We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places we stayed at in the USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was impressed with this hotel, having stayed in many chain hotels while travelling across the US. We had a double-story suite which was clean and large. The only complaint was the blinds couldn't be closed above the stairs so it was extremely light in the morning (good thing I had a eye mask!). The breakfast was also one of the best we had on our trip - even had strawberries! It's in a great location close to the main mall and Coors Stadium.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are so happy that we could be a part of your vacation to the United States!

Our bi-level suites are designed to feel just like home with separate living room and bedroom and all the comforts you are accustomed to in your house. We're sorry that the blinds were not closed to keep the bright Colorado sunshine out of your eyes! There is a remote that closes and opens the blinds but it may not have been easy to locate so you could control the light coming in.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our great buffet breakfast. We hope that if you choose to take another international vacation to the US that you will come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We got a very large, two-story suite with two bathrooms (Room 635 on top floor) for a good price. The first floor had a small kitchen with full-size frig, microwave, coffeemaker and small sink. The fold-out sofa-bed on the first floor was very comfortable for sleeping. Everything was very clean. Each floor had a TV. The free breakfast served at 6-10 a.m. had a wide and changing selection of hot and cold foods and drinks. The small pool and hot-tub are entirely underground, so if a nice, sunny pool is important to you this won’t be the place. The pool was very cold during our visit because the heater was malfunctioning, which management acknowledged and comped us one night after it was not resolved during our stay. Parking here is valet-only for $20 night, requiring you to call in advance to get your car. However, we were able to park mostly for free on the street, where it’s free during 6 p.m. to 9 a.m. and $1 an hour for meters (limit 2 hours) in case you don’t leave by 9 or return before 6. There is also a self-parking, private lot across the street, which charges $10 for 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. and $5 for 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. with unlimited in and out rights. The only other mild negative is the location. While it’s centrally located and some things are within walking distance, the immediate area within a several blocks in each direction is a little desolate. You might feel uncomfortable walking this area at night. Some sightseeing recommendations: The Denver Aquarium (which has Bengal tigers for some reason) and the Denver Museum of Nature and Science are both worth a visit, especially with kids. Mount Falcon Park west of Denver and Chatauqua Park in Boulder have great views and hiking trails. Red Rocks Amphitheatre is interesting (even if you’re not seeing a concert). It has a museum and a decent restaurant. We also had good meals at Avenue Grill, 630 E. 17th Ave., Red Ginger (sushi and Japanese), 550 Broadway St., and Boulder Café, 1247 Pearl St. in Boulder.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorthernVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing all your experiences at the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown as well as throughout your vacation in Denver! We are so happy to know that we could help you feel right at home in one of our bi-level suites during your stay.

Our hotel is designed to give you lots of space for your family to relax, all the onsite amenities you expect (pool/whirlpool, fitness center, business center, etc.) and free services like breakfast and wifi to control your costs for the "extras". It sounds like we were a perfect fit for you and we are pleased you allowed us to serve you.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you'll come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very nice hotel with decent hot breakfast and close to downtown activities. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Very quiet too. Great restaurants and shopping nearby as well as museums and art. State capitol was very close and Molly Brown museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 874peggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a peaceful, comfortable stay with us and were in close proximity to everything that downtown Denver has to offer.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Denver, you'll come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I truly feel that the price of the hotel is a bit too much. There is NO SENIOR/MILITARY discount or none was given to me at the time that I signed in. I was there for a meeting which was in another of your properties that had a lower price and this wasn't given to me. I was directed to this property by your staff and it was too far from the site of my meeting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the price of your room and your inability to receive discounts on that price. Unfortunately discounts like AARP or government rate are not always available due to high demand within the area. During summer months with lots of conventions in town, sometimes we are unable to accommodate requests for these discounts. We are sorry that we could not do so in your case but we hope that all the added amenities and services included in the price gave you a good value overall.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback and allowing us to serve you during your time in Denver. We hope that if you return for work or vacation that you'll come to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

In July 2014 we travelled to Colorado for a family vacation. We had booked rooms at the Sherman St Hampton in downtown Denver.. Due to problems with our flight we ended up getting to Denver a day late. The staff at the Hampton were helpful and friendly when I called to tell them we were stranded and would not be arriving until sometime the next day. They checked us in on the computer to secure our roomns and told us not to worry we would sort it out when we arrived. Twenty seven hours later when we did finally arrive we where treated to one of the nicest Hamptons we have ever stayed in. The rooms where huge and new, and the location was within walking distance of the 16th Street Mall and Coor's Field.. The Staff went the extra mile making calls and refunding the cost of the night we had missed. After a disastrous start, losing an entire day in Denver and incurring extra hotel costs elsewhere they saved our vacation. The hotel is modern, clean and the breakfast was extensive. I would recommend taking advantage of the valet parking for convenience. Thanks again to the management and Staff for being so understanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are happy to hear that we could go above and beyond normal customer service to save the day for your vacation.

Our team here works every day to provide our guests with top-notch level customer service. We enjoy taking care of our guests and we are glad that we could assist you with everything you needed.

We are also happy to hear that your room was excellent and your family was comfortable during your stay.

Thank you again for your review - we hope you'll come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So - we picked this location vice something out closer to Dick's Sporting Good Park because it's walking distance to the 16th Street Mall and a short tram to LoDo.

The building itself seems older, but the interior is fresh and new - including the rooms.

Lobby and breakfast area were clean and well appointed.
The rooms were large enough for two (we had 2 queen beds) with desk, lounge chair, fridge (ours didn't work at first - and not sure if the freezer ever worked).

Exteriors -- well.... it seems that there are more and more homeless in Denver (maybe it's the legalized marijuana, but having grown-up in Colorado - I was shocked!) There are a few in close proximity to the hotel, but we were never harassed.

Parking - sucks. Street parking overnight on the block or next block over - we took the risk as we left every morning by 0800. No tickets! But other options are two paid lots or valet ($20 a day). Didn't see a courtesy shuttle (to and from airport) so I don't think they have one.

The front desk staff was most friendly and helpful - Stephanie, Bree, Sara, etc...

Bathrooms - clean and had all the extras

Breakfasts - definitely NOT continental. This one had make-it-yourself waffles, eggs with ham, sausages, homemade fries, fruit, pastries, coffee, juices, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, etc, etc... definitely one of the better hotel breakfasts. AND they switch up the main entrees each day.

Price - seemed a bit steep at $156 (with military discount) for downtown, but it is what it is.

Sundry store - 24/7 - located next to the desk has cold drinks and tons of snacks.

Would re-patronize: Probably as it's close to downtown and reasonably priced compared to other places
Would recommend: Yes. Have already.

Room Tip: anything above the 2nd floor should be good to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are so glad that you were able to touch on so many points of the hotel that were positive from your stay.

Downtown Denver has become a completely different city than it was 7-10 years ago and is a growing city with lots of people moving here every year, tons of strong business travel from national corporations and small start ups, vacationers to see one of our many breweries or art exhibitions and great sports teams to draw in fans from far and away. With that substantial growth come more large city elements, like the homeless population, but we find with our location that we are not impacted by most of those issues.

We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed exceptional customer service from our team. We hope that you'll come back to see Denver again soon and give us the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Denver for vacation it. This hotel was in such a great location it was walking distance to just about everything we wanted to do:) breakfast was really good. Very impressed. And the little store they have inside is great:)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are happy to have the opportunity to be your home away from home while you visited Denver!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our expanded breakfast offerings and our Suite Shop store. We like to ensure that you have access to everything you need while you are away so that small shop helps with snacks and last minute needs.

We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites for your accommodations and we hope you'll come back to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#55 of 159 in Denver
1,587 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 N Sherman St, Denver, CO 80203-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Denver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#22 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £99 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire beautiful Rocky Mountain views, take in a sporting event or discover cultural activities when staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites Denver-Downtown hotel. Conveniently located five blocks away from the convention center, we're close to restaurants, shopping, museums and more. Our Denver Downtown hotel is only three blocks away from the 16th Street Pedestrian Mall, which features 300 plus stores and more than 50 restaurants. Find rides and attractions only a mile away at Elitch Gardens. Cheer on your favorite Colorado Rocky, Denver Bronco or Denver Nugget at Coors Field, Sports Authority at Mile High or the Pepsi Center. Start your day with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab a free On the Run Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Unwind in a guest room or accessible room offering one-king or two-queen bed room types. We offer one-bedroom, studio, and two-story suites with one-king or two-queen beds. Our rooms and suites feature a 37-inch flat panel HD TV with cable, video games and pay per view movies, a lap desk, mini-bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave and free WiFi. Enjoy staying at a hotel that offers thoughtful services and amenities while putting you in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing