We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard hotel with good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Standard hotel with good value”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Me and my family explored USA and Canada for 3 weeks starting our trip from Denver and ending up in Seattle. We are a family of five with three grown-up children. In some places we shared a room and in some we took two separate rooms. This was the first hotel on this trip.

First we went to the other DoubleTree some blocks away. It was not that nice to find yourself in the wrong location 2 a.m. after travelling almost 20 hours. But it was not the hotel's fault. The warm cookies we received when checking in helped quite a lot to improve the spirit.

We had two separate rooms, which were pretty basic. The only thing worth mentioning is the nice gym they had. The location was OK, railway very close as well as some road work. But you could find restaurants and a Walmart very close to the hotel.

Comparing with other hotels during our US trip this one in Denver had one of the best value-for-money ratios. Nothing special, but in relation to the cost very good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatkaajaSuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear MatkaajaSuomi,

We appreciate your candid feedback from your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time your travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    319
    205
    131
    72
See reviews for
233
173
92
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is next to the railroad tracks, the other DoubleTree is further south on Quebec. The only saving grace was the comfortable bed and the proximity to Dick's Sporting Goods Park.

Hilton added on a nice lobby and conference rooms to the old hotel, however, I rarely saw that part due to the location of my room. The rooms are part of the old hotel and certainly look it. Peeling wallpaper, filthy carpets, stained shower/tub, etc. They tried to make it nice by adding new furnishings, but that is just putting lipstick on a pig.

Was here for a tournament for 16 days. Took 4 days to get a replacement iron, and 5 days to get a refrigerator [even though when I called a month prior, they told me they would take a 'reservation' for that]. Cleaning rags left in room by housekeeping twice [which didn't bother me so much].

The walls are thin, and you definately hear the train if you're near the tracks. There is no business center - two desks in the lobby next to registration is all. Wifi was spotty at best [but at least is was free].

The water starts out too hot, then gets really cold, which does not make for a good shower. I'm guessing people have been hanging wet towels on the shower curtain rod [there is no other place to hang them] because the rod dipped in the middle, which means the shower curtain slides to the center, thus getting the entire bathroom wet. There is no place to hang clothes to get dressed in after the shower either.

The parking lot is difficult to get in and out of, but is very close to I-70. Vending machines were never filled the 16 days I was there, no one staffing the 'snack cart' in the lobby to buy anything either. Cleaning staff clean rooms 24/7 so you are always dodging carts. I was not there long enough to try the food.

The a/c unit is the old type under the window and makes a ton of noise. So being closer to the window you're cold, but in the bathroom or closet area you're hot. No idea what the thermostat on the wall controls, as no matter what I adjusted it too, the bathroom was a sauna.

Not much else to say... don't let the pictures fool you, other than the lobby and bar area, the place is a dump.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the rail tracks as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowdyPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear HowdyPez,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests are very important to our staff. I wanted to personally apologize for your experience that you had while staying with us. I have forwarded this review to all the managers regarding all of the issues you mentioned. I would like you to come back so we can show you that we can make it right. If you have any further comments or questions please do not hesitate on contacting me.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staff inattentative to guest's needs as far as distance of room from elevators, especial;;y if guest was only 6 weeks post-op from knee replace surgery. Room not clean. Food in restaurant cold and tasteless. No help offered with luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 33388John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear 33388John,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. First, let me apologize for the distance of your room from the elevator as I know surgery is very stressful. I also would like to say we take great pride in providing a clean room for our guest and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I ask that you give us another chance to make your stay an exceptional stay. We will share your comments with our staff.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in early July during a business trip. Note that this is NOT the Doubletree next to the railroad tracks. The hotel was crowded with athletes, teams and families since it was the lacrosse tournament. My room was on the Honors floor and the room was good. There was some noise from the room next door but mainly just slamming doors. Breakfast buffet was ok. It was included in my room rate and I certainly wouldn't pay full price for it. My only complaint was the parking lot. There was no parking available in front and the side lot is used for the rental cars. The parking garage located behind the hotel is rather dark, even during the day. I did use the shuttle to the airport on the way home and it only took about 20 minutes to get there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank platie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear platie,

Thank you for your candid comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the noise you experienced during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
274 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This great location is near everything. Close to the airport, and near downtown, we found that we were not far away from anything while staying at this Doubletree Hotel. The bed was uber comfortable and bathroom was well stocked with lots of towels and amenities. No corners were cut that was well evident. Insider Tip: Start your day with a buffet breakfast in the restaurant just off the lobby and have a drink in the lounge in the evening and take advantage of the amenities so you don't have to drive to find restaurants to start your day and end your night.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeauxFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear GeauxFrogs,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your nice comments. Please refer us to your friends and family.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Noisy, people at front desk are not kind, they keep you waiting. Charge high amounts in restourant . Also giving false information about the stuff you ask and if you use valet loundry they charge you most

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Yavuz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Yavuz D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly value your feedback.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing.

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a lovely Doubletree. The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant was great. Rooms with a fridge can be a little tight on space. This hotel offers a free shuttle to the Denver Airport which was awesome. There's also an Enterprise right next door which saves a ton of money instead of renting at the airport. This hotel is perfect for those traveling and renting a car. I'd stay here again anytime I'm in Denver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Joni H,

Thank you for your awesome feedback! I will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area!

Sincerely,

Matthew Anderson
Hotel Manager
(303) 262-7701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Stapleton
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Stapleton
Courtyard Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#79 of 157 in Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Stapleton
Staybridge Suites Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Address: 4040 Quebec St, Stapleton, Denver, CO 80216-6619 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Denver Central)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Stapleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#51 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North. Begin your stay at this inviting hotel with a warm welcome and a delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Conveniently located just off I-70, between downtown Denver and the Denver International Airport, our family-friendly hotel is just minutes from Denver's popular attractions. Corporate travelers will appreciate our close proximity to important businesses and corporations.Relax in a spacious guest room or suite at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North. Each of our stylish guest rooms feature tasteful décor and modern conveniences, including complimentary high-speed internet access, HDTVs and spacious work desks.Choose from tempting menu creations in the hotel's inviting restaurant, or join clients for a cocktail in the stylish Amberstone Bar, featuring a glowing fireplace and big screen TV. Maintain your exercise routine in the fitness center or swim in the heated outdoor swimming pool.Host a meeting or event at this Denver hotel with a range of flexible meeting rooms, ideal for a variety of events. With 15,000 sq.ft. of meeting and banquet space, including the latest AV equipment, our professional staff can organize any event. Corporate guests will also appreciate our 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Denver
Denver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing