We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven't seen that many ballets”
Review of Colorado Ballet

Colorado Ballet
Ranked #44 of 251 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Colorado Ballet is a non-profit organization celebrating 55 years of presenting world-class classical ballet and contemporary dance in Denver. Colorado Ballet enhances the cultural life of Colorado through performances of the professional company, training at the Academy, and Education & Outreach programs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Haven't seen that many ballets”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

But we have been to the Mariinsky and it's nothing like that. We saw a matinee of Cinderella and the audience was full of little girls all dressed up in princess garb. The stepsisters were entertaining and some of the dancing was good, but I wouldn't say it was great.

We have seen worse dancers, especially local productions of the Nutcracker, and we haven't seen enough live to really judge, but I'm not sure I'll come back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David_Jones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great class and entertainment”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have been going to see the ballet for years, and it is never disappointing. The performers are a class act and are always spectacular. The seats are comfortable and roomy and the theatre area is beautiful. The most enjoyable part is when my young son is mesmerized, sitting on the edge of his seat for the entire performance in silence. Says a lot!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2007newoceanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“A Night Out on the Town”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I always love attending the ballet! It takes you into another world of class, sparkle and grace. The Colorado Ballet does an exceptional job of putting on performances at the Denver Performing Arts Center. Beyond the atmoshpere and dancing on the night of the show, they sent me a reminder email with all of the information I'd need to know before attending - very helpful! The Colorado Ballet also does amazing educational programs for schools in Denver and it's great to support them by attending a show!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The house is as good as the ballet”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I live in Virginia but try to see the Colorado Ballet whenever I'm in Denver. It is an excellent company with a creative repertoire. Almost as good as the ballet itself is the Opera House where they perform most of the time. A statue of two ballet dancers in the lower level is so lifelike that you begin to wonder how he can hold her in that lift for so long.

This summer they did a varied program at an outdoor location, the Arvada Center, that appeared to bring ballet to a wider audience. Tickets were inexpensive indoors, and lawn seats were priced really low. I got an e-mail offering a 20% discount and was delighted that I was going to be in town that night.

Their Pointes of Interest e-newsletter is very informative, even to an out-of-stater, and I sometimes plan travel based on what I read there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELAINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nutcracker”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Absolutely stunning performance. Well priced, and if you take the train in from the park and ride, parking is not an issue.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Father02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colorado Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing