We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is located in a great spot in the downtown area right next to a walking mall with all kinds of shops. It is quite a large complex with 2 separate buildings linked with an underground walkway. This is my only negative comment about the hotel. The main check in is in the 'primary' building and our room was in the other building through the tunnel across the street. It was late after a very long day and wondering around looking the correct walkway and elevator for our room in the other building was a bit annoying. It needs to be better marked.

Room Tip: get a room in the "real" hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    868
    601
    243
    109
See reviews for
253
395
152
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Perfect location, just a short walk to the State Capitol, Denver Art Museum, Colorado History Center, and many more cultural attractions. The free public bus service ("Free Mall Ride") stops in front of the hotel and offers service all along the 16th Street Mall. We stayed in the older part of the hotel, which is enormous. Clean and quiet, it is connected to the newer part of the hotel, which is where the main lobby is located, by an underground complex of conference and meeting rooms, and by an enclosed above ground walkway. Of course, at street level, guests can simply walk from one building to the other. The main lobby hosts several bars and restaurants, to include a "Peets" coffee shop, all of which we sampled and were superb. Our only issue with the hotel is that we were given a handicapped-accessible room which has a predictably awkward layout for people who are not handicapped. As an example, the room doesn't have a dresser, instead there are small movable boxes used to store clothes, and what appeared to be a wooden cabinet intended to hold a refrigerator was instead filled with these small boxes for clothes and personal items. As an "SPG Member" I'm sure my account doesn't say that I'm handicapped, so I have no idea why the young lady at the front desk stuck us with this strange room.

The good news is that as an SPG member who stayed for four nights, I was happy to hear the front desk tell me at checkout that our internet was free. I guess that made up for the odd room assignment.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not assigned a handicapped-accessible room, unless you need that!
See more room tips
Green Features: We don't pay that much attention to this area, but seems to be well done.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunner4id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when on a group tour. Compared to other hotels we stayed at this was nice but you can hear everything in your hotel room. Walking down halls,doors slamming,talking in hallways. Not very sound proof. Room was quite big though. Business computers in lobby didn't work well and printers. They need updating. Hotel is in area that has both a lot of homeless people and shopping

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesNative48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I got scared with the hotel, I did not expect it to be so expensive here. The Hotel charged up to $ 40 fee for receiving postal order. Most expensive fee I've seen to date so. If You will Buy from the internet, it's better stay in other hotel! You will spend less. Other hotels charged me only $2 or 3 for pack.This hotel is for weight. The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel should inform that they will charge You for receiving postal order when You do the reservation. This information is very important to not be surprised by the fees which you do not expect. The final price you end up paying for the product by adding this fee does not pay. Apart from this, it's a normal hotel! Nothing extraordinary. So, I don't recomennd this hotel if You want save time buying from the internet, You will save with the price of the hotel, But after You will pay more with the receiving postal order.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank turista_aju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear turista_aju,
Thank you for providing us with feedback. I am so sorry that you have had a negative experience here. I am a bit confused here as our hotel does not charge a handling fee for USPS packages, these are complimentary. Packages sent through FedEx, UPS, etc., are handled through a 3rd party company and do have small fees attached to processing them. I would like to learn more about your experience to ensure you were not overcharged or charged for something that came through USPS. Please send me your contact information to chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com and I will respond as soon as possible.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed here before and had a nice time. This time we stayed for july 4th weekend. My company was hosting a booth at the cherry creek arts festival and I wanted to say close to the event. The pool at night time is very cool. 5 floor roof top. Location is good for access to 16th street mall but the mall has declined over the years. My main issue was with the room. unrepaired damage to vents, leaking celing, TV would not work, dust. AC unit was very old with stains. Just kinda gross. Pics below. Room was 1424 in the tower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lee K,
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel I am glad that you enjoyed the many amenities and have been a loyal customer in the past. I am sorry that there were several defects in the room and would like to follow up to ensure they were corrected and you were properly apologized to for the inconveniences you suffered. Please send me your contact information to chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com so I can contact you for more information and apologize personally.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Sheraton Denver Downtown is comparable to a budget Hwy hotel.

Checked in today - chaos in the lobby - very crowded and noisy, a big line up to check in.

I requested an upgrade to the concierge floor - this was not available. No recognition as a Starwood Preferred Guest. I was told I had an "upgraded" oversized room....

My rooms (7th Floor Tower) is tiny - 1/2 the size of a standard hotel room - no dresser (a few drawers in the closet). Closet doors are stiff and hanging. A very tiny washroom. The view is of the air handling unit on the roof next door. Windows don't open - the AC unit is one of those freeze or fry. Clean but a very dated décor.

This property is a typical (dated) lower quality convention room factory. No personality, charm or sense of hospitality. They must count on over-charging non-repeat convention business

Several unsavory types lurking near the entrance door areas of the main level; no security visible.
For the price the hotel is poor value.
I should have opted for the Hyatt - seems newer a better quality experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Tower Rooms" or better still - choose the Marriott or the Hyatt
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers to reduce your bill if you cut back on the cleaning - seriously what nonsense. This a cheap cost cutting ploy- couched in Green Wash - this hotel needs all the housekeeping it can get - definitely not a place to cut back..
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mark H,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am so sorry that your stay with us was such a negative experience. Being the largest hotel in the state of Colorado and indeed hosting many large conventions does make us quite busy. I am sorry that there were so many people in our lobby during your stay. I also apologize that you didn’t enjoy your accommodations. Since our hotel does have over 1200 guest rooms with many different room types and sizes, we can definitely accommodate specific requests should you wish to stay with us in the future. Finally, I apologize that you were confronted with some unsavory individuals. While we do have 24 hour security on throughout the two square city blocks our hotel occupies, we definitely should have prevented them from gathering around the entrances to our hotel. I would like to get more information so we can hold the appropriate people accountable for the defects you experienced so if you would like to send me an e-mail to me at chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com I will contact you directly.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery County, PA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I spent two nights here in July 2014. Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is a full service meeting/convention type facility with all manner of amenities and a very good location.
It is two buildings separated by an "under-street connection". This does make the walk from the Tower section to the main desk/main lobby area a bit long . . . that is if you need to make the trip.
Rooms were very attractive. Bathrooms slightly small. But, both are nicely done and mine were immaculate. WiFi was free, safe was free, housekeeping very good and staff very helpful.
I found the location at the top of the 16th St. Mall with its free mall bus very convenient to businesses, shopping, restaurants. I had no need for a car or cabs.
I used the RTD public bus from the airport to get to downtown (roundtrip $20) and then the mall bus from Union Station to the Hotel. Very convenient and a price saver.

Room Tip: The tower rooms where i stayed are in a separate building across the street from the section where t...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has a practice of allowing guests to opt out of everyday housekeeping. That is fine with me: I don't get clean sheets everyday at home.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEDMAD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing