We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HUGE CONVENTION TYPE HOTEL, BUT CONVENIENT LOCATION” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #60 of 154 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HUGE CONVENTION TYPE HOTEL, BUT CONVENIENT LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a convention. This hotel is very large...large enough have two towers of rooms.

The meetings were held in the basement levels between the two towers. Although it was convenient to be able to go straight down to the meeting room level from my room, there is a lot of walking involved.

A MAJOR problem was our electronic keys...they kept getting demagnetized, so we kept having to trek over to the check-in desk to get new keys. This happened at least 3 times with our room door, as well as a handful of times getting into the club room (an extra I paid to get access to). Because my room was in the auxiliary tower, the trek each time was a a 15-minute ordeal. I mentioned it at check out and the reaction by the desk clerk was under whelming.

PROS:
-located next to 16th Street Mall, so plenty of places to eat, drink and shop besides at hotel
-good if you're attending a conference at this hotel
-Club Room is nice, but it is an additional $20 per day per person

CONS:
-huge property....getting from your room to your meeting room, lobby, etc. is a hike
-$10 per night charge for Wi-Fi. Tacky, tacky, tacky.

Room Tip: Get room in the main tower (the same one that the lobby and meeting rooms are in). Otherwise you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegreykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    844
    587
    235
    108
See reviews for
249
387
152
1,196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just stayed with a large group of friends and loved the common areas. The hotel is well-appointed and after checking in I assumed the rooms were on par with the rest of the hotel. Stayed in the Tower side on the 17th floor and the room was very small. I had a view of the pool and a neighboring building.

The room was hot and the a/c ran all day and night. The walls are thin. I could hear the children crying on one side and the honeymooners on the other ;). I enjoyed the club on the 22nd floor. Great drinks and free snacks during Happy Hpur.

The Yard House located in the lobby was really good. Their happy hour deals are epic. Really good beers and food!

The pool only gets sun for a few hours a day so you need to be there in the early afternoon. Plan accordingly. Our friends on the Plaza side had much bigger rooms. I'd recommend staying on that side. Though dated, they are much larger.

Parking (self) was $27 a day. That's steep in my book. Valet was a smidgen more. Let their guys navigate that very tight, cramped garage.

Staff was wonderful and for that reason alone I'd go back. Hope the rooms are renovated in the future.

Room Tip: Plaza side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice convention hotel. Great fitness club included with stay, best I have seen. Located right on the 16th Street mall, walking distance to capitol, and museum district. Downside is our room was small, not European small but not exactly what you would want in a near premium brand. The hotel is split by a street but linked by underground and second floor walkways. there is no reception or staff in the lobby of the Plaza Building.

Green Features: Starwood provides a voucher for points or food service discounts for each day you forgo roomservice.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is very safe and that's a nice feature since it is situated right at the 16th mall bus route. We stayed in the Tower building which is across the street from the main hotel. It took me 2 days to get used to utilizing the 2 elevators it took to get from the lobby to my room until a friendly guest told us we could enter and exit the Tower building directly. The staff neglected to mention that. The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean. My favorite part was their "green" program wherein the reward you with a $5 coupon for every day you do not request maid service. You can still request towels and toiletries if needed but it was a great idea.The cabanas by the pool were a nice feature but the small cafe they had at the pool closed far too early.

Green Features: Love their program, rewarding with the $5 coupon to keep it green!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on a busines trip. The check-in process was smooth and my room was in a convenient location, away from the lift but only a short walk.
The room had a good lay out and was a very decent size. I cannot think of anything that was lacking in terms of amenities and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked perfectly.
The location is great and the Irish Bar opposite the hotel is a nice place to hang out.
Overall could not really fault the hotel, although I did not use many facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoonerT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all by appearances the hotel bought an office building across the street and asked them to join the hotel club. If you stay here (and I will not again) ask for a room in the main hotel and not in the tower especially if you have any luggage. You walk forever and the rooms are not that nice. YUK...

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the tower portion of the hotel. Ask for a newer room in the main part of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racinetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Racinetv,
I am so sorry that our property caused you to walk so much. We are the largest hotel in the state occupying two city blocks and it can require a bit of walking. Our IM Pei Tower was built in 1959 and was the original hotel, not an office building. We have done our best to preserve Mr. Pei’s architectural integrity in the Tower Building, I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience here.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denver hotels

Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The positive aspects of this hotel: the convenient location, the quiet room, and the comfortable bed.
The negative aspects of this hotel: small, outdated rooms, uncomfortable temperature, and slow elevators.

After becoming a Gold Starwood member, I was looking forward to the free room upgrade. I was told I was receiving the upgrade, but I was immediately disappointed with the size of the room. I have not stayed in a room this small since my visits to Europe. After the addition of our two suitcases, there was barely any room to move.
We were offered a choice of "mountain view" or "museum view." We chose the mountain view room. While I guess you can see mountains in the distance, it's mostly a view of cranes and parking garages.

While a high 20th floor room should have been a perk, the extremely slow elevators made it a hassle. They never said if some of the elevators were not working, but it was an average 15 minute wait time anytime we needed the elevator. When an elevator did arrive, everyone would pack in as tightly as possible because everyone was tired of waiting.

I describe the room as outdated because the shower was weak and difficult to use; the closet was difficult to open/close; plugging in the iron resulted in all of the room's power to go out; the AC is loud and never really gets cold enough on a summer day.

However, I appreciate quiet, and I never heard street noise or noise from the hallway. The bed was very comfortable. It was also nice to be able to walk out the door and have the 16th street mall right there. Also, on the first night at 4am, the alarm clock went off with very loud static. This may have been set by the previous users; however, the hotel could have made sure it was off before we checked in.

The temperature of the pool was very cold. It may be worth using during the middle part of a hot day, but we were sightseeing during the day. It would have been nice to use a hot tub or at least a heated pool in the evening. It did not seem worth it here. We did notice the pool was packed past capacity during the afternoon.

Parking was expensive, but that may be the norm for downtown Denver hotels. In the end, for some people, the great location may make up for some of the drawbacks to this hotel. As a frequent Sheraton guest; however, this hotel was average.

Room Tip: Mountain view was not really much of a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Our "upgrade" included an allergen-free room. Why aren't all rooms allergen-free? It was a bizarre "perk."
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmithNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#37 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Denver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing