We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top in Denver”
Review of Mizuna

Mizuna
Reserve with OpenTable
Mizuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 3,043 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Cross street: Sherman
Transit: 8th & Grant
Description: Opened in April 2001, Mizuna showcases Frank Bonanno’s dedication to fresh, simple ingredients and seamless service. The menu changes monthly and features dishes that range from local game to peekytoe crab. The fare is imaginative and artistic, but pure, clean flavors render even the most exotic fare familiar. Rated by Zagat’s as one of the top restaurants not just in Colorado, but in the nation, Mizuna is ultimately an American-style restaurant heavy on French technique, influence and philosophy.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
“Top in Denver”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've been to 17 of the top 20 restaurants on this list (root Down - you are next!). Mizuna is tops! The chef's 5 course with wine pairings was excellent. Kelly, the sommelier, gave the most glorious descriptions and his pairings were spot on. Loved our cozy evening and fabulous meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good but limited...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Food and service were great however the menu is extremely limited with food choices. House made bread and salted butter were delicious. Appetizers and entrees seemed to cater more toward carnivores.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time is good as the first”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was my eldest daughter's and my second trip to Mizuna, and this time we brought my wife and youngest daughter. Great food, service and ambience. Excellent wine list and the sommeliers were very good. We had a fantastic bottle of Ribolla from Italy. No way to find this wine in the stores. I had the green tomato gazpacho, Niçoise salad, and roasted duck breast with duck confit. Fantastic. The restaurant is expensive, but worth the occasional splurge. One of our best meals ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Denver gem....”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The small feel of this restaurant is the real attraction here. Myself and seven colleagues were offered the private room in the back, and the meal turned out to be one of the finest restaurant experiences I've had in any city. We all chose the five course price fix, and it was fabulous. Try the Mac and cheese, which was the best I've had. The courses came at a steady pace, but we never felt rushed. Frank Bonano is a master chef and I will always stop at Mizuna when in Denver.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliffster1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Kidnappers, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a cozy environment”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We know Denver quite well and are always on the lookout for something new when in town. I hadn't checked the website or looked at pictures, so when we arrived I was a little surprised by the building. However after spending a wonderful evening, I can confirm that this is one of the best places for fine cuisine in Denver. The menu is not very extensive, but we found things that appealed to us and it was delicious. The staff was friendly and fun to chat to, especially when they realise that you know your stuff. A must try for anyone who likes good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lonestarbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mizuna also viewed

 

Been to Mizuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing