We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nut Cracker a trdition”
Review of Colorado Ballet

Colorado Ballet
Ranked #50 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Colorado Ballet is a non-profit organization celebrating 55 years of presenting world-class classical ballet and contemporary dance in Denver. Colorado Ballet enhances the cultural life of Colorado through performances of the professional company, training at the Academy, and Education & Outreach programs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nut Cracker a trdition”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Well staged & the music is so familiar, anyone can go & feel comfortable. My gr' children loved it. Sets well done. Dancing superb.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1bookworm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent ballet, wonderful theater”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was a season ticket holder of the San Francisco Ballet for 10 years. So I was very excited that Denver had a ballet company. If you're moving from a larger metro area, you can't really compare the companies. Denver's is very different from S.F.'s and it took me some time to adjust. I was used to the technically perfect performances of the S.F. Ballet, and at first the difference in technical performance marred my enjoyment factor. Denver's costumes and sets are more ornate, while S.F. has a minimalist approach so you focus more on the dancers themselves. The Denver sets are very full and pretty - and sometimes detract from the dancers. Their costumes are also more elaborate and truer to the time periods - but sometimes the more authentic clothing (less gauzy materials, longer skirts) also means you can't see the dancers' forms as much. But overall, the performances are very pretty; I especially remember "Midsummer's Night Dream" as very magical. And they did an original "Dracula" that is amazing. A sexy, bloody ballet? Who'd have thought. My husband doesn't like/barely tolerates ballet, but he was blown away by their Dracula production. We've seen it three times! The other memorable performances I've seen more than once are Swan Lake, and the Nutcracker.

As for the theater, it's true - not a bad seat in the house. It's a wonderful theater. Good line of vision even if you're on the main floor on the side, or up in the balcony. Good acoustics. Booster seat pads for small children. Adequate snacks if you're hungry, fast bartenders. Clean bathrooms. The gift shop is pretty nice; some things are pricey, as expected.

TIPS: While parking in the complex can cost up to (?) $12, it’s so convenient to just take the elevator and walk across to the theater. Getting out can take a while, so lingering in the gift shop or going out to eat afterwards takes care of that traffic hassle. Also, Denverites tend to dress up for the ballet. Don’t know about recently, but I remember our first attendance on a Wednesday night – women were wearing long dresses! (In S.F., it was just the opposite – I was disappointed people wore jeans to the ballet!) So women, wear something a little dressy. Men – at least wear khakis, if not dress pants. My husband was glad he didn’t wear the jeans and tennis shoes he’d originally wanted. Be sure to check out the life-size, life-like ballerina sculptures throughout (in lobby, by bathrooms, etc.). They’re so real it’s eerie. MUCH more realistic than any wax museum sculptures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seen quite a few performances”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The theater is excellent. No seat is really a bad seat, but try to sit as center as possible. Saw Peter Pan, Sleeping Beauty, and the Nutcracker here. Great performances! Peter Pan was the best!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Took the girls to see "The Nutcracker"”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

lovely ballet performance my sister and I took out 14 year old daughters to see the ballet and we had fabulous seats and it is a great auditorium. We so enjoyed the performance and after got to take some photos in the lobby with some of the cast. The girls had a great time and want to go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lunamoon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Birth of Rock and Roll Ballet”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

With a live orchestra and some fine dancers, this was a very entertaining show. It was called the Ballet Ariel. It included not only ballet, but tap, swing dancing, be-bop, and other dances true to the era. Musical numbers from about the 30's to the 50's were included. It was a fun show.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CollinsRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colorado Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing