We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madcap Fun in a Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Ranked #5 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Walter and his family have restored the mansion to its former glory, and they have created a wonderful atmosphere for a fun murder mystery dinner in which almost every member of the audience becomes part of the action. My boyfriend and I spent the night after the dinner and just loved the old world touches in the Valentine Suite. My favorite part of our entire stay was the delicious breakfast the next morning and hearing Walter talk about the restoration of the mansion and the history of the area. Definitely stay the night if you can!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannonColorado K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have to say that this is the best dinner theater I have ever been to!! The food was outstanding and the cast was amazing! If you're coming to denver this is a most do. They even got my 75year old grandmother up on the stage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Lumber Baron inn is beautiful. From the antique woods everywhere to the incredibly sensual and romantically decorated rooms. You and your significant other are sure to have a beautiful time here. Walter is incredibly personable and it was a joy to hear his story. Grab some champagne, candles, your sweetie an prepare to have an incredibly intimate night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanTheLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've been to murder mystery places in the Denver area and this one is by FAR the best. The food is great, the cast is fun and they do a fantastic job of getting the audience involved. Be sure to show up at 6pm when they open the doors, especially on casino night when you can play blackjack, Texas hold-em, and roulette before dinner. I will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Lumber Baron was a delightful surprise. Everyone was dedicated to providing their guests with a fun evening of gambling (not real money), great (healthy) food, amusing entertainment and, of course a suspenseful murder mystery. The rooms were very comfortable and the mansion is beautifully decorated. We highly recommend it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Madlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and loved the historic back story, the incredible gorgeous rooms and had fun learning about the adventure the hosts had in bringing this amazing piece of Denver history back to life! Walter is charming and his story about how he and his family renovated this gorgeous old mansion was fascinating. We will definitely return for one of the murder mystery nights - can't wait!!

Room Tip: Loved the big tub in the honeymoon suite! Bed was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Have fun here! It's a beautiful restored building with amazingly decorated rooms that will leave you asking 'where did you get that??'. Antique carved beds, giant ornate mirrors....every room is an adventure. The show is a bunch of fun loving improv actors who will play with you as much or as little as you want. The food is top notch, and it's just a really fun night out. The owners are the heart of this outfit....he joins the show and she cooks the delicious food. I love supporting local artists and small venues like this. Soooo worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneintheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
868 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Highland
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens

Address: 2555 W 37th Ave, Denver, CO 80211-2850
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: £125 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumber Baron Inn And Gardens
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing