We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Denver trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #65 of 160 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Francisco was very helpful at the point of check in of the facility. His assistance in local eating establishments was very helpful and his knowledge of local points of interests was greatly appreciated. He would be a good person to utilize in training of other staff due to his knowledge.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious and have different views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Brian183,
We appreciate your compliments on Francisco. We are aware that this hotel is very fortunate to have such an outstanding associate as the first face you see when entering our hotel. We have passed along your praises to his manager so that he may get the recognition he so well deserves. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
Tony Dunn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had the most bizarre experience at the Downtown Sheraton. From the outside everything looks right - big hotel, nice decor, professional looking, etc. But, the operations of the hotel were unbelievably bad. First - the food. My daughter and I ordered room service the first night we were there. She got the kid's burger. I got a pepperoni pizza, homemade potato chips and a fruit plate. The pizza was probably the worst pizza I have ever had. If you have ever had a pizza from Seven Eleven or a really bad frozen pizza - the Sheraton Pizza was much worse. The crust was like cardboard, the cheese and the sauce tasted like pure chemicals. As to the fruit plate - the honey dew melon was as unripe as you could get, and the watermelon was like rubber. The potato chips (which had some kind of sauce) were half raw - uncooked. My daughter said that her hamburger was mostly fat. For all of this deliciousness I was charged $80.00. (21% mandatory gratuity and $3.50 "delivery charge." Of course, they have another line on the slip for "additional gratuity.").

Second - housekeeping. Because I didn't eat hardly any of the food, when we left the next day to go to the Broncos game, the tray of food was still there. I made sure that the privacy sign was not on the door so they would clean the room while we were gone. (The room was a bit messy because we got in late, unpacked all of our stuff, and we were really tired). When we got back from the game at abuot 6:00 p.m., the room looked completely untouched. All of the food from the night before was still there (stinking!). No housekeeping at all. Unbelievable! Mind you we spent $400/night for this room because it was a holiday weekend. I called the manager [Manuel] and told him that housekeeping never came. He apologized. But as I was on the phone I noticed that the beds were made! So, housekeeping had indeed come. They just hadn't cleaned anything and hadn't taken any of the food. They just made beds, left everything else where it was and they left. So bizarre. The manager offered to send someone up to clean, but I told him that we were exhausted and didn't really want someone in there at that time. I asked him to send someone up in an hour after we had had a chance to rest. I figured we would go out and get something to eat. Five minutes later there was a knock at the door. I answered the door and there was a sixty-five year old woman standing there in a housekeeping uniform. She look eastern European. I said "Can I help you?" She just stared at me and pointed at the room. It soon became apparent that she did not speak a word of English. Not one word. She just kept pointing at the room and saying "eeep" "eeep". It was the strangest experience I had ever had at a hotel. It was like I was in a third world country. I tried to be polite. I said "Ma'am I am sorry but I don't understand what you are saying. Would you like to clean the room?" She said "eeep" "eeep" and kept pointing. She then handed me a slip of paper that said "207 service." I said "Ok, I guess you can come in ." She came in the room, and I went and sat on the bed and resumed my iPad viewing. She then turned around, left and shut the door. That was it. We did end up going out for dinner that night. When we came back - still no cleaning. The next morning at 7:40 a.m. we were sleeping and we were woken up by a knock on the door. Before we had a chance to respond, someone opened our door. Fortunately we had the security latch on so they couldn't get in. It was housekeeping - waking us up at 7:40 a.m.! We stayed in bed and they left. We checked out at 9:00 a.m. We never did get anyone to clean our room.

Needless to say, I would never stay in this hotel again. No one should. The thing is - it is huge - it has the Sheraton name on it - and I am sure that they have huge conventions, etc. But, the emperor has no clothes! Horrible food. Horrible bizarre service. Outrageously overpriced. And they do not understand English - even the manager. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Bradley K,
I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience at our hotel. We definitely have much higher standards than you had during your stay. It was wholly unacceptable and I would like to speak with you directly so I can gather additional information to hold the appropriate people accountable. Please feel free to contact me at chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the worse experience! Room has not been thoroughly cleaned, there was trash under the nightstand by the bed. We wanted to order room service, no menu in room. We called the front desk she said she would send one right up. We waited an hour then went down to the front desk. They then said they would take our order, but we hadn't seen the menu! Ended up at the in- house restaurant. Food was not as ordered, one dish too salty couldn't eat it. The other one didn't come as stated on the menu. The waitress said she would inform the kitchen. Send clothes out for dry cleaning but they were not returned to the room at 6pm. Called the front desk they said it had just been returned at 5:30. We waited until. 8 pm then went down to get it ourselves. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pagosagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Pagosagirl,
WOW, this was really a bad stay for you and I am so sorry we did not exceed your expectations! We are better than this and your experience was entirely unacceptable. I would like to connect with you directly to personally apologize and offer whatever amends I can. Please let me know the best way to contact you by sending an e-mail to me at chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com
I look forward to speaking with you.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location .close to shops , restaurants ,and public transportation. The hotel was clean , the staff was friendly . We had breakfast at the hotel a few times the food was above average. I will definnetly stay there again when visiting Denver again,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrygil66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Lorrygil66,
We appreciate your compliments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were able to get the best experience of Denver with our close proximity to so many options. We hope to see you again in the future.
Tony Dunn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the largest hotel in Colorado, located in two different buildings: one is an I.M. Pei skyscraper (the "Tower"), the other an 8-story large squarish building (the "Plaza"). They are connected seamlessly underground and by a 2nd floor skyway. There are large convention facilities in both buildings. There is abundant but expensive underground parking. The location is excellent, near one end of Denver's 16th St. pedestrian mall, served by a frequent, free bus. Many museums, restaurants, and the State Capitol are nearby.

Reviews suggest that rooms and bathrooms in the skyscraper are small, so we chose to stay in the lower "Plaza" building. We asked for an exterior room, which afforded nice views southwest toward the mountains. There are nearly as many interior rooms, which probably offer no view at all. Our room was reasonably spacious, with two queen beds, a modernistic desk, minimal dresser space, and a normal-sized and generally well-functioning bathroom (actually, the water ranged from luke warm to extremely hot with the same setting of the lever on different days). The bed was especially comfortable. An unusual and welcome feature is that if you do not want housekeeping services on a particular day, you hang a special sign on the outside door handle before retiring, and you are greeted in the morning with a $5 coupon that acts like cash at hotel restaurants, etc.

One of our curtain rods was missing so the curtain couldn't be moved. Internet service in our room was free for our group, but often overwhelmed by the high bandwidth usage of our group. Once, it took hours for me to send a message.

The pool was difficult to find. Once having walked the considerable distance there, we encountered a "pool closed" sign, although the event wasn't to take place for hours and people were swimming there. There were no "pool rules" so children were jumping and splashing.

The 15/50 restaurant served a good, if expensive, breakfast (with a reasonable buffet option). Normal check-out time is noon. Although it was a lengthy walk between our room and the elevator, that elevator went to convenient places on the lobby level, the conference level, and where we had parked our car below that. Speaking of "lobby level," an annoying circumstance on our first morning concerned the location of the 15/50 restaurant for breakfast. The literature in the room had a whole page about the restaurant, but didn't say what level it was on. I phoned Guest Services and inquired. The woman responded, "it's in the Plaza." I then asked what level it was on. She replied, "the Plaza." I asked again what floor or level it was on. She replied, "The Plaza level." I asked, "What level is that, is that the Lobby level?" She replied in a deprecating tone, "Well, it's the Plaza Level, but you can call it Lobby level if you want to." Well, thanks. In the elevator, that level is indicated by "L". I suppose it is for "p-L-aza" level. And signs in the hotel mark the floor as "Lobby". Fortunately, other staff (e.g. in the restaurant) were more friendly.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms in the Plaza building are probably preferred. Determine where your function is and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear nedtraveler,
Thank you greatly for your feedback during your recent business stay. We first and foremost, would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the pool closure sign, as well as the unfriendly tone of our guest services associate. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many features of our hotel, but mainly our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and our positioning on the world famous 16th Street Pedestrian Mall. We take great pride in the city we call home, and are happy to offer some of Denver’s most iconic attractions right outside our doorstep. We surely hope we are able to welcome you back to our community again in the future.
Tony Dunn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

At the first glace the hotel has everything that a four-ish star hotel should have, but after staying here for five days (for a conference) I would say given to the price it is simply not a great place. I was appointed a room at the Plaza building. There are six elevators but they are all on one side! Plaza building is very large and my room is at the other end of the building, meaning that I have to walk 2 minutes just to get to the elevator. Of course I don't mind doing some exercise, but rushing between different talks and spent a lot of 2 minutes to get to the elevator just isn't great. The WIFI is *awful*, almost every hour I have to struggle for 20-ish minutes to get it work properly. I got complimentory WIFI from the conference, but imagine if someone pay a lot of bucks and get a defunct WIFI... Otherwise it is okay. Good beds, clean rooms. The hotel is located in an excellent place, with a lot of restaurants nearby; the state capitol and Denver mint is just 10 minutes walk. But unless you are coming for a conference or you have a lot of bucks I wouldn't recommend to stay at this place.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room close to the elevator if you stay in the Plaza and you don't want a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The location of the hotel is quite good being right of the 16th Street Mall. The hotel itself definitely shows its' age. The conference facilities and lobby are well appointed. However, the hallways to guest rooms are dark dreary, and many of the room doors need repainting/varnishing. A couple of the lights in the hallway were also burnt out for my entire stay (3 nights). My room was large since it had two double beds, but some of my coworkers had smaller rooms with kings. Beds were good and the hotel itself was quiet at night. Bathroom could have used additional cleaning and showed its age just like the rest of the building. Overall, not a bad choice in downtown Denver, but definitely better options available in the same price range. Probably deserves 3.5 stars instead of 3. I would consider returning only if other options were not available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gozags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#54 of 160 in Denver
1,611 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#46 of 160 in Denver
2,798 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#37 of 160 in Denver
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#25 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £96 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel invites you to experience the best of The Mile High City. Located on a mile-long pedestrian promenade filled with outdoor bistros, shopping and entertainment and situated in the heart of Denver's financial and business district, we're superb choice for both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing