We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pricey parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location, pricey parking”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to downtown and the Pepsi Center. Both locations were walkable to include many restaurants and shops. We also had a car for other city side trips and a ski trip. Parking is $28 a day! Yikes! The daily hot breakfast had a good variety of items, but they often ran out of coffee. All hotel employees were very friendly and helpful during our visit. My only complaint is that I accidentally left something behind in our hotel room and we called to inquire about it on two occasions and each time we were promised a call back. We never received a call.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciedottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    156
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
164
107
13
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

After my horrible first experience with Springhill Suites led me to declair I would never stay at one, well, Never Say Never! This hotel was booked due to its very close walking distance to the Pepsi Center. Girls weekend, we were going to a concert... Valet was prompt and efficient, check in was very good. I asked for a high floor with a west facing view and was very happy that she accommodated my request--happily and asking questions about what exactly I wanted my view to include!
The room, while a looong walk from the elevator, turned out to be a lovely corner double room. Two windows on seperate walls were wonderful for natural light and views of both downtown and the mountains! Perfect! Large sitting area and desk, nice bed area. the bathroom seemeed small just due to the layout but it was well appointed with a great shower and nice amneities. The room had good lighting, and a lot of accessable plug ins for electronics. A fridge and microwave were nice too. I enjoyed the room. The beds were a bit more firm than I like but I liked the pillows and feather duvet.
The breakfast is just okay. Nothing great.
The best part of this hotel turned out to be the free shuttle. They have an SUV with driver that will take to to locations around downtown. Very friendly, efficient and such a great service! I will stay here again just for this!
Overall i like the location for events at the Pepsi Center. The staff are great and some good amenities. I will definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific room type/view as the staff seem willing to try and accommodat requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin W, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so glad we were able to impress you, especially after your bad first impression with SpringHill Suites. We understand all the choices that travelers have when choosing a hotel, and we truly appreciate the second chance for us to demonstrate our commitment to exemplary service and guest satisfaction. We always do our very best to accommodate guest requests as we know a great stay can be made in the details, and we are dedicated to going the extra mile to exceed our guests expectations. Thanks again for staying with us and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

SpringHill Suites is one of several of the Marriott brands and in my mind, more for everyday/business travel, so I hadn't really thought of reviewing this type of hotel. Don't get me wrong, I've had great luck with Marriott brands all around, just didn't think it worthy to review a business travel type property. However...

Really was Impressed with this hotel. Have actually stayed twice. Live in Denver metro and stayed to be in the downtown area, avoiding driving home, etc. Expected Marriott level of service, but wasn't expecting the feel it has. Very modern, almost European/Asian upscale hotel feel in someway. Great room and very comfy bed.

We had been staying at the Downtown Marriott (more traditional 'upscale' Marriott) but ended up here for what ever reason, and this will be the one we stay at going forward while in DT Denver.

The only drawbacks were that you do have to walk across a reasonably busy group of streets to get to the main entertainment areas of downtown, but not really a problem. But it is also immediately across from Pepsi Center (Denver Nuggets, Colorado Avalance, concerts, etc). So depending on your reason for being in DT, this might be the ultimate place in DT.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanM850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I booked this hotel because of it's proximity to the Pepsi Center when we went to Denver for an Avalanche game. The location can't be beat for sporting events - the Pepsi Center is directly across the street. You can see the Sports Authority field where the Broncos play from the hotel, although not sure how long of a walk it is. We walked to 16th Street for dinner and it was less than a five minute walk to access plenty of different bars and restaurants. The walk to and from that area to the hotel felt safe coming back at 11 pm.

Check in was a little brisk but I appreciated they had accommodated our request for a high floor away from the elevator when assigning rooms. They provided us with complimentary water when we left (oh, that Denver altitude!), citing our frequent stays at Marriott chains. The only negative I had was when I called the morning of check out asking about checking out one hour late. The clerk was slightly rude and didn't even ask my room number before answering (I called from a cell phone while we were out running errands that morning).

The continental breakfast was fine. Not a tremendous amount of variety of hot foods but more than adequate. Seating was a little tight on Saturday morning but the staff were working hard to keep tables cleaned off and food supply replenished. The food and condiments were both well stocked. Valet parking was efficient. I didn't see a lot of options for other lots or on-street parking, but we weren't looking for any either.

The room was very clean with modern furniture. The carpeting, linens and furniture all suggest a room of much higher hotel class than the hotel star rating and rate implied. The lobby is bright and contemporary looking. I was pleasantly surprised what a great hotel this was!! I would return there for any future stays in Denver for sure.

Room Tip: Valet parking is $28 but you can get a parking package on the Marriott site for only $10 more than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renard8450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here after using Denver airport for an international flight. Wanted to stay a night and go to the Denver Art Museum for a special exhibit. I thought it would be fun/nice to stay at a "boutique" hotel in or near downtown and LoDo. In my search, Spring Hill Suites came up, and had the best value. It is not an independent hotel, which was what I was looking for...but I booked anyway based on photos and amenities posted on the website, along with the rate. Because I read the website carefully, I knew there would be valet parking and knew that it would be expensive (for me), but I figured I'd be able to park nearby for less. I was able to find parking a block away for $6 for the night (instead of $28). Because it was a holiday (Jan. 1) I was also able to park in the street nearby in a meter for free. I transferred the car after dinner. It was cold out, but I'm tough, and am kind of pinching pennies right now, so I didn't mind the walk from the car to the hotel and back...I was still able to pull up to the front doors and leave the car while checking in and taking luggage to the room, and was able to pull up and load luggage while checking out. Customer service was very good. Though breakfast time was crowded, I thought the eating area was really stylish and pleasant. Silverware and plates are high quality- an extra touch of niceness. And the food was quite good, considering it was complementary! The interior design of lobby and rooms is modern and fun- nice color schemes- maybe on the trendy side (browns, teals, oranges), but still very attractive. One of the best features for me about the décor is the original artwork that is displayed in the lobby, public areas and the rooms. Bravo and thank you for this! The room was very nicely appointed and impeccably clean. My room (402) had a lovely view of downtown- made the stay even more enjoyable. The one unpleasant thing for me was in the lobby and common area: the intense smell of artificial air freshener. It was enduring and on the verge of nauseating. We were there on the night of January 1. My girlfriend thought that perhaps the night before there was a New Year's celebration on site, or guests staying there had partied too hard that night and got sick in public spaces, hence the need for strong air freshener, which would otherwise not be pollute the air. Whatever the case, I would suggest to the management to use an air freshener that is made of natural ingredients. I'm not even a chemically sensitive person, but the cheap air freshener was the one thing that kept the atmosphere from being perfect. I noticed from other reviewers some disappointment in the place not having a restaurant. Again, I knew from visiting the website that there would not be a restaurant, and so this didn't bother me. I was just happy that they offered a complementary hot breakfast! I was planning on venturing into downtown anyway, and came across an excellent restaurant (Rialto Café, adjoining a Marriott Courtyard), and this was on Jan 1., when many businesses were closed for the holiday.
I would gladly return to this Spring Hill Suites next time I am in Denver. Reducing the price of the valet parking even a bit, would be a big bonus.

Room Tip: If you like views of downtown, there are nice ones here. Ask for a room on the 4th floor or above, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikkuRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Bright, contemporary hotel in great location. Love the artwork done by local students and professors. Applaud the commitment to sustainability with low energy heating/cooling and wise use of resources. All staff were friendly, helpful, and engaging on a personal level. Although valet parking is an additional expense, this goes with the territory in an urban area, and the cost was less than in comparable hotels. Breakfast was delicious, well stocked, and served in the comfortable lobby area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pearltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin W, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your review with us! Our artwork contributed by Metropolitan State University students, professors and alumni is certainly something that makes our property unique, and it's great to learn that you enjoyed it as much as we do! We are happy to hear we were able to be your home away from home this holiday season, and it was truly our pleasure. We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I was using a Marriott certificate so it was free but I really enjoyed the property and staff. I am Marriott Gold and have almost 700 lifetime stays so I am qualified to judge their hotels. This in on the top 10. Great art, excellent staff, free shuttle on new ford Expeditions. Breakfast was fair to good. The room was excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin W, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thanks for the five-star review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your high praises, and thank you once again for your loyalty. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Denver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
837 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,082 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown
Address: 1190 Auraria Pkwy, Denver, CO 80204-1801
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant. Stylish. Innovative. Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Denver Downtown at MSU Denver! Stay in the heart of downtown Denver - an easy stroll to historic Larimer Square and the bustling nightlife of LoDo. From the moment you step inside our lobby, you will be greeted by breathtaking views of the downtown Denver skyline. Discover stunning original artwork throughout our boutique-inspired hotel. Enjoy the energy of Auraria Campus life combined with the convenience to Colorado Convention Center, 16th Street Mall and Denver Center for Performing Arts. The sports enthusiast will be thrilled to stay at the closest hotel to Pepsi Center, just minutes to Sports Authority Field at Mile High and Coors Field. Find out for yourself what makes our location so special. We offer corporate travelers, university visitors and inspiration seekers a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing