We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked like it used to be nice...and the suites are still ok”
Review of The Timbers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Timbers Hotel
Ranked #104 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Looked like it used to be nice...and the suites are still ok”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I want to start by saying this happened when Denver was getting those floods. If this had been a "normal" stay, they would have gotten 2 stars, not 3. To start, the lobby had flooded, so the carpet was wet and they had fans everywhere. A bad leak in the roof caused part of the ceiling to collapse when you go up the stairs, and the back doors were blocked off with sandbags. Hopefully none of this is part of your stay.

I waited over an hour for the shuttle, but again, I know the rain slowed this down, so i can't be that critical. It was also about 45 minutes to get to the hotel because the expressway was closed. But the girl driving was nice, so tried to make the best of it.

Overall, the place just looks a little tired. The rooms have old CRT TVs, but I can live with that for a cheap place.

My first room was on the first floor. When I walked in, it just smelled weird. It had a back door that went to a little patio. When I walked to it, I noticed the carpet for about 3 feet around the door was soaked. This must be why it smelled so bad.... Besides that, the bathroom was very plain. Light on the wall had a broken glass fixture. 80's looking tile, nothing inviting. But due to the soaked carpet, I called to see if I could get a different room....preferably on the 2nd floor. Tiffany looked, and she was able to get me into the 2nd floor, which seems to be all suites. This room was much nicer, with a new kitchen and high ceilings. The rest of the room could still use some updating, but the bed was clean, the A/C worked, and the shower works. The toilet paper holder was ripped off the wall and just sitting on the counter, which seemed weird. It also had a small balcony, but with a view of nothing.
Shuttle in the morning (4am) was a little late, but still made it in good time.

Overall: If you go, make sure to get a suite not on the ground floor. Do not expect this to be some high end place like Westin or Hilton, its not. But someone traveling on a budget, this will do as long as you get a decent room.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jason_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    74
    54
    35
    71
See reviews for
79
48
35
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a business meeting. The hotel shuttle picked us up from the airport. Need to watch out for this. They say Microtel more prominently they they say The Timbers. I almost missed it.

Very nice staff, quick check in. The room was fine, spacious, good a/c, good pillows, roomy frig, nice shower and good counter space in bathroom and b'fast starts nice and early at 6am. The room was very quiet despite being basically right next to the highway. I particularly liked the toiletries.

Only complaints were the TV remote which barely worked (the TV was old but worked fine), mattress was little lumpy and the restaurant is kind of meager. (Although the Rueben sandwich I had was very good. The other people I ate with also enjoyed their food.) The upholstery on the chair in the restaurant was so dirty I sat in a booth. I don't know who oversees this hotel but they would be shocked to see that. But, the lady who cooks the eggs at b'fast was super sweet!.

Not the Ritz but not a bad place to stay. The only other concern I had was that right now, it's sort of in the middle of nowhere. The only thing within walking distance was a couple of other hotels and a McDonald's. It looks like they may be building up the area so there maybe there will be a little shopping center nearby in the future. Right now, if you forgot something, there is no CVS to duck into to get it.

With a little sprucing up of the restaurant and a fix to the TV and remote and this could be a '4.'
Also, there was a little patio to the room but no chair or table out there. They could put more comfortable chairs in the meeting room.

Room Tip: This is a fairly big place so you might want to request a room nearer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayflower57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUEBLO WEST
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Whoever rated this hotel as a 3 star hotel has never been there. Rooms were dirty and in disrepair. Carpet was filthy & there were years worth of dirt on base boards & furniture hasn't been moved in years & cleaned. I was put in one room, spent one night there & made them move me to another. New room was a little better but still not acceptable. Dark, dingy & depressing. It is advertised as an all-suite hotel. They are nothing more than a room with a small refrigerator & microwave. This place is nothing more than an over rated flop house.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SANDY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denver hotels

Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After staying one night to park and fly, the room was dated and worn. Not a great neighborhood either With few options, we made reservations for our return, with confirmation, twice. Arriving late, our reservation mysteriously was lost on our return. No rooms anywhere, no offer of sympathy, only excuses. Had to sleep in our car! Front desk and manager were rude

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was a quick trip hotel that was selected by priceline that they Price claimed this is a 3 star, its barely. The property is questionable when you first drive in; old signs, dead landscaping, old run down parking lot that makes you think twice about parking in it and old paint. You walk in and it appears they spent all of there money renovating the inside which was to there credit done up as described. The beds were amazing and very comfortable , the TV was an old big box but decent, curtans dont black out light, rooms were very clean, pattio over looking there dead courtyards. Overall I would rate it a 2 1/2 star hotel. Good for quick pass throughs and a needed night sleep on long drives but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cefarmer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are looking for just a day to stay cloes to the airport and don't care about the amenity, I'd say go for it. It is not a place you'd go / stay if you are hoping for a nice getaway.

The rooms are very reasonable but the hotel is definately in need of a major update/ clean up.

The set up of the hotel require guests on the other side of the building to walk quite a ways.

The gym is pretty dirty and it seems that it hasn't been vaccumed in months. Most of the machinese were either not plugged in or not working properly (only 1 treadmill was functioning properly).

Onsite restaurant is alright. Not many decent restaurants around.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's closer to the front desk area or you'll have quite a walk to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceday_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Timbers in July. Picked this hotel for its shuttle service to airport. Extremely nice suite hotel. Big, clean rooms, patio off each room. Very nice. Wait staff and counter staff very nice.HOWEVER, I called for a pickup from the airport, was told van was on its way. I waited 1 hour! When it did show up the "Driver" said he was late because he had to train a new counter person. Come to find out the driver was "Carl" the regional manager. We had two people in the van so he went to Microhotel first to drop him off..."Carl" then left the van with me in it and started to walk into hotel. When he got tothe door he came back to me ( as an after thought), and asked if I wanted a coffee, that he was going inside for one! He was gone about 10 min. I was kept waiting for an hour and now he's getting coffee! I come to find out from talking to other employees that "Carl" is not only regional manager but he brought his girldfriend in to help cover an absence at the counter at Microhotel! He was more interested in his "NEW" counter person than his clients! Management has a fine property and the rest of the staff was great BUT MANAGEMENT needs to streighten him out!

Room Tip: If you have kids be aware there is no pool, Pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgilberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Comfort Inn
#81 of 157 in Denver
178 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#78 of 157 in Denver
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#101 of 157 in Denver
154 reviews
Comfort Inn Central
#59 of 157 in Denver
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Timbers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Timbers Hotel

Property: The Timbers Hotel
Address: 4411 Peoria St, Denver, CO 80239-4817
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Timbers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Timbers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Hotel Denver
Timbers Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing