We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcoal Restaurant

Charcoal Restaurant
Ranked #164 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: RTD bus stop on Broadway and 9th, 1/2 block from the restaurant. Taxis available on request.
Description: The restaurant was carefully created to not only be a great neighborhood restaurant, but also a destination for foodies. Offering a truly extraordinary menu paired with our extensive wine list and crafted cocktails, Charcoal Restaurant continues to receive accolades from guests and critics alike. From the moment you enter the restaurant, you will be inspired by the contemporary design featuring a glass wine wall and views of the world class open kitchen. Antique chandeliers in the main and private dining room compliment the hanging drapes sourced from Scandinavia. Known for our friendly service, we will make any event from private dining to lunch, brunch or dinner a memorable occasion."
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our family received a Christmas gift certificate for Charcoal, so tried it a few weeks ago. I think the menu changes often, but that night, one of us had chicken, one had steak, and one had a burger. All were luscious. We all tasted each others', and agreed ! The brussel sprouts were super, the service was friendly, the atmosphere is very nice. It did cost more than we would spend, other than for a special occasion, but since we had the gift card ..... We would definitely like to eat there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneyC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I still might try it again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were there for Valentine's day and they had set up a special menu. The service was good and the food was a little underwhelming for the price. I have heard good things about this place, so I will probably try it again on a regular day with more menu options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“First time here... Service Great and Food Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We started with a glass of wine at the bar. The bartender was excellent and wine tasty. Then we moved on to dinner. Everybody enjoyed their meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver,Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing entree”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have eaten here numerous times, and found a recent entree totally unacceptable in its size and presentation. 2 shrimp intact and 2 scallops with a small pile of kale does not an entree make for $23.
The waiters response that the kitchen could care less when this was mentioned is totally unacceptable in any decent restaurant.There is an absence of an email way to comment via
their website, so i assume they do not care.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went for Sunday Brunch because where we really wanted to go had too long of a wait. We then googled nearby restaurants and chose Charcoal based on reviews. Sadly, the food was mediocre at best. My husband had the Croque Madame, which he described as bland and I had the beef hash, which lacked flavor and the potatoes were undercooked. The service was not good. We sat for longer than expected to even get a server to give us menus (and there weren't that many people in the restaurant) and then, throughout our meal, the server was seen chatting with other employees at the pass, without ever checking with us. We were done with our meal for a long time before she ever cleared our dishes. For the price of the meal and the poor service, I would never return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charcoal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charcoal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing