beds, great sheets and great location. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood and food shopping too. My check was met with a rather talkative clerk wanting to explain everything in the greatest detail but he did take care of me well. Too much is better than too little.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thanks so much for your kind review and we agree with you that a curious, chatty and welcoming arrvival experience beats too-litte-information everytime. Glad you enjoyed your stay, come back soon!

For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel is pretty. Staff is helpful and friendly. The room set up was great as the "family area" was close to the hallways and the bedroom was on the opposite end. Room was clean and the bed was comfy. Hotel is close to many downtown features and you can either walk or take a pedicab to the places you want to go. The mile walk to the Pepsi Center was a breeze. Breakfast was good and offered fruit and eggs was well as the traditional breakfast items.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSmith0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Traveler,

Many thanks for taking your time for this review, we are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and hotel. Come back soon....!

For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From the moment we walked in we experienced very helpful and friendly employees. The hotel lobby interior gives you a very peaceful and serene feeling with its earthy atmosphere. We just lingered in the eating area and lobby admiring the decorative features. Even though the breakfast was the normal Embassy Suites fare, the food was fresh and displayed pleasantly. Our favorite part was being treated like we were in a fine restaurant by a breakfast host Kerry Nash. We enjoyed the coffee so much, that he took the time to get us the name and chatted with us. It is a short walk to the 16th street mall area with shopping and restaurants. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. Our only drawbacks in not giving it 5 stars were the powdered looking eggs on the buffet,(but you are able to get made to order), and the $33.00 parking fee. But there is parking next to the property at about $12.00.

Room Tip: Mountain view room was isolated from main hallways, so more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Traveler,

We are so glad to learn that our team was very friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your stay so much.
For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you want to stay with friendly people check out Denver. The view was great and the area was a lot of fun. I would come back and stay in the same place if Downtown was on my agenda. Check out the Hammonds candy factory, Boulder and the Garden of the Gods, all with in a short drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Traveler,

We are so fortunate to have a very high amount of completely satisfied and happy customers and we appreciate knowing that we made a new one with you. Thanks for your kind words and terrific review.

For team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £130 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and redesigned Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing