We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Some Positives and Some Not So Positive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Location with Some Positives and Some Not So Positive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect for us, right in the heart of the downtown area, easy to get to , and close to the 16th Street Mall. It's also within a couple minute walk to the convention center, although we were not in Denver for a convention. The hotel is lovely and our room was comfortable and clean. We got exactly the room we requested without a problem: a city view, quiet room and on a high floor.
The suite itself was comfortable and clean. Being so close to the convention center, it was obviously set up for a business person with a well-set up desk area in the living area of the suite. The televisions both worked well, as did the air conditioning. On the negative side, our room was at the end of a hall and was quite noisy from other guests just closing their doors, talking and laughing in the hallway. Food smells also wafted up to our rooms on the 13th floor as every floor's rooms are wrapped around an open center court overlooking the dining areas. Our daughter was just getting over the stomach flu when we arrived and the food smells greatly added to her nausea that first day.
Another small problem was that, despite my specifically making reservations for 3, there were towels for only two of us. A call to housekeeping had more towels, glasses, etc. brought up, though.
A bigger problem was in the bedroom portion. There were two full (queen?)-size beds, but the room is really too small for that set up. My side of my husbands and my bed had only a very cramped 9" between the bed and the wall (I measured with my always carried along measuring tape). This made it extremely difficult for me to get in and out of bed.
The bathroom was a nice size, with a bathtub-shower combination. There was an adequate cubby that held rolled towels, washcloths and hand towels but, curiously, there was not one towel bar to hang a towel on! Thus, we were forced to discard our damp bath towels and washcloths in the tub. There is no window in the bathrooms, which is no problem . . . unless the power goes out for the entire floor, which it did while my husband was showering! It could have been a disaster, stuck in a totally dark bathroom, in a slippery shower. Thankfully he got out without slipping. I stuck my head out our suite door to see what happened. I saw many other guests doing the same, some wrapped in bath towels, shampoo dripping down onto the hallway carpet. My first call down to housekeeping was never answered. A few minutes later I tried the front desk. and was told the power outage was affecting several parts of the hotel and would be hopefully fixed quickly. Power came back on in about 10-15 minutes.
There was a wonderfully varied, free breakfast buffet provided each morning. Seating was spread out into 3 connected rooms. The line for it the first morning moved a bit slowly, as many guests were wanting the custom-made omelets. Ours were tasty, but falling apart as we'd asked for too many ingredients, I think. There were also breakfast pastries, yogurts, fresh fruits, juice, coffee, tea and milk, cereals, breakfast meats and more available.
Our second morning breakfast there proved to be a disaster for pretty much all hotel guests wanting to eat breakfast there! Walking out of the elevator from our rooms, we encountered many guests eating off of dishes standing in the elevator foyer! Every dining area was filled to overflowing. There were huge lines of guests waiting just to get into the buffet area. When we asked a few fellow guests how long they had waited and if the line was moving, we got angry negative replies. After waiting in line for 5 minutes ourselves without the line moving at all, we left to talk with one of the restaurant managers close by. Apparently, guests from a nearby over-booked hotel were also eating there as well. Along with many other disgruntled guests we left without getting breakfast. It was a ridiculous and very disappointing morning. We checked out, as planned as we had a family wedding to get to later that day, and headed to The Denver Diner for a late breakfast instead.
I do have to mention here that there is a $9.95/day charge for internet use and a $33/day charge for parking. The staff in the parking garage and those who brought up our bags were very friendly, helpful and professional.
My husband and I are not sure that we will opt to stay at this Embassy Suites on our next trip to Denver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynninNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello from team Embassy,

We are sorry to have had a power outage for the entire city block for a few minutes during your stay. While our emergency generators came on immediately, these are designed only to support life and safety systems, not however bathroom lights. We recognize that you were our guest during a very busy time, our full service All American breakfast buffet option is very popular and, of course, complimentary to all our guests, so we sometimes have many guests enjoying this terrific amenity. Come back, we had fun serving you and look forward to having you back!

On behalf of team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    604
    184
    67
    46
See reviews for
655
382
48
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice, big rooms. Location across from the convention center was perfect. Breakfast was good and manager's reception in the evening was a nice extra. Housekeeping was great. Only 2 blocks away from 16th Street Mall so very handy for shopping and restaurants. Main reception is on 4th floor and you can't access higher floors without your room key, so we appreciated that security measure. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
GREAT EXPERIENCE - any review starting this way will make us happy. So thanks very much for sharing your experience with the world, we look forward to your return to our hotel.

On behalf of team Embassy Suites Denver,
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City/Sandy, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had a suite in which I conducted business meetings with up to four people in the room at one time. I spent three nights in the same room alone. The accommodations were excellent, comfortable, and the support staff from the hotel were extremely courteous and helpful in a timely fashion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your terrific 5* review, we loved it. Come back soon!

Stephan and team Denver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I loved staying at the Embassy Suites Downtown Denver. It was perfect and right across the street from the convention center. Within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. The complimentary breakfast was healthy and satisfying and the complimentary cocktails a huge bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and words, we really appreciate knowing you left very happy and gave us this fantastic 5-star review. Please tell all your friends and come back soon, our team is expecting you soon!

Kind regards,
For team Embassy Denver Downtown,
Stephan Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
258 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

In town for conference - room was super clean and big - love how the living area has couch and table and tv, wet bar area with fridge, nice size bathroom and additional sink in bedroom. Bed was a bit lumpy but overall enjoyed our stay. Wait staff in restaurant was great...with our large convention there were a few hiccups and back ups at breakfast and some issues with the power going out and water but we did not have any loss of water. Even thought we did not complain a full room night plus tax was taken off our bill! Love proximity to Starbucks and convention center.

Room Tip: We had a room on 17 and it was close to the elevator - I was worried it would be loud but with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandabgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for very nice review, we really appreciated you!

Kind regards,
For team Embassy Denver Downtown,
Stephan Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were moved to this hotel by another Hilton property after finding bed bugs in the first hotel. The rooms were adequate, large, typical Embassy Suite. We did have a larger corner room which was nice. The only negative rating we have for this property is the housekeeping service. Out of 4 nights, we had to request housekeeping 3 times. By after 6:00 PM when our room hadn't been cleaned my husband called down to the front desk. Half hour later still no housekeeping. He called again and was told that housekeeping had told the front desk that our room had been cleaned... no it had not. Second day the same thing...no housekeeping even though I had stopped the housekeeping person in the hallway on may out of the building and she assured me it would be cleaned prior to 2:00 PM. No it was not. The hotel itself is nice enough, they just need much better housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello from the Embassy Suites - we are very sorry to learn of your unfortunate experience, we will certainly review your comments with our team and compare our systems of checks and balances. Our goal is to be best in class and we are very troubled to learn you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have wanted you to. Please come back, we'll fix what needs fixing!!

Kind regards,
For team Embassy Denver Downtown,
Stephan Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family stayed here one night as we were in town for a Rockies game. Pros: Location is convenient, the staff was attentive, room was clean, beds were comfortable, and we ordered room service for dinner and it was quite good and not ridiculously priced. After a long hot day at the stadium, it was nice to relax in the room with a good meal. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good. Cons: Elevators were always crowded and slow, the pool was small for a hotel this size and, murky, (never a good sign). There also is no jacuzzi. Overall though my family enjoyed staying here. I think it's good place to stay, but not top notch.

Room Tip: Probably higher up would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and words, we really appreciate knowing you left happy. Our many hotel elevators can be very busy during main hours of operation, we understand that on weekends and during rush hours there may be some elevators under heavy usage. We hope you will come back soon!

Kind regards,
For team Embassy Denver Downtown,
Stephan Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing