We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”
Review of Churchill Bar

Churchill Bar
Ranked #2 of 165 Nightlife in Denver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For lunch or dinner, enjoy a sophisticated retreat in a quiet club atmosphere. The menu presents an extensive list of vodkas, single-malt scotches, small-batch bourbons, and premium spirits and wines. And with a selection of over 60 cigars, our customized humidor has something for every palate.Open Daily 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This cocktail lounge/cigar bar is very elegant, and I found it very nice to sit and enjoy a drink here. Some friends enjoyed the cigars (for which they have an extensive menu). The atmosphere is very upscale, but not trendy/hipster. Generally an older crowd, buisness associates, and couples. If you have money (or don't mind paying for one or two expensive drinks), this is the place to go.

Warning: It IS a cigar bar, so don't go if you can't handle the smoke.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kingshimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanagawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Churchill bar is a nice bar for hanging around in an upscale atmosphere. It is a cigar bar. You can bring your own or buy one from the bar. There is no lighting charge for bringing your own cigar which is much appreciated.

When I was there, the staff, Shelle and Anna, were doing a great job of keeping everyone supplied with the libations of their choice and cheerfully helping everyone enjoy themselves.

I just have a few suggestions to help make this very good bar excellent. First, I noticed that the lemon juice used in the sour cocktails came from a jug. A bar that tries to be the nicest cocktail bar in downtown Denver shouldn't be using canned juice. All the juices used- lemon, lime, orange, etc., should be fresh-squeezed right there at the bar. In order to do so, the bartender needs an assistant. I know this increases the cost of labor, so raise the drink prices a little to compensate. The crowd this bar is trying to attract shouldn't mind.

Second, the wait staff were using the Mycrose System (I think it is called) to record the drink orders from the customers in the register. The register monitor with its push-button order menus was very visible at the end of the bar. C'mon, that is bush league. If you want to present a more high-class image, the register needs to be completely hidden from the customers, including the ones sitting at the bar. The customers should be unaware of any of the financial/cashier kind of stuff going on untill they are presented with a tastefully handwritten bill at the end of the evening.

Third, as I alluded to in my first point, the bar needs a bigger staff. When I was there, Anna was working the entire floor while Shelle was making all the drinks plus serving the bar. Both were overworked. I believe the clientele this bar wants to attract probably expects attentive and responsive staff. Anna and Shelle were doing a great job, but they only have two arms and two legs. I recommend putting two servers on the floor and giving the bartender an assistant. In other words, doubling the staff in the bar. If your goal is to be the best cocktail bar in downtown Denver, then I think this will help you achieve that.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cla681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous bar!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great martinis, a wonderful atmosphere, and surprisingly, some of the best hot wings ever. The only drawback is the service can be slow.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to smoke a cigar”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great ambiance, wonderful Key Lime Martini...and my husband got to indulge in his love of fine cigars in a great atmosphere!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank skisgirl276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill Bar also viewed

 

Been to Churchill Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing