We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #60 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olathe, KS
1 review
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a great time in Denver and the room price included tickets to the Kind Tut exhibit. The hotel is convenient to many downtown attractions and we never needed to take the car out of the hotel garage over our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgillespie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Jgillespie21,

We are very pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel. Our location makes it so easy for our guests to explore Denver and the spectacular venues it offers. We are also very proud to be one of the official hotels for the King Tut Exhibit taking place at the Denver Art Museum which is in easy walking distance for our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Denver Downtown on your next trip to Denver.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    867
    601
    243
    109
See reviews for
253
394
152
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, wi
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My stay was not by choice, but by convention arrangements. I have often experienced some disappointments in past conventions, but not this year. From the moment I arrived until my shuttle back to the airport I was treated exceptionally well by all employees I encountered, enjoyed excellent food and hospitality. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWISOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear SWISOptimist,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our Team Members take extra care in making certain all of our guests feel warm and welcome. Hopefully the next time you are in Denver you will make stay with us your personal choice.

We invite you to join us again. It was truly our pleasure to serve you!

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The first room I checked in to the air conditioner was taken apart and laying on the floor. It was obvious someone had been working on it. After it was put back together, and the rest of my colleagues were waiting in the lobby for me, It rattled too loudly which made it necessary to make the first room change. The second room the water cooling lines ran very loudly throughout the night making it impossible to sleep. At 4:30 in the morning I called the front desk to notify them of the problem. I was informed that since the hotel was booked that I would have to wait until 10:00 am to get another room. At 10:30 am I left the convention that I was attending, and which I paid a large amount of money to attend, to obtain my third room. At that time I was told a room would not be ready until 3:00 pm. I was dissappointed that what was promised was not followed through on. Also my things were moved without my permission.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB55064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear KB55064,

We were disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. Your concerns regarding the room temperature units have already been forwarded to our Director of Engineering as well as our Guest Services Director.

I would like to personally invite you to feel free to reach out to me at denversheraton1@gmail.com. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The Sheraton Denver is ideally located on the 16th Street pedestrian mall, which is great for family travelers. The suite was an ideal size for a family. However, the suites do not have refrigerators and there are substantial fees for internet, breakfast and parking. The beds are good, but not as nice as some competitors. The sleeper sofa was extremely uncomfortable, and not suitable for sleeping even for small children. Fortunately, the hotel manager provided a rollaway bed and waived the fee under the circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesapeakeTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear ChesapeakeTravel99,


We were happy to hear that our Team responded to the challenges your family experienced during your stay. We recognize that our guestrooms are not equipped with refrigerators but we do invite you to experience what our outlets have to offer. The hotel also offers complimentary wifi, computers, internet and printing in the Link@Sheraton located in the lobby.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton on your next trip to Denver.


Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lees summit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Had a great stay, The hotel was great. The only problem we had was the ice machine on the 2nd floor. It did not work our entire stay. We contacted the front desk and they told us they would have it fixed, but it never got fixed. We had to go to the 4th floor to get ice until that ice machine gave out. Other than that everything was great. We really liked the Fitness Center.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandy2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Brandy2023,

We are delighted that you were able to experience our state of the art fitness center.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the ice machine during your stay. We are currently inspecting all ice machines, and will make sure that they are in good working order for your next trip to the Sheraton Denver Downtown.

We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Denver Downtown.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fountain valley, Ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The downtown sheraton is beautiful, from the front lobby to the pool on the 5th floor roof. it is close to everything you can imagine. We chose the go green which I was told that our linens would not be changed and our towels would also not be changed. We though okay. No it meant that you had no made service at all, our trash built up and we had no coffee for each morning, so that was a little disappointing. The other thing was it seems like no one is happy there. Very professional but not very personable. We stayed on a variety of hotels on our 2 week vacation and everyone of them offered free wi-fi except for the sheraton. so that would be nice as well. Other than that it was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fvroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Odysseytrip,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we are pleased that you had a great stay.

We take great pride in our “Make A Green Choice” program and apologize that it was not explained to you appropriately upon check in. The program is designed to offer guests 500 SPG points or a $5 voucher for food and non-alcoholic beverages for refusing all housekeeping services each day. Please do keep in mind that should you return to the Sheraton Denver Downtown in the future that the coupons can be utilized for beverages in Katie Mullens, our Irish Pub on our property. The program itself has been quite successful with our guests and it was disappointing to learn of your challenges.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel on our brief retreat from reality. I opted for this hotel because of the rates the offered for this location. With so much surrounding 16th St. and this corner of Downtown, there is never a shortage of things to do. You must pay to park but the price per night isn't much different than surrounding hotels. Word of caution to travelers choosing the Green Option; be sure to find the Green Option tag in your room and hang it on your door before 2am to receive the voucher. This was not explained to us at the front desk as our attendant was attempting to help a new staff member check in a family while checking us in simultaneously. Overall her service and that of all staff there was great. She was certain to explain the double set of elevators in the parking garage and their relation to the differing towers that were available for guest rooms. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clfails379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Clfails379,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our 16th St. mall location is great for all of our guests looking to experience downtown Denver.

We strive very hard to make sure that all of our team members are up to date on the “Make A Green Choice” program and apologize if there was any confusion on the program’s stipulations.

Thank you for sharing your remarks with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Denver Downtown.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#55 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing