We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Ranked #36 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I booked this hotel for two reasons, the brilliant reviews on TA and the fact it stated the rooms were extremely spacious. We found this hotel to be very ordinary and totally overpriced. However, we did notice that they offered a “free” evening buffet dinner and breakfast which was simple but adequate if one didn’t want to dine out.

Location – In a acceptable location within a easy five minute walk into the city 16th Street Mall. The best located hotels are the Sheraton and the traditional Brown Palace Hotel.

Check-in – No assistance with luggage and we were told to move our car before checking into our room.

Room – We were disappointed as we thought it was supposed to be an apartment. Basically, our room 1932 consisted of a large room with a couch / bed / working desk with fully self contained kitchen attached with NO separate room division or doors..

The bathroom was clean and basic.

Overall : We didn’t have a problem we just thought the hotel to be totally over rated and over priced. It would however suit many travellers who are looking for an “all in one package” with dinner and breakfast included. Sorry, but it just wasn’t for us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2009

This hotel is in a great location, rooms are clean and spacious with full kitchens, breakfast is outstanding for an "included breakfast." But....the parking garage is almost impossible to get into without scraping the side of your car, extremely tight turns and very small parking spaces....all this for $18 day!!!! This is NOT New York City. There is also a key system for use in the elevator to get to and from your room. It was confusing and frustrating. Sometimes it didn't work and we were stuck in the elevator going nowhere.

We were there for three days and during the day the slamming of doors by cleaning crews was extremely irritating. Forget it if you want to sleep in late or take a nap.

Although I love the Marriott chain of hotels, I will not return to this one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Easy to find, within walking distance of most anything downtown. Nice rooms, very clean, bed was comfortable, staff was very nice. We did not here street noise, but we were on the top floor and it was a weekend.

The only negatives were:
- Price of parking - $18 a night
- Hard, cheap, uncomfortable sofa/chair in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Nice property, centrally located in Denver. Stayed in suite on top floor. Rooms were nicely insulated and quiet. Double paned windows keeps any city noise out. Spacious, clean, with nice nine foot ceilings. Locking door between bedroom and kitchen/living room area. Small bathtub, but softened water (Vegas water is hard and harsh)!! Bed and bed linens soft and comfortable. Free internet connection in-room. Staff will even grocery shop for guests for no extra charge!!!
Alarm clock radio/ipod connectible.
One of our top three picks behind Prince Kuhio, Oahu and Double Tree in Scottsdale, AZ.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdacounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna4734, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Denver City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Denver City Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bayles-Gottehrer
Guest service supervisor
Residence Inn Marriott City Center
ryan.b-gottehrer@ridenver.com
303-296-3444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn Denver City Center for four nights during a convention being held at the Colorado Convention Center. I chose the Residence Inn City Center over the convention-recommended hotels after researching that it was ranked the Number One hotel in Denver on TripAdvisor; I used the same strategy for a conference in 2006 when I booked TripAdvisor's first choice, Le Square Phillips, in Montreal, and was thrilled with both hotel choices. Thanks, TripAdvisor!

The Residence Inn Denver City Center is centrally located at the corner of 17th and Champa, an easy walk to the 16th Street Mall and its myriad of shops and restaurants and only a few minutes from the convention center. The hotel was spotless and offered several great amenities such as a free shuttle to the convention center, well-equipped exercise room, a coin-op laundry room on each floor, a free hot breakfast buffet, and free drinks and a light dinner from Mon.-Thurs. The room (a one-bedroom suite) was spacious, with a separate living room and kitchen stocked with a few pots and pans, a toaster, and a small stove in addition to a microwave and refrigerator. The china and flatware was spotless. The bedroom featured an iPod alarm clock in the room, a nice touch for those traveling with their iPods.

Seeing as there was a blizzard in late March, the roaring fireplace in the lobby was a comfy touch, and the lobby was filled with comfortable chairs and sofas. There was also a Caribou coffee shop in the lobby, although I didn't visit it. The free breakfast was decent; several hot dishes like scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, and make-your-own waffles were rounded out with yogurt, milk, fruit juice, a few cereals, and toast, bagels and English muffins. Not gourmet by any stretch, but a great way to save money and get a good start on your day of sightseeing or business (several of my colleagues' hotels had neither a refrigerator nor free breakfast, and they were paying double what I paid at the Residence Inn).

I had a room next to the laundry room, but it was fairly quiet. The bed was comfortable (they even provided the extra pillows I'd asked for on my online reservation), and I could see the Rockies out the window (but the view was mostly of the skyscrapers across the street). One note: my 3G cell phone reception (AT&T) was horrible unless I stood right by the window. My friend also had problems with her AT&T reception in a nearby room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bundtlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna4734, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Denver City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Denver City Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bayles-Gottehrer
Guest service supervisor
Residence Inn Marriott City Center
ryan.b-gottehrer@ridenver.com
303-296-3444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Stayed two nights. The room was nice. The service was great. Did not make it for the dinner buffets, but the continental breakfasts were fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in March. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We had a one bedroom suite, which had a separate living area with sofa and chair as well as a flat screen TV. The kitchen area included fridge/freezer, electric hob with two rings (no oven though), large microwave and coffee maker. There was a good selection of crockery and cutlery along with tea towel and oven mitt. The separate bedroom was a good size, comfortable bed and again with a TV. There was a small area to the side of the bedroom with a built in wardrobe, and also a sink. Next to that was the bathroom, with toilet and bathtub with over shower.

The hotel provides a ‘manager’s reception’ Monday to Thursday, and the different days’ themes for this were posted on the fridge door. Unfortunately we were there over the weekend so can’t comment on what it was like. The hotels lobby area was nice with large gas fire and sitting area with fruit available, the computer with free internet was in the far corner.

There was a guest laundry although there was a separate charge for the powder, washer and dryer of between $1 and $1.75.

Breakfast was included and was very good including, cereal, toast, cooked items like eggs and a meat option such as bacon or sausage patties, yoghurts, waffle maker and fruit. It was self service but there lots of staff on hand to quickly clear tables and ask how things were. Hot drinks could be made all day in this area, and there was also a small shop open 24/7, selling snack items and a few things that could be cooked in the microwave in your room.

As mentioned the staff were helpful, they rang my wife’s favourite restaurant and it enabled us to get a table very quickly, especially on the Saturday night.

The location of the hotel is excellent, a few minutes walk to 16th Street Mall where lots of shops and restaurants are. Denver is a very easy place to walk around, and there is a free bus which goes up and down the Mall every few minutes if you don’t want to walk. We enjoyed the Tattered Cover bookshop at the Union Station end of 16th Street, with lots of seats dotted around and a small coffee shop. We had a nice lunch at Rio Grande Mexican restaurant, large portions for a reasonable price.

We had a nice walk along Larimer Street and right along Cherry Creek, which brought us out at a park where dogs and children were playing in the water (near the REI store). We then walked to Highland (try Little Man Ice Cream!!) and back over the Millenium Bridge into Denver at 16th Street.

To get to the hotel from the airport we used SuperShuttle, which was $19 each one way and about 45 minutes. On the way back we arranged a private car through the hotel at $60 including tip, this was for our convenience more than anything else.

Absolutely no complaints about this hotel we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna4734, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Denver City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Denver City Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bayles-Gottehrer
Guest service supervisor
Residence Inn Marriott City Center
ryan.b-gottehrer@ridenver.com
303-296-3444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Highland
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver City Center

Address: 1725 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Denver
#18 Business Hotel in Denver
#21 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Denver City Center is a spacious, modern downtown hotel with a perfect location and welcoming staff to meet the needs of business travelers, families and weekenders wanting to make a smart choice for a brief or extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Denver City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Denver City Hotel Denver
Denver Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing