We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent, occasionally imperfect”
Review of Mizuna

Mizuna
Reserve with OpenTable
Mizuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #198 of 3,019 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Cross street: Sherman
Transit: 8th & Grant
Description: Opened in April 2001, Mizuna showcases Frank Bonanno’s dedication to fresh, simple ingredients and seamless service. The menu changes monthly and features dishes that range from local game to peekytoe crab. The fare is imaginative and artistic, but pure, clean flavors render even the most exotic fare familiar. Rated by Zagat’s as one of the top restaurants not just in Colorado, but in the nation, Mizuna is ultimately an American-style restaurant heavy on French technique, influence and philosophy.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always excellent, occasionally imperfect”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Mizuma, long ago l'Aubergine, has for many years reliably and excellently rewarded our culinary trust with discerning friends and colleagues; we spin legends about the lobster macaroni. So I gasped when our most gracious host -- car wrecked and iced out of Boulder, and suddenly to stay with us -- returned his Gulf red snapper as a tad dark stained, salty, and overcooked. By then he had ordered a second bottle of 2009 Kosta Browne, and pronounced it possibly the best he had ever tasted. He ordered in lieu, and gratis like the snapper, the lobster macaroni, and prated "This is good, this is really good!" My roasted veal sweetbreads looked a tad turdish, but everything else -- fresh house-baked breads, butters, a duck breast/confit cassoulet, seared veal tenderloin, field greens, desserts, service: superb as ever. Our host tipped in C-notes. We hope to take him back very soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chriskirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western US
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Having lived close to Napa & the French Laundry, I am a foodie. Denver does not fully appreciate how fabulous this restaurant truly is! Much better than Frasca, although the atmosphere is not as pleasing. The food is always great!

Helpful?
Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the place to go for a really special dining experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Went to Mizuna for my 35th birthday - had heard about it, but never found the right reason to go. We had an amazing wine pairing meal that was five courses and five wines. The service is impeccable and the food outstanding. Attention to detail was everywhere. This is the best restaurant in Denver in my opinion. $250 for 2 of us means that this is a special occasion place only - but it was really worth the treat. We were at the restaurant for over 2 hours enjoying all of the food and wine. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingpowder76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service so-so”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Mizuna is perennially judged one of the best restaurants and it's earned the title each time we've been there. One thing that's over taken for granted are condiments, but here the bread and appetizers are not to be missed. The menu is also inventive, changes regularly and never fails to be first-rate. In addition, the room is warm and inviting, and not too noisy making conversation possible Mizuna is pricey but worth it. In general, the service has been excellent too with attentive servers who aren't too attentive. This time, alas, we felt the place had fallen a bit in this regard. We waited overlong for every course and when the food did come the waiter seemed in a hurry to get away from the table. A disappointment, especially considering we'd come to celebrate a birthday.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMilo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and average food”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We were looking forward to experience 'fine dining" at Mizuna. The hostess and all staff and service really was first rate. It is the cost vs food quality that left us cold. The food from the salads to the fish to the meat were not much better than ok. Portions were small and temperatures were actually tepid when we were served. For a special occasion there are far better choices in Denver.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mizuna also viewed

 

Been to Mizuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing