We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, fun, loud, hip with great veggie food choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of WaterCourse

WaterCourse
Ranked #65 of 2,986 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: WaterCourse has been a Denver staple since 1998, and has been fully vegan since April 2014. WaterCourse specializes in delicious and filling comfort food with many gluten-free and nut-free options. Our featured dishes include Banana Bread French Toast, Street Tacos, and Southern Fried Cauliflower "Chicken" served with Mashed Potatoes & Gravy or Mac & Cheese. Along with our seasonal menu, we offer amazing vegan and gluten-free desserts and milkshakes to top off your meal!
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Funky, fun, loud, hip with great veggie food choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Tons of choices for everyone and wonderful experience for vegetarians. Very popular place and there is often a wait. It is worth it. Sit outsidefif you have a chance; it is pleasant and not nearly so loud. Really friendly servers. Food is delicious and unique with large portion size. Seitan wings are amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    114
    26
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place for vegan or vegi and more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

After hearing about this place I wanted to take a friend there who has a gluten intolerance. There where all kinds of great looking item to select from on the menu. We both ordered the sweet potato and black bean tacos, which where served on corn tortillas, with cabbage slaw on top.

When our meal arrive it looked very nice. After a few bits I realized there wasn't much sweet potato or black beans. Which is where the best flavor was... My friend having ordered the same meal said the same thing. To much cabbage and not enough of the primary ingredients.

Would I got back? Probably, but there are so many good restaurants it hard to say. Bottom line very good food when the balance is right.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Colorado_Mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great vibe, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Really, really good vegetarian food. The menu had so many good choices we had a hard time choosing. We were not disappointed with our selections; fresh ingredients prepared superbly. I would take a carnivore there and be comfortable that he'd find something he likes on this varied menu.

The restaurant was very comfortable and decorated with nice paintings. The crowd was pleasant and the service was great.

If you walk down 17th from downtown, walk one more block past where the main group of restaurants ends. It's on the left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Healthy gourmet food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is not just a restaurant for confirmed vegetarians. My husband is a meat lover and willingly joins me for lunch here. But the star dishes are huge, organic, vegetarian choices. It is a popular dining spot for active, outdoor types so get there early for lunch since by 12:00 or 12:30 it is packed. Definitely worth taking out of town visitors since it is rated one of the top vegetarian restaurants in the country. For those of you who long for a more decadent meal, Watercourse has amazing round French fries (cooked in healthy oil) the size of a child's wagon wheels and amazing desserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denverretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large portion sizes, good customer service, great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I came here after visiting their sister restaurant, City O City. I prefer this restaurant because it is quieter but still with a great menu! They offer some of the same great dishes, but the menus are different. The customer service was good - it was quick and the server was friendly and on top of things. The food was just as excellent as at City O City. I highly recommend this to anyone lookign for a great vegetarian or vegan menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WaterCourse also viewed

 

Been to WaterCourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing