We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Patterson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patterson Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Patterson from Aug. 14-21. Had a wonderful time! The location was perfect for us. Our room was on the first floor and suited our needs perfectly.

Breakfast was very good - varied a bit depending on who was working that day (e.g. freshly prepared or waiting on a hotplate). The granola, fruit and yogurt was just fine for me; my husband prefers a hot breakfast and he was not disappointed.

We also enjoyed happy hour in the "pub" and the information shared about the history of the place.

Parking is limited, as with another B&B we stayed in previously in the area. A couple of times we had to park in the lot a block away, but the Patterson has two spaces there which are very well marked.

Would certainly stay here again. Two thumbs up!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mom2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a luxurious mansion on Capitol Hill. Huge and highly decorated rooms, very comfortable beds, and excellent service. The breakfast is gourmet and the whole experience was superior. The only downside is the limited parking if you are driving. Watch the signs for on-street parking, I got a ticket.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I arrived at the Patterson Inn late on a Friday afternoon hoping my booking at an Inn would be a good choice....and I was wrong, it was AMAZING! The location and outside look is stunning and the inside is even more so. Doug was on hand to welcome me so graciously, assisted with luggage and then provided valuable advice for dining, walking and site seeing. The Patterson Inn has beautiful, comfy rooms that equal the best hotels that I have stayed in and I would definitely stay here again. Walking to downtown is easy as is other areas for dining and site seeing. A beautiful area of Denver and a great Inn! Skip the traditional hotel and experience a magical Inn, you will not be disappointed! This Inn would also make for a wonderful, romantic get away....

Room Tip: Room 9 was beautiful with a very "happy" feel due to the color scheme. The elevator only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The restoration of this home is fantastic. We stayed on the first floor, and it was surprisingly quiet. Our suite was spacious, bright, beautiful, and had all the amenities we could desire. The staff was friendly and helpful. The meals were delicious: a blend of staples and wonderful daily specials. We were fortunate enough to be able to use the property parking spots throughout our stay (5 nights.) The central location of the Patterson allowed us to tour the surrounding area (Boulder, Colorado Springs, Rocky Mountain National Park, Golden) and return to delightful lodging each night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444Carol_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Most hotels near my business meetings were all booked and I selected Patterson Inn as a last resort. But I was amazingly surprised and happy with the accommodations! I arrived very late - after reception was closed. But prior to my arrival, I received a call and an email advising me of the front door entrance code and had a welcome packet waiting for me in the foyer. Patterson Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian mansion, close to downtown and offers a nice personal touch for business travelers and tourists alike, My room was well appointed, with attention paid to outfitting the room with luxurious linens, heavy Turkish towels and good lighting. I stayed in the Biltmore room, which had a wonderful, comfy bed and the bathroom had a large shower and jacuzzi. There was a filtered water cooler down the hall and a Patterson Inn branded sports bottle in my room (a smart touch) Breakfast was very good and included blueberry pancakes made to order, pleasant and friendly staff and nice white table linens.
I will be traveling to Denver frequently for business and I would absolutely stay here again - every time!

Room Tip: There is an elevator between the first and 2nd floors, so if you have heavy suitcases, request a 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Patterson is wonderfully restored and the staff are very professional. All rooms are glorious in their appointments and style. It's a pain to park in the area, and the three parking spots on the property were always filled - we never got to use them. They luckily offer parking about 1.5 blocks away, but that gets to be a pain after a few days.

We wished for better breakfasts. What they provide are granola, juice, coffee, cold hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses and a rotating variety of sweets like muffins, ricotta rolls, etc. We're low-carb kind of people and we missed the opportunity for a warm, egg-related breakfast.

This is a large building, and it was fantastic to have great AC even on the top floor.

Room Tip: They all looked very good. The website doesn't make it clear, but all bathrooms are ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, General Manager at Patterson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Good morning and thank you for your kind words regarding our staff at the Patterson. We're constantly working to make all our guest's stay a memorable experience. We're pleased you enjoyed your room and the well-appointed common areas.

I do wish while you were here that you would have mentioned your egg-related wishes. As it happens, during your visit, we offered not only the 'Rocotta Crepes' topped with fresh berries but also a 'Lemon Basil Quiche', which was the egg dish, plus a melon plate. Each day we strive for one protein dish (egg) and one carb dish. The first day you were here, our menu shows we served the 'Mini-Spinach Cherry Feta Fritatta for the protein and the 'Cream Cheese Roll-Ups' with fresh blackberry compote (carb) and a citrus frut plate.

Thank you for visiting the Patterson Historic Inn - we hope you will return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed there for a single night, I was not feeling well, but went along with the trip. I must say the arquitecture itself is breathtaking, once you are inside doesn't disappoint either. We stayed in the third floor, that ment going up the stairs 1 floor since the elevator only goes up to the second one(not a biggie, but I was sick and weak) so if you are a senior (or got a nasty infection like me ) stay in the bottom floors. Once up in the room first thing I did was plunge to bed. My gosh, I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, but the comfort of this bed was superb,linens in the higher thread count, plush pillows(feathers?) and the bathroom was sooo big and beautiful I took pics for my own house renovation, high cealings, great decor, it has it all. Can't wait to return! The only disappointment was that my husband wanted to see something paranormal. Since it is said to be haunted. To my relieve No luck there! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 160 in Denver
1,603 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patterson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patterson Inn

Address: 420 E 11th Ave, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: £144 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patterson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stately and distinguished National Landmark, the Patterson Inn is situated on a quarter acre of exquisitely landscaped grounds in the heart of one of Denver’s original high-end neighborhoods. Historically intriguing yet complete with all the comforts of modern amenities, it offers a luxurious reprieve from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Patterson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing