We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
maassluis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

we stayed at castle Marne for one night and booked the Raymond room, this is a small room but.....you have youre own terrace with a hot tub!!
the castle is a reallly beautiful historic building with a fantastic maintained garden!!
lovely breakfast in authentic art deco diningroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank els v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay at Castle Marne. You are right, the Raymond room is small but the private balcony with the private hot tub is great! We appreciate you sharing your Castle experience with future TripAdvisor guests. If you are ever in Denver again, we look forward to having you back.

Be well,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    68
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
115
389
60
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband booked a room by phone. Since they only had a full sized bed left, he told them he would need to check with his wife. The gentleman, Bryon, said he would hold it for the day (without running our credit card) but warned there would be a small charge for canceling after he ran our credit card.

My husband called back in 20 min or less to cancel. Another person answered the phone. He explained what had just transpired and was told they would give Bryon the message that we would not take the room.

A week or less before the date we got an email reminder of our upcoming stay. We also saw we were charged the full amount on our credit card. We emailed reminding them that we had canceled and that our card should have never been run. They apologized. Three days later our card was given a partial refund. They charged a $23 fee. I emailed again explaining that they should have NEVER run our card and that it should have been cancelled a long time ago without a $23 fee. They refused to reply to my email. I will now need to take this up with my credit card company. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Todd and Kelli, Thank you for your review. First of all please accept my apologies for this terrible mixup. I was the first one to take your call Todd and I put a "courtesy" hold on the room for you. This is against our policies. We don't "hold" a room without the first night as a deposit. This caused all sorts of problems for you and for us internally. If the room is cancelled prior to 7 days of the reservation date, the fee is $22.95.

Because I didn't follow my own procedures and my staff did what they were supposed to do everything went terribly wrong. I am refunding the $22.95 cancellation fee and am inviting you to give us another chance. Castle Marne is a wonderful inn and we want to share it with you and Kelli.

Please let us know when you are coming through Denver again so we can make your stay extra special.

Again, I apologize for the unpleasant experience and hope that we can make it up to you sometime soon.

Sincerely Yours,
Louie Feher-Peiker
Owner
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our experience at Castle Marne was everything I expected and more. The Inn is beautiful, with tons of character. The staff were wonderful and there whenever needed, but still provided plenty of privacy. Breakfast was delicious every morning, and the staff were great about adjusting the meals for any dietary restrictions. Very close to downtown, yet the atmosphere is completely different, and much more comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious review. It is our pleasure to have you with us. Glad we were able to accommodate your special dietary requests. Our kitchen is very small but we do our best to accommodate guests special diets with delicious alternatives.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We couldn't have been more pleased with our hosts and the beautiful accommodations. The only thing I would suggest is to let future guests know that the bathroom in the Tower Room is in the hall. It is private to just that room, but you don't just hop up in the middle of the night and go. Aside from that, we had a great time and followed up on several suggestions made by the staff.

Thanks,
Mac & Susan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MacSusan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning the fact that the Tower's bathroom is down the hall. We know this can be a bit of a hassle. In the "Old days" before on-line bookings were possible, we made sure everyone understood that the private bath was down the hall because we spoke to every guest personally. Now-a-days, we have to spell it out in all the descriptions on web-sites all over the internet. Sometimes it gets relegated to the "fine-print" and catches guests off guard.

We will re-visit every on-line description we can find to be sure this very important detail is in bold print if possible.

Other than the bathroom, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please give us a call directly when you are planning your next trip to Denver so we can be sure to reserve the perfect room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending three wonderful nights at the Castle Marne. Everything from booking on-line to a fantastic breakfast experience was made
to seem easy by the professional and experienced staff. Parking and location were perfect, and with just a couple of short blocks to some fine restaurants and a very nice Pub made our stay even more enjoyable. Louie and his family made us feel like we were a part of his family. What a nice place in a beautiful part of Denver. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Presidential Suite which had a in-room Jacuzzi tub and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank retiredUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We always say, you arrive as guests and leave as family. We appreciate you sharing your Castle experience with future TripAdvisor guests. Louie sends his regards and on behalf of the whole "fam damily" we look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our son told about Castle Marne and recommended it for a recent visit. It was only a couple of blocks from his apartment, so location was ideal. It is in walking distance of several great restaurants and shops. We have stayed at B&Bs on other occasions in various cities in the U.S, and Castle Marne was one of the nicest. The food was wonderful, and the owners were friendly and accommodating. Our room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. We would consider a larger room the next time. Their story about how they "rescued" the house and painstakingly restored it over the past 20 years is truly remarkable!

Jane H.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Ahh, what a nice review, thank you. How convenient that the Castle is just blocks from your son's place. Thank you also for mentioning our restoration and renovation. We often get caught up in the day to day of running the B&B and forget what the house was like when we bought it. The building had been abandoned for over 8 years, the plumbing had frozen and burst and ran for 2 weeks. The damage was appalling.

We invite guests to look at our scrap book with our before, during and after photos of the reconstruction. Occasionally I catch a glimpse of a photo over a guest's shoulder and the memories come flooding back. This August 1st marks our 25th year in business. The Castle will be celebrating 125 years and the state of Colorado will be 138 years a state. We're having a big party that day. Stop by between 4:00 and 7:00 for an old-fashioned ice cream social complete with a DixieLand Jazz Band.

If you can't make it, send your son over. We'd love to have him stop by. Enjoy your summer and we look forward to having you back again someday soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Castle Marne! We felt very comfortable and at ease, yet pampered. The food is some of the best you'll find anywhere. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. Be sure and allow them to arrange a private car for your trip to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. And thank you for mentioning the private car service to and from the airport. We just started offering this to our guests. It is less expensive than a taxi and more than a shuttle, but you get a private car delivering you straight to our door in style.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Castle Marne and hope you'll join us again the next time you are traveling through Denver.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing