We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand spanking new, with a few rough edges still”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a brand new property that is terrifically located for both the Convention Center and access to the 16th Street Mall. Anyone that has looked at hotel prices in downtown Denver has experienced sticker shock. No exception here. I was able, through negotiation directly with the management, to secure a room for (just) $40/night above the Government per diem. The quoted rate was $100 above the Government per diem. The rooms are very spacious, but the lighting is generally inadequate if you like lots of lumens. Bedding is typical for this class of hotel. Sheets are lower thread count, and hence scratchy, so if you're spoiled, at home or on the road, this may bug you. The suite-style room is nice, with the fridge, microwave, and adequate dishes/glass/etc for basic stays. Allows you to keep and reheat leftovers etc for short trips, or go crazy and furnish like a vacation condo for longer visits. A couple of things that bugged me- there never seemed to be anyone at the front desk, and during the busiest times, there seemed to be just one person. They actually allowed someone to check in as "me", even though I had provided a credit card to secure the room. Not good, as the guy checking in would not have been able to produce the correct credit card. In addition, the property was sold out, so I could have been "walked", even as a Hilton frequent-guest program member. There was a lucky cancellation, or I could have gotten hosed. To compound the irritation with the hotel checking someone in using my reservation, they sent someone to beat on my door the second night to see if I was actually occupying the room, with a flimsy "our system is messed up. Not sure if the room is occupied". Really? Pick up the phone, don't force me to get out of bed. The breakfast is included, and is definitely better than the Hampton/Fairmont class of continental breakfast. It's still a little lightweight. Food service manager was working hard, though. Kudos to the kitchen staff. Parking is valet-only, at $31/day. Apparently, Denver seeks to be another San Francisco when it comes to parking. Signage, such as for the meeting rooms, is pretty terrible. They definitely need to fix this, and quickly. This property should be a good option once they've smoothed out a few of the initial bumps. It's certainly going to be better than some of the other pretentious, shabby, overpriced junk in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Elevators are slow. Slow to arrive, slow to move, and apparently not staged at various floors (like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freqtraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for sharing the "rough spots" during your stay. We strive for continuous improvement as the service we provide to our guests is our number one priority. I apologize for the issues that you experienced with the rooming issues. I will follow-up with our managment team to ensure that this situation is not repeated. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

The hotel is nice and new, the location is superb. The restaurant staff and the F&B manager (Stefan) are awesome. They will literally bend backward to make the guests happy. However there were things that bothered us, i.e. the front desk staff and housekeeping. They can use more training in hospitality. When we checked in, the male night staff returned my credit card by sliding it on the table, when I was not looking. Of course my card fell on the floor. Grocery cashiers have better manner than him. As for the housekeeping, we are 2 adults and 2 children. Everyday they gave us only 3 new bath towels - even when we didn't ask for towel change. But strangely they never replaced the kitchen towels. The last thing is the expensive valet parking. We only put our car in their garage from 8.30 pm to 10 am the next day (less than 14 hours) before moving it to next door garage (we prefer to have access to our car), but we were charged $62 nonetheless.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your positive and constructive comments regarding your stay. We will identify the individual service opportunities that you shared to provide exceptional service throughout our hotel. The information in your review would indicate a discrepancy in parking charges. If this is still unresolved please contact me at 303 534 7800 ext. 4905. Thank you, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel was beautiful particularly the lobby area. Everything was new and modern. I really loved our stay there! Our room was modern and unique. We really liked it! The breakfast was very good. Our check in was very smooth and the front desk clerk, Travis, was so polite, friendly and responsive. He made check in and any other questions I had a very positive experience. Only complaint I had was that the valet parking was awfully expensive. While the valet parkers were helpful, the cost was high. Probably should've parked at a cheaper lot directly across the street. The hotel was in a great location, just a block from 16th Street Mall. We were going to the Rockies game and it was close enough to walk both ways. Many restaurants and shopping were near by. Great hotel, wonderful amenities and terrific staff! Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank bigmamaWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

room 1003 for the nights of May 25 - May 28 lovely new room smell everytime I entered great layout and setup enjoyed 3 breakfasts and 1 evening reception lovely fitness center and pool with whirlpool too bad it is in the basement unique property because of hampton on lower floors and homewood on higher business center very nice place to stay in the mile high city lobby unique and well designed only problem was housekeeping came in the pm instead of the am so never got cleaned till after i checked out i had to stay in during pm but not am

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Nice addition to moderately priced downtown Denver hotel selections. Modern and clean design. We would stay here again and recommend any one who attends functions at convention center to do so. Interstting lobby design and plenty of elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel was excellent. ALL of the staff were extremely nice. They even taught my kids how to make their own waffles :) Everything was brand new and in excellent condition. The location is great. We would go site seeing in Denver and then walk from the hotel entrance and immediately do something different every night on 16th. We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband attended an ASM Conference, and we chose Homewood Suites because of the proximity to the Denver Convention Center, as well as the evening Manager's Reception. The hotel staff was wonderfully helpful and polite. The Manager's Reception and the complimentary breakfast were quite tasty, and so convenient. We would definitely stay here again if we have the need or opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 15th Street, Denver, CO 80202-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: £86 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center, CO hotel is centrally located in downtown Denver, just a half block from the Colorado Convention Center. Our contemporary facility offers all the comforts of home, including fully equipped kitchen, complimentary WiFi, full hot breakfast, and evening dinner and drinks. (Monday-Thursday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing