We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu”
Review of Palace Arms

Palace Arms
Ranked #472 of 3,019 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: US$40 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Broadway & Tremont Place
Transit: Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California
Description: The legendary restaurant is for the food and wine aficionado. Blending contemporary American cuisine with one of the best wine selections anywhere, the Palace Arms consistently rates among the finest restaurants in Denver. Signature items such as a caesar salad prepared table side, seared steak of Colorado bison, combined with many other creative contemporary or traditional dishes. The "New" Palace Arms provides a casual dress code where jackets are not required.
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tasting menu”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

All four of us had the tasting menu and what is unique is you get to choose what item in each of 4 (appetizer, salad, main and dessert) that you want, it's not set.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calltheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    21
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“if only ...”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

... the food was as good as the atmosphere and the service. not that the food is bad, far from it. it's fine. but it is out-shined by the service: "refreshingly formal yet friendly and attentive" and eye-popping atmosphere. the rabbit terrine, a large portion for an appetizer, was seriously under seasoned and virtually flavorless. the foie gras appetizer was better but cannot stand up to the better preparations we've enjoyed. the lamb was nicely cooked and attractively accompanied on the plate (we asked to substitute potatoes for tibuli and were accommodated immediately) but, again, the lamb simply needed more flavor: if you closed your eyes, you would have difficulty identifying it as lamb. table side preparations of the house caesar salad and bananas foster are part theater, part dining, but both were very good. despite the fact that the quality of the food has room to improve, we'd go back in a heartbeat because of the service, ambiance, wine list and surprisingly reasonable prices given the high-end nature of this establishment. it was far and away the best overall dining experience we've had in colorado.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hankbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Loved the high tea, had champagne also. Service was excellent and the piano in the background added quiet ambience. We had a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
344 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Awesome food and experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is not a low cost place to eat! But it is worth if for any special occasion. We had the chefs tasting menu, which provided a variety of foods and plenty to eat. Included in the food we were served was Cesar salad. They have a salad cart and make the dressing from scratch at the table.
The wait staff was excellent. Our server had extensive knowledge of the history of the room, including the decor.
The food was delicious and an awesome experience. I would love to do it again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious table-side Caesar salad”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

On our recent visit to Denver, we were really craving an old-school style table-side Caesar salad. The Palace Arms fit the bill perfectly!

Although the restaurant is a total throwback, they have perfectly the art of white table cloth dining. It's clear that they've been doing it for a long time and have it down pat. The prices are high, but it's all about the experience, the old school decor and history, and the quality of the ingredients.

Starting off the with table-side Caesar is a must! They have it perfected and it's made with love and skill. It was super yummy, and such a classic! Also, since there aren't a lot of restaurants left that make this classic, the Palace Arms is a destination for it!

My husband had the bone-in ribeye which was served with both chimichurri and Bordelaise sauce. It was cooked perfectly and the sauces were delicious.

I had the fish of the day, which was fresh Halibut served with vegetable Risotto, english pea, meyer lemon beurre blanc. It was very well cooked and pretty yummy.

The service was top notch and super professional. The manager was kind enough to come over and explain some of the historical background of the pieces and flags that hang around the restaurant. He also gave us a little bit of history about the hotel.

Overall, it was a delicious meal and a special treat. Although it is expensive, it has a unique quality that makes you feel like you get what you pay for.

We heard that it can sometimes be difficult to get a reservation, but we made the reservation on Open Table with very short notice and had no issues.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves_good_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Arms also viewed

 

Been to Palace Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing