We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best murder mystery shows in Denver!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Ranked #5 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best murder mystery shows in Denver!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've been to murder mystery places in the Denver area and this one is by FAR the best. The food is great, the cast is fun and they do a fantastic job of getting the audience involved. Be sure to show up at 6pm when they open the doors, especially on casino night when you can play blackjack, Texas hold-em, and roulette before dinner. I will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    16
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
96
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The Lumber Baron was a delightful surprise. Everyone was dedicated to providing their guests with a fun evening of gambling (not real money), great (healthy) food, amusing entertainment and, of course a suspenseful murder mystery. The rooms were very comfortable and the mansion is beautifully decorated. We highly recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and loved the historic back story, the incredible gorgeous rooms and had fun learning about the adventure the hosts had in bringing this amazing piece of Denver history back to life! Walter is charming and his story about how he and his family renovated this gorgeous old mansion was fascinating. We will definitely return for one of the murder mystery nights - can't wait!!

Room Tip: Loved the big tub in the honeymoon suite! Bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Have fun here! It's a beautiful restored building with amazingly decorated rooms that will leave you asking 'where did you get that??'. Antique carved beds, giant ornate mirrors....every room is an adventure. The show is a bunch of fun loving improv actors who will play with you as much or as little as you want. The food is top notch, and it's just a really fun night out. The owners are the heart of this outfit....he joins the show and she cooks the delicious food. I love supporting local artists and small venues like this. Soooo worth it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneintheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a whim that I called to get a room and have a date with my husband doing the mystery dinner. Boy was it a surprise when we were able to get a honeymoon suite! It was a gorgeous stay. The staff and owner were very fun and did things well. The dinner was delicious, the theater was great comedy. The room was exquisite with romantic details all around. To have breakfast served from a picnic basket was awesome. Excellent job Lumbar Baron! It's been a month or so and I am still excited from this memorable evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable visit with Walter and Julie. The neighborhood was very nice and quiet, with several restaurants within a few blocks, easily walkable on sidewalks. Walter suggested a couple that met our desires and provided directions. There are bus routes nearby and plenty of on-street free parking. You may have to move your vehicle if you're there on a day the streets are being cleaned, but with the inn being on a corner you can just move around to the other side.

The inn is an amazing piece of Denver's history - it is itself a museum, with photos and explanations of the area and the beautiful restoration. Our room on the second floor was quiet, clean and odor-free. It had a tub and separate shower, and an openable window which is nice for fresh air. The bed was quite comfortable.

We stayed for two nights, enabling us to take advantage of the 2-for-1 price for the murder mystery dinner theater. It was so great to just descend one flight from the ballroom to our boudoir after the show. The show itself was a lot of fun, with talented actors (Walter's character was hilarious!), decent food & drinks, and audience participation.

Breakfast is served either on the front verandah overlooking the lovely garden or in the dining room. We did both, as our second morning was a bit on the cool side. It was delicious and plentiful. Walter was the perfect host - attentive, and enjoyable to have a conversation with.

We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at the Lumber Baron while on a weekend trip to Denver. This place exceeded expectations. The home is beautiful, rooms are clean, and the owners really have an appreciation for the history and architecture of Victorian mansions like this one. Its obvious these people have been in the business for a long time and know what they're doing. I'll be visiting a sister b&b of theirs in St. Joseph, MO soon. Great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS_JR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
805 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
1,530 reviews
Highland
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Denver Downtown
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens

Property: Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Address: 2555 W 37th Ave, Denver, CO 80211-2850
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens Hotel Denver
Lumber Baron Inn And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing