We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond my expecations for service and friendliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patterson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patterson Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above and beyond my expecations for service and friendliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I traveled to Denver for work and all the major downtown hotels were sold out. I found Patterson Inn online and thought, "how can such a nice place be so inexpensive?". I was prepared for a disappointment and BAM--from the architecture to the amazing shower to the huge room to the charm of the neighborhood--Patterson Inn was outstanding. If that were not enough, I left my new belt behind in the room and they Fed Ex'ed it to me immediately and without charging me. Finally, the kindness of the staff was superlative--professional and sweet. This is in addition to the homemade blueberry pancakes. I am a convert...when in Denver, I will never stay at a downtown hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkipp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
50
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I loved everything about the Patterson Inn and I travel a lot so I have quite high expectations. My room (The Antoinette) had a bed that was so comfortable I didn't get any work done! The room also had plenty of amenities, including an ironing board and iron, robes, TV, radio, etc. I enjoyed the spa products left in the bathroom (although I can't remember the brand name). I had to check in early so I could return to an event and the hosts were very accommodating. I know there was a wine tasting in the early evening, but I, unfortunately missed this. Breakfast the next morning was amazing, though. I had eggs cooked to my specifications along with a fresh fruit parfait, a croissant with a selection of homemade jams, juice and coffee. The building it interesting to wander around with a library on the second floor and a tavern in the basement (not yet open as my visit was before the main season). The inn, former home to a couple of early Denver legislators, has been beautifully restored and I enjoyed my time there immensely and will definitely return so I can try out another room.

Room Tip: The Antoinette is a beautiful corner room with an extremely comfortable king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kem0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I rented the Patterson Inn for an informal business gathering in their common areas, and also had my out of town work associates stay at the Inn. Our event went perfectly and the staff was very kind and helpful. Outside of that, my associates had a great stay. They complimented the rooms, location, decor, breakfast, and especially the help. Thanks to all at the Patterson for making our event and stay memorable.

Room Tip: The Da Vinci comes with a patio that is a wonderful place for a peaceful cup of coffee in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todd h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I had the privilege of staying at the Patterson Inn last fall and can't stop thinking about it. I am usually a "concierge floor at a major hotel" type of person, but the experience at the Patterson Inn changed my mind! Everything was perfect - attention to detail such that I have never seen. My room was huge and had it's own private patio. The linens and amenities were top of the line. The complimentary breakfast was customized to my taste. The staff anticipated all of my needs.
I had an opportunity to speak with the Manager, Susan - very pleasant and welcoming. I have been telling all of my friends about the Patterson Inn and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour before you choose or go online - each room is different - the bathrooms in all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was an amazing bed and breakfast! The rooms are beautiful.The whole building is fine example of Denver history preserved. Absolutely incredible breakfast! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. We are looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, General Manager at Patterson Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Good morning and thank you so much for taking the time to review the Patterson Inn. We're happy your experience exceeded your expectations! We will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I once stayed at a bed and breakfast and complained to my friend about how ignored I felt at the place. My friend told me that I had the wrong expectations- that B and B were not know for service and if I wanted service, I should go to a hotel. Well, my friend should stay here because this inn was a great B and B and was very attentive to needs including excellent wifi, maps and information about the surrouning area, and a lovely wine hour. On one occasion, when a cab did not pick me up as had been requested, Sue was gracious enough to drive us to the restaurant so we did not lose our reservation. The room had probably the best bed that I have ever stayed in...very comfortable with great down pillows. The inn itself is beautiful and charming without feeling old and outdated. The only down side to the inn is its location from the downtown. I had problems with 3 different cab companies that stood me up for reserved times. The inn is about a 30 minute walk from the convention center so it is doable. Overall, it is a very nice place to stay and I appreciated both the charm and the attention of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. I stayed in the Library which was quite nice on the second floor. Another plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Patterson Inn is everything you would want it to be. The rooms are amazing. They are beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The breakfast was the perfect way to start the day with delicious choices. I was very impressed with the Innkeepers, especially Alyssa. What a delightful personality that made us feel very welcomed and special. This is definitely a destination place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreezePainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patterson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patterson Inn

Property: Patterson Inn
Address: 420 E 11th Ave, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patterson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stately and distinguished National Landmark, the Patterson Inn is situated on a quarter acre of exquisitely landscaped grounds in the heart of one of Denver’s original high-end neighborhoods. Historically intriguing yet complete with all the comforts of modern amenities, it offers a luxurious reprieve from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patterson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing