We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue for almost anything”
Review of Civic Center Park

Civic Center Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Denver City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #57 of 255 things to do in Denver
Attraction details
Morrison, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice venue for almost anything”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We've gone to this park manyt imes for may things... lots of variety and very pretty. We actually had our engagement pictures shot here, we liked the park so much!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    37
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Denver's Theme Parks:”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Denver has a park for everyone, from gays to gang members. I even found a park where the railroad used to bring people at the turn of the 20th century north of downtown. Civic Center Park is known for its large population of street bums.
Denver City Council, and Denver Police have recently passed laws to curb the bum problem. I used to not feel safe walking down Broadway past the park. Today, no trouble was in sight. There were a few people sitting around deep in the park. Only a couple of stray sign flyers were present. They weren't bothering anything.
Civic Center Park is beautiful in fall. The mighty oaks change color and drop acorns. Busy tree rats stock up the acorns; and provide free entertainment.
Pot is legal in Colorado now. Everyone knows that Civic Center Park is the place to go to purchace and smoke pot. I was hoping to score a joint as a souviner of my visit. There wasn't anyone smoking or dealing that I could see. Pot will probably be the new theme of this park now that "Occupy Denver" and the other bums are gone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank qnodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Civic City Park Offers Great Views of the Capital & City County Building”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Civic Center Park has a wonderful history and is located between the Colorado State Capital and the Denver City and County Building. It offers great views and has been popular for picnics, Taste of Denver, Cinco De Mayo. Recently it has been tarnished by the "Occupy Movement" which the City and County of Denver has been working on restoring the grounds and cleaning up. It offers great views of the traditional Christmas Lights on the City and County Building.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAYDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little park right downtown”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Civic Center Park hosts some really incredible events - Taste of Colorado, other music events, sports events, etc. But it seems to host a host of shady characters making shady deals. It doesn't feel unsafe during the day, but I would not hang out there at night except during a well-attended event.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cyndyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“In the middle of everything”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The pros of this park are that the art museum, the state capitol and the beautiful library surround it. The view of the skyline is beautiful and so are the flower beds all throughout blooming in spring and summer. Don't miss the grand white columns and fountain.
The Cons: Occupiers are still camping out and diminishing the ambiance. Park needs daily cleaning of cigarette butts and trash.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeethovensLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Civic Center Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing