We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a blast in Denver!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a blast in Denver!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Castle is very nice - the family that runs it is FABULOUS! They are friendly, knowledgeable and very willing to give advice for great local sites. They recommended a brew pub only two blocks away and we loved it.

They were very accommodating for us - as we were traveling across country with a large chair and they let us stow it in their common area during our three night stay.

Their breakfast is FANTASTIC! We especially enjoyed the home made breads and jams along with their delightful egg creations! Their hearty breakfasts were a great start to each day.

Room Tip: Since there were three of us, we enjoyed the Holland Suite which has two rooms, each with a double/q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all our yummy breakfasts. It was a pleasure getting to know the three of you and storing your favorite chair was no problem. We were happy to help. Best of luck in your new home. Come back if you're ever this far west again.

On behalf of the whole "fam damily",

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    69
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
119
395
62
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Everyone was nice and breakfast was delicious. The hot tub was very relaxing. The room was clean as well as the restroom. Walked everywhere we went even if it was a distance. Wearing comfortable shoes would have been good but the bike rental wasn't too far.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teezee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that the Castle is convenient to so many things to do. Denver's Bike Sharing program is wonderful as well. There are three bike stations within just 3 blocks of the Castle. We trust that we'll see you again sometime soon. Remember to bring good walking shoes.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good: Beautiful property, lovely garden, lovely castle and rooms. Honestly everything looked awesome. The service was also quite nice, as they were extremely friendly. Great muffins.

Bad: I was promised a king size bed and only got a single, and one so small I couldn't fit in it. Bathroom was not in the room and so we had to leave our room to use it, also air conditioning was blasting in the main areas making it like a freezer.

Ugly: Aside from the street the castle is located on, everywhere else around looks extremely ghetto. We were approached several times by people asking for money. Not only did the people annoy, but there was a crossing for the blind right down the street which beeped continuously, even into the night, and was so loud it could be heard from our room.

All in all, a passing grade, but I'd consider another more quiet location, which offers beds men over 6 feet can fit in. Sleepless nights make for difficult positive reviews.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose the tower room, as far as I could tell, it's the only one with a disconnected bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We learn from every guest, those who love us and those not so much. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the lodging experience you deserve.

When you and I made this reservation on the phone we discussed the size of the bed. We don't sell that bed as twins unless by special request. If I misunderstood your request, I apologize. The Tower bed is always a King unless otherwise requested, and only over the phone.

As far as the neighborhood is concerned, we are sorry you were uncomfortable. Thank you for letting us know that we need to be more aware of the air conditioning, loud beeping from the cross walk for the blind down the block and the neighborhood.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne we trust that the rest of your trip through Colorado was enjoyable.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We found out about Castle Marne through web articles on best places to honeymoon in Denver. We'd both lived in CO for years and never realized that a place like this existed in the middle of the city. It's a family-run b&b, and everyone was helpful, knowledgeable, and flexible to our needs with getting the room before the wedding and our itinerary the next day. We chatted at great length with just about everyone about the history of the house, the recipes they use, and the renovation process. We will definitely stay here again when we need a getaway!

Room Tip: The suite with the hot tub was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RRS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for spending your honeymoon night with us. We are pleased to have been part of the first day of your new life together. On behalf of our family and staff, we look forward to seeing you back on your first anniversary.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleo nowhere
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked two nights at Castle Marne over July 4th. We were traveling from Durango back home and needed a stop over for a couple days in Denver to visit family and break up the trip. My husband suggested we try to see if a BnB was available since we usually have great experiences. When I called a lovely young man answered the phone. I explained we were traveling through with a single six-year-old child and asked if they had any rooms. He asked me to hold while he looked up a few things. Miraculously, they had a cancellation and we were booked into the "Holland Suite" which is two adjoining rooms. You will not find this suite on the castle's website, but I was not too concerned. When we arrived the castle was magnificent. We loved the atmosphere, the food was exquisite - we have dietary restrictions which were accommodated graciously. The innkeeper de jour was wonderful, he catered to our young daughter, and even carried our luggage. The problem lies in the room(s) itself. Dated, unclean and worn carpet, and very small footprint/square footage. We had to stack our luggage in the second room as there was not space to walk around the bed if we had a bag or suitcase in the main room. The bathroom was itty bitty. My husband actually smashed his finger between the shower door and the door jamb to the bathroom while trying to close the shower door the first time. He will likely lose the fingernail from that mistake. This is not the fault of the castle, just added to the quirks.

We loved meeting the family from Holland, the couple from Germany and the mother/daughter from Denver.

We will likely stay again, but only if we can book into a room that doesn't feel like the cleaned out storage room for extra furniture.

Room Tip: Pick a room actually on the website.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nnylmahs235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the comments about your stay at Castle Marne. First let me say how sorry we are that your experience was less than you'd hoped. We learn how to do better from every guest's honest feedback.

It is through our guest's eyes that we must see our inn. Sometimes we loose sight of what are important details and we get caught up with the day-to-day running of our business.

We thank you for pointing out the areas we must improve and we thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed the service and food. Sorry about your husband's smashed finger, we trust he did not loose the nail.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, we hope you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maassluis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we stayed at castle Marne for one night and booked the Raymond room, this is a small room but.....you have youre own terrace with a hot tub!!
the castle is a reallly beautiful historic building with a fantastic maintained garden!!
lovely breakfast in authentic art deco diningroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank els v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay at Castle Marne. You are right, the Raymond room is small but the private balcony with the private hot tub is great! We appreciate you sharing your Castle experience with future TripAdvisor guests. If you are ever in Denver again, we look forward to having you back.

Be well,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband booked a room by phone. Since they only had a full sized bed left, he told them he would need to check with his wife. The gentleman, Bryon, said he would hold it for the day (without running our credit card) but warned there would be a small charge for canceling after he ran our credit card.

My husband called back in 20 min or less to cancel. Another person answered the phone. He explained what had just transpired and was told they would give Bryon the message that we would not take the room.

A week or less before the date we got an email reminder of our upcoming stay. We also saw we were charged the full amount on our credit card. We emailed reminding them that we had canceled and that our card should have never been run. They apologized. Three days later our card was given a partial refund. They charged a $23 fee. I emailed again explaining that they should have NEVER run our card and that it should have been cancelled a long time ago without a $23 fee. They refused to reply to my email. I will now need to take this up with my credit card company. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Todd and Kelli, Thank you for your review. First of all please accept my apologies for this terrible mixup. I was the first one to take your call Todd and I put a "courtesy" hold on the room for you. This is against our policies. We don't "hold" a room without the first night as a deposit. This caused all sorts of problems for you and for us internally. If the room is cancelled prior to 7 days of the reservation date, the fee is $22.95.

Because I didn't follow my own procedures and my staff did what they were supposed to do everything went terribly wrong. I am refunding the $22.95 cancellation fee and am inviting you to give us another chance. Castle Marne is a wonderful inn and we want to share it with you and Kelli.

Please let us know when you are coming through Denver again so we can make your stay extra special.

Again, I apologize for the unpleasant experience and hope that we can make it up to you sometime soon.

Sincerely Yours,
Louie Feher-Peiker
Owner
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
582 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
819 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing