We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere for your Pho!”
Review of Pho-natic

Pho-natic
Ranked #148 of 3,015 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere for your Pho!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a good friend for their "amazing" Pho. What I ordered and what I really received was very different. The broth was anything but flavorful and resembled more of a dishwater than a true broth. If they used spices to flavor, they certainly didn't use enough because this dish was completely bland.

Next, we specifically asked for shrimp-only spring rolls. And...they of course added pork. Sorry, but when we ask for shrimp-only, we mean shrimp-only. If we wanted pork we would have ordered pork.

Finally, the crackhead obstacle course outside the restaurant was anything but welcoming. If you're looking for a restaurant that has bland food and appears to be located outside of a rehab facility, then this is your place. But if you'd like real Pho, stick to the restaurants on Federal. I know where I am not going ever again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    19
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Pho”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Pros: The pho here is very good and so is the service. Cons:The ambience is a little cold and no liquor license. In the future I may do take out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alli76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great service, tasty but not authentic.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went here with a friend who grew up in a Vietnamese household. She knows her food. While the restaurant is stylish, clean, and spacious. It also lacks authenticity. Her favorite dish was "completely different from what it should be" she said. She was bummed out.
Granted, the service was very friendly and efficient. I thought the food tasted great but again, she knows this cuisine much better than I and was quite disappointed.
Also, as she said, the place is white-washed. Not only the menu but also the customers. She made a comment about being the only Asian in the restaurant who wasn't working there.
All-in-all, I liked it but I offer caution if you're a foodie who knows authentic Vietnamese.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaroncolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese Downtown”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

If you can't get over to Federal for a Vietnamese meal stop by this downtown spot for fresh great tasting choices. Their meats were tender and really well flavored. Their egg rolls were fantastic and the fish sauce was an excellent compliment. The staff was friendly and service was fast and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkhillDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great, healthy, always dependable and friendly”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The food is always dependably fresh and healthy and tasty. The value is great and the wait staff is always friendly. This is my favorite downtown restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho-natic also viewed

 

Been to Pho-natic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing