We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Rocky Top Glide

Rocky Top Glide
Ranked #5 of 78 Tours in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the fun, excitement, and beauty that is Denver CO! Follow our seasoned guides as they weave through Denver's bustling business district. Zip along the scenic cherry creek trail, fly past the funky sculptures that dots the Arts District, maybe even catch a foul ball as we glide past Coors' field and through historic LoDo.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We took the 1.5 hour tour of downtown Denver and highly recommend it. You take off near Confluence Park (not their office address), and are given a few minutes to master the Segway. Since neither of us had done it before, we were a bit concerned, but our guide's instructions were excellent and the Segways really are easy to use (not to mention a ton of fun). The tour itself covered a tremendous amount of ground and we really felt like we had a good understanding of the various neighborhoods and parts of downtown Denver by the time we were done. Our guide combined more standard information along with some off-beat and fun trivia, and had some nice suggestions of places to eat and drink and things to do after our tour was over. Overall, this was a great way to see a beautiful and interesting city, and I'd highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jzombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    12
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great way to explore beautiful downtown Denver!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've lived in the Denver area for over 20 years, and we had a fantastic, high quality experience on this Segway tour. I highly recommend it for locals and visitors. Our guide, Zach, gave excellent instructions. Within 2-3 minutes of practice, we were all comfortable, relaxed, laughing, and having a great time.

As with all outdoor activities, I'd say, come prepared. Figure out where to park in downtown Denver beforehand and expect to pay for parking.

Wear sturdy shoes, bring your own bike helmet so you're comfortable (although they provide helmets if you don't bring one...but it might not fit perfectly), sunscreen, sunglasses, and a backpack with water, etc.

Use the restroom beforehand. Our tour on 6/28/2014, met outdoors under a bridge (Little Raven St under N Speer Blvd, or copy/paste these coordinates into google maps 39.7925, -105.0082). Meeting under the bridge was the perfect place to start because it was shaded from the sun, quiet, and sidewalks are wide with almost no pedestrians for easier/safer learning. If you need a restroom stop during the 2 hour tour, just ask - our guide was very accommodating.

We had no problems with our reservation, which was scheduled 3 months prior.

Can't wait to do this again with more family and friends! Our guide did say that the meeting location would change in the future, so my location directions above may change.

Overall - had an excellent experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rocky Top Glide Tour Lost Reservation”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On Feb., 21 2014, I purchased a group Rocky Top Glide two hour tour of Denver with Groupon. Immediately after purchasing the tour I called Shannon (720 833 7966) with RTG to schedule our tour. The date and time where scheduled with Shannon for June 22, 2014 at 1030 AM. On May 22, 2014 I call Shannon again to verify our reservation and she said everything was good to go. On June 22, 2014 our party of six arrived at 1777 Larimer St. in Denver which was the location that Shannon told us to meet at for our Segway tour and also the location that was on their web site on June 22, 2014. Once we arrived we found the address to be a hotel so we went inside the hotel and asked an employee where RTG was located. The employee said that RTG moved from that location several months ago. I then called Shannon and she told me that RTG moved to 1301 Elitch Cir. After further checking she said that she didn't have any reservations for us so our option was to come back at 5PM or to reschedule for another day. I told her that we would not reschedule with RTG and planned to pursue a refund with Groupon. After talking to Shannon we drove to the address given by Shannon and found a gentleman by the name of Zak standing under a viaduct with several Segway machines. We then asked him if he was with RTG and he stated that he was. I told him about our situation and he apologized but said he was only an employee. I asked where the office for RTG was and he said that they didn't have one so that they could keep their costs down. I then asked where Shannon was located and he said she was located in Pennsylvania. We planned this tour over 4 1/2 months ago taking time off of work and other activities just to be told that we would have to reschedule. As far as we are concerned this is a shabby business and was a total waste of our time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank David33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicCarpetGlide, Owner at Rocky Top Glide, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
In response to this review, we had just relocated to a more customer friendly area. Our previous location had terrible parking conditions so we responded to our guest's feedback and moved to a better location with better parking options. This was a 1 time isolated incident, somehow in our move this gentleman's reservation was lost. All our guests were notified via phone call and e-mail of our move but due to this disappearing reservation, he was not notified of the change. He was able to get a refund for his Groupons and we mailed him complimentary passes for his time and inconvenience and look forward to his group visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible fun, great tour”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As locals, we had purchased a Groupon, looking for a fun day in Denver. Zach was an excellent tour guide, just the right balance of Denver history, while zipping around the downtown area, really covering a lot of terrain! Though safety was his top concern, our entire group quickly learned how to zip around, having an incredible, great time! We asked if we could stop to grab a drink (non-alcoholic, as we were on the Segways) and Zach found a cute, quick stop. In fact, we had so much fun, we were all joking about coming up with the funds to purchase our own! We won't...we'll just come back and use this tour company again and again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Segway fun, tour company needs to improve”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our most enjoyable activity in Denver; nevertheless, there is a lot of room for improvement. In order of occurrence:
-telephone calls to the office are not returned unless it is the day of the tour and you are lost
-communication of location was left to 1.5 hours before the tour by email
-the location was not the same as indicated on the web. Even this web site has it wrong
-the location was under a bridge-no washroom, no water, no signage to give directions from the road to the bridge
-no way to carry water on the Segway. The tour guide did carry ours
-instructions to clients should have forbidden mounting or dismounting the Segway unless something is stopping it from moving. One of the clients had a wacking fall because this instruction was not firm.
-not enough helmet sizes, my husband's helmet was too loose but the guide did not fix it.
-not enough attention to the rear of the group, especially toward the end of the tour. Two guides would have taken care of this problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank franklyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rocky Top Glide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing