We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and beer”

Jimmy's Urban Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,368 of 2,986 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Marion, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had the jambalaya and green chili. Both were very tasty with just the right spices (heat). Good selection of beers too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Sweet Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We originally wanted to go to a Mexican restaurant called D'Corazon which is located next to Jimmy's. Upon entering, we realized we made a mistake and decided to leave. When we told the owner we wanted to go to D'Corazon, she advised the owner is on leave for several weeks. She also advised that her restaurant had steak tacos. Disappointed, we still decided to stay, but I'm glad we did!

We began our meal with some hibiscus tea. Naturally sweet (but not in a tooth-rotting kind of way), the drink cooled us down during the hot summer day. I ordered the African Chicken sandwich since it is a specialty of the restaurant. What an incredible sandwich! Most crispy chicken sandwiches tend to be on the dry side. Jimmy's soaks it in buttermilk before frying. I can still remember how my first bite produced a moist, tender piece of chicken. The hot honey sauce definitely delivered a kick, but not in an offensive way. The crispy fries rounded out the entire meal, along with more hibiscus tea.

For only $9.50, Jimmy's is definitely a bargain! We went just after 1 pm and probably beat the lunch crowd. We had an attentive server and he always made sure we had full glasses of water.

By the end of the meal, all I could think about was the sandwich. So much for wanting Mexican.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and hot!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved everything about this place fast and friendly service, great food we had the ghost fries they were so spicy loved them best chicken sandwich ever!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metalchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
292 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tasty Bison Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice seating on the patio, one of the less busy restaurants just off 16th ave, but very worth trying. Service was prompt and courteous. we enjoyed a relaxing lunch there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place with good food and good value. We had a seat in the window and could watch the world go by whilst we drank some nice wine and eat good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Urban Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Urban Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing