We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel but still needed earplugs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Denver City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but still needed earplugs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

I've stayed at ths hotel before and thought it was great. Maybe it's just that it is a year older now or we just had back luck. Out suite was plagued with strange noises. Although these rooms have "central" airconditioning with a thermostat, the blower unit was in a utilily closet in the bedroom. It woke me everytime it cycled on and off. Fortunately it was not that hot while we were there and I simply turned it off at night. The worst offender was the refrigerator from hell. I've never experienced an appliance with such a variety of loud and annoying noises. I own four refrigerators and realize that all refrigerators make some noise but there was something wrong with this refrigerator. The manager offered us earplugs or to move us to another suite. I know she was trying but I think she should have taken our word that something was wrong with this refrigerator and either fixed it or moved it to another room as opposed to asking us to move all of our stuff.

Aside from the refrigerator from hell, this is a nice hotel. The afternoon social hour is particularly nice. Kelly, the lady who runs it, is great. We were in a group of about 20 and this gave everybody a nice opportunity to meet their peers who are spread out over the country.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    226
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
182
195
56
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,348 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,975 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

I booked this hotel for two reasons, the brilliant reviews on TA and the fact it stated the rooms were extremely spacious. We found this hotel to be very ordinary and totally overpriced. However, we did notice that they offered a “free” evening buffet dinner and breakfast which was simple but adequate if one didn’t want to dine out.

Location – In a acceptable location within a easy five minute walk into the city 16th Street Mall. The best located hotels are the Sheraton and the traditional Brown Palace Hotel.

Check-in – No assistance with luggage and we were told to move our car before checking into our room.

Room – We were disappointed as we thought it was supposed to be an apartment. Basically, our room 1932 consisted of a large room with a couch / bed / working desk with fully self contained kitchen attached with NO separate room division or doors..

The bathroom was clean and basic.

Overall : We didn’t have a problem we just thought the hotel to be totally over rated and over priced. It would however suit many travellers who are looking for an “all in one package” with dinner and breakfast included. Sorry, but it just wasn’t for us.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

This hotel is in a great location, rooms are clean and spacious with full kitchens, breakfast is outstanding for an "included breakfast." But....the parking garage is almost impossible to get into without scraping the side of your car, extremely tight turns and very small parking spaces....all this for $18 day!!!! This is NOT New York City. There is also a key system for use in the elevator to get to and from your room. It was confusing and frustrating. Sometimes it didn't work and we were stuck in the elevator going nowhere.

We were there for three days and during the day the slamming of doors by cleaning crews was extremely irritating. Forget it if you want to sleep in late or take a nap.

Although I love the Marriott chain of hotels, I will not return to this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Easy to find, within walking distance of most anything downtown. Nice rooms, very clean, bed was comfortable, staff was very nice. We did not here street noise, but we were on the top floor and it was a weekend.

The only negatives were:
- Price of parking - $18 a night
- Hard, cheap, uncomfortable sofa/chair in the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

Nice property, centrally located in Denver. Stayed in suite on top floor. Rooms were nicely insulated and quiet. Double paned windows keeps any city noise out. Spacious, clean, with nice nine foot ceilings. Locking door between bedroom and kitchen/living room area. Small bathtub, but softened water (Vegas water is hard and harsh)!! Bed and bed linens soft and comfortable. Free internet connection in-room. Staff will even grocery shop for guests for no extra charge!!!
Alarm clock radio/ipod connectible.
One of our top three picks behind Prince Kuhio, Oahu and Double Tree in Scottsdale, AZ.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdacounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna4734, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Denver City Center, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Denver City Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bayles-Gottehrer
Guest service supervisor
Residence Inn Marriott City Center
ryan.b-gottehrer@ridenver.com
303-296-3444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn Denver City Center for four nights during a convention being held at the Colorado Convention Center. I chose the Residence Inn City Center over the convention-recommended hotels after researching that it was ranked the Number One hotel in Denver on TripAdvisor; I used the same strategy for a conference in 2006 when I booked TripAdvisor's first choice, Le Square Phillips, in Montreal, and was thrilled with both hotel choices. Thanks, TripAdvisor!

The Residence Inn Denver City Center is centrally located at the corner of 17th and Champa, an easy walk to the 16th Street Mall and its myriad of shops and restaurants and only a few minutes from the convention center. The hotel was spotless and offered several great amenities such as a free shuttle to the convention center, well-equipped exercise room, a coin-op laundry room on each floor, a free hot breakfast buffet, and free drinks and a light dinner from Mon.-Thurs. The room (a one-bedroom suite) was spacious, with a separate living room and kitchen stocked with a few pots and pans, a toaster, and a small stove in addition to a microwave and refrigerator. The china and flatware was spotless. The bedroom featured an iPod alarm clock in the room, a nice touch for those traveling with their iPods.

Seeing as there was a blizzard in late March, the roaring fireplace in the lobby was a comfy touch, and the lobby was filled with comfortable chairs and sofas. There was also a Caribou coffee shop in the lobby, although I didn't visit it. The free breakfast was decent; several hot dishes like scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, and make-your-own waffles were rounded out with yogurt, milk, fruit juice, a few cereals, and toast, bagels and English muffins. Not gourmet by any stretch, but a great way to save money and get a good start on your day of sightseeing or business (several of my colleagues' hotels had neither a refrigerator nor free breakfast, and they were paying double what I paid at the Residence Inn).

I had a room next to the laundry room, but it was fairly quiet. The bed was comfortable (they even provided the extra pillows I'd asked for on my online reservation), and I could see the Rockies out the window (but the view was mostly of the skyscrapers across the street). One note: my 3G cell phone reception (AT&T) was horrible unless I stood right by the window. My friend also had problems with her AT&T reception in a nearby room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bundtlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna4734, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Denver City Center, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Denver City Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Bayles-Gottehrer
Guest service supervisor
Residence Inn Marriott City Center
ryan.b-gottehrer@ridenver.com
303-296-3444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Stayed two nights. The room was nice. The service was great. Did not make it for the dinner buffets, but the continental breakfasts were fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#55 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#50 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver City Center

Property: Residence Inn Denver City Center
Address: 1725 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Denver
#18 Business Hotel in Denver
#21 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Denver City Center is a spacious, modern downtown hotel with a perfect location and welcoming staff to meet the needs of business travelers, families and weekenders wanting to make a smart choice for a brief or extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Denver City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Denver City Hotel Denver
Denver Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing