We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay seemed too short - a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One night stay seemed too short - a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was the last place we stayed after a week's vacation in CO (in the mountains for part, the Boulder, then one night in Denver). We were catching a show at Red Rocks (an easy ~25 min. from Castle Marne) on our last night and didn't get to spend nearly enough time at this wonderful house! We had the Tower Room on the 3rd floor and it was gigantic, comfortable, and lovely. The bathroom was just down the hall (but was our own private one) which was absolutely no problem. Our room had an A/C unit which we did need, but once we closed the room up after checking in, it cooled the room down very nicely.

Nice amenities included: Mini-fridge on the 3rd floor for food we had, complimentary afternoon tea with fresh made chocolate chip cookies, and a wonderful full breakfast in the morning.

We were greeted upon our arrival, told some great history of the house in a mini-tour of sorts as we were showed to our room, and overall treated with the utmost respect. It wasn't so formal that it was off putting, rather it was professional and approachable at the same time. Very well done, Castle Marne! We can't wait to come back and visit!

Room Tip: The Tower Room was very large and comfortable - a great pick if you don't mind walking to the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grebebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie F, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay and how much you liked the Tower Room. Yes, it is on the 3rd floor and we have no elevator and yes, the private 3/4 bathroom is a few steps down the hall, but the room is large, comfortable, spacious and it has a great big bed. We are pleased you shared your experience with all our future TripAdvisor guests.

Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to having you back again for more than just one night.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    69
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
120
397
62
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The owners and staff are amazing. Great place to stay very clean and friendly. Wonderful breakfast. This is a beautiful house in a great location. You can walk to many eateries and museums parks and gardens

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie F, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
So glad you had a wonderful time. We appreciate you sharing with future TripAdvisor guests about how close we are to so many great things to do and about the great food. It is our pleasure to offer travelers from around the world and around the corner an enjoyable stay in our "Castle". We hope to see you back again someday soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I spent one quick night at Castle Marne on our way out of Denver, and were glad we did.

The architecture, grounds, and interior of the Castle are all wonderfully done, with many period pieces and restored or salvaged furniture from the time of this Langhorne classic's heyday in the early 1900's. Our room (the Tower) was large, well furnished--again with period pieces--and the bathroom (not ensuite, but private) was modern.

We didn't have the time to partake in the teas or to make use of the wonderful parlor, but appreciated the lengths the innkeepers went to make our stay similar to what we might've experienced a hundred years ago (just with WiFi and air conditioning).

Breakfast was complete, with juice tea, coffee, muffins, and a vegetarian quiche in the formal dining room. All in all Castle Marne was a wonderful place to stay and my only regret was that it was for just one night.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, although I'm sure the staff will help you with luggage, but if you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FasterThanWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie F, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is sad you only had one night to join us but we are pleased that you enjoyed it. The next time you are passing through Denver, please stay several nights to experience all that Castle Marne has to offer and explore more of Denver. There is so much to see and do here.

Until we see you again,

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Castle Marne has a really interesting story, and for budding architects is replete with fascinating tales of exterior and interior design. Even its afternoon tea and evening tea reflects the charm of an earlier time. The breakfast, while a little formal (read pretentious) in its presentation, was terrific in quality and taste. We enjoyed our stay overall, but there seemed to be a few inconveniences that were entirely unnecessary and easily avoidable. Everyone travels with a laptop, yet there is no easy way to plug one in to use it in the room. The window air conditioner was clearly undersized for the room in which we stayed (Tower Room). Parking was difficult during the day. And the key/code combinations required for late night entry challenged the capability of this "senior." A bit of forethought could eliminate all of these downsides (except for parking, of course), and would have scored a perfect "five" from this reviewer.

Room Tip: Better to have an ensuite room with bath -- more convenient. Also, ask about the capacity of the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank samchild7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie F, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. My husband and I had the opportunity to take a trip across the country recently and kept your review and other guests tips and suggestions in the forefront of our minds. We always learn from our guest's comments, but getting out and seeing for ourselves what you and bed and breakfast travelers are experiencing has been priceless.

Thank you for helping us see our inn with new eyes. We are embarking on an exciting year complete with renovations large and small. It would be our pleasure to have you come back after we've made our changes. Please keep us in mind the next time you are traveling through Denver.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

breakfast was delicious! everything home made and home grown. something different each day. homemade muffins

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

awesome place to stay. Owners were wonderful. beautifully restored place. Very impressive. warm and welcoming. OWNERS VERY knowledgable on castle history. Very quite neighborhood. very accessable to main highway and all attractions. owners very helpful.

Room Tip: we had the Melissa room. small with bed and bathroom. we were only in our room to sleep. very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. You stayed in the Melissa Room, named after me incidentally, I'm the daughter. The room is one of the smallest in the Castle. It is perfect for couples traveling on a budget or planning on being out exploring Denver all day.

For guests with a lot of luggage, we can store the bags not needed while with us giving you more space to move about the room.

Thank you again for your gracious review. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first stay at a b&b and it was wonderful! Our one night stay was a birthday gift to myself from my husband. The family that owns Castle Marne were so welcoming, knowledgable about the building and the area, and were just overall very friendly. The castle is beautifully decorated and very clean. Every small detail from the albums about the castle's history and the family themselves, to the collection of antiques everywhere were a great touch. We enjoyed tea in the garden and next time will have to do a puzzle in the puzzle nook! We were able to see about half of the rooms at one point or another and they each had their own unique charm. Breakfast was phenomenal (a fresh baked frittata, home made rosemary bread, fresh muffins, fruit and even an edible flower, along with coffee, tea and juice).
We stayed in the Colonel Platt room with our own private 2 person hot tub on the deck. We loved the charming decor and there was plenty of closet and dresser space for our belongings. The room was just enough space to feel comfortable, although the full size bed was a bit droopy in the center, making for close night of sleep for my husband and myself.
It was a great location, super close to lots to do, see, and eat. Parking was not a problem and the neighborhood felt very safe.
We can't say enough great things about this establishment, and Louie and Melissa for making us feel so at home! Can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashalash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
"We'll be back!" Music to the ears of every hotelier, thank you! We are thrilled we got be your first B&B. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests into the B&B way to stay. A hotel is a hotel is a hotel, but it's the people that make the experience. We like to think our Castle has something to do with it as well.

Thank you for mentioning the mattress, we have ordered new ones. Come back soon and try it out.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
600 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
839 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing