We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your not attending a convention here, stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If your not attending a convention here, stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

If you are attending a convention at the hotel, then this property is for you, beautiful common areas and convention space.

The hotel itself is ancient, was previously a Adam's Mark and Raddison. The bathrooms are the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel, and I have stayed in 500 different hotels on several continents. Yes the rooms have been remolded but it is still old, it even smells old in the rooms probably due to the AC/Heat units from the 70s, except they installed the handy interface that turns off the AC/Heat when u leave your room wether you want it off or not (Bad in the Hot summer or Cold winter).

Calling guest services for a request or wake up call takes forever, sometimes you have to hang up and try again, they don't seem to have enough staff operating the phones.

If your not attending a convention here do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, there are plenty of properties within a block of the 16th Street Mall where all the shopping, bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalP0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear CalP0ly,

We were disappointed to learn that you’re stay with us was less than satisfactory to you. Some of our I.M. Pei Tower bathrooms to your point are smaller than others. This famous architect designed the building in 1959 which may confirm your perception of the building’s age and although many of our guests appreciate his talent we can certainly understand that his style many not encompass everyone’s particular taste.

Additionally, while we pride ourselves on the outstanding service our reputation is known for; it appears our Guest Services Team has fallen short. The experience you had has been shared with them.

I would like to personally invite you to feel free to reach out to me at denversheraton1@gmail.com. You are very important to us and we value your input.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    887
    616
    246
    111
See reviews for
260
402
153
1,269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Right from the start the staff was very curtious and helpful. Check in/out was a breeze. The rooms were spacious and clean. Being right down town, everything was pretty much within walking distance. The kids called it our apartment! :) We look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringsCOPA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The staff switched rooms for me because of a strong chemical smell in the room ( also offered an ozone machine) which was recent cleanoing. Very nice all around BUT the bed was really soft, not the perfect hotel bed you look forward to at a fancy place! I woke up with a backache. I would recommend that you MAKE SURE you get a good bed when you reserve.
THere was a big renevation, but still lots of outdated, somewhat shabby furniture. Great location, though, nice breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowithnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDenver1, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Gowithnancy,

We understand how frustrating it can be to not have a good night sleep and apologize that the bed in your particular room was not to your liking. I’d like the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding this as our $70 million dollar renovation encompassed all items in our guestrooms and I’d like to investigate this further. Please feel free to reach out to me at denversheraton1@gmail.com.

Lastly, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our prime location on the 16th Street Mall. Many of our guests such as you have experienced firsthand as of the fun and excitement that the Mile High City has to offer by simply walking out our front doors.

Should your travels bring you back to Denver, we would invite you to allow us an additional opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely, Mike Ehmann – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Very nice hotel with a great, spacious lobby and nice staff personnel everywhere. Great workout facility with plenty of equipment. Location can't be beat with the 16th Avenue Mall right outside and free shuttle up and down the street. Minor concern: We could easily hear late-night guests in the hall through our door, and the bathroom seemed a bit small compared to the bigness of the overall room. But great bed, easy chair, work desk, etc. Free wi-fi in the lobby, wish it was also free in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The wait staff in the 15 Fifty restaurant were pleasant and accommodating. They made it easy for me to conduct business, while enjoying a good meal at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalice81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel had several things going for it. The room was absolutely HUGE. You could have done a series of back handsprings no problem. It would be great if you were sharing a room with a few people--plenty of room for multiple adolescent girls to simultaneously primp and prep, for example, and the closet was basically as big as a room with its own door so it would be perfect to set up a pack and play and give you a little separation you from a kid/baby. Yet the room had no full-length mirror, and the typical dim hotel lighting was especially frustrating since there was little natural light due to the other tower of the hotel across the street occupying the view (I could have sworn the website said all the rooms had city or mountain views--not true). I loved the fact that you could forgo housekeeping and get a $5 credit per day to spend at the restaurants, and I was pleased they had a room ready for me at 10:30 AM on the day of my check-in. I thought it would be a noisy room since it was the first one off the elevator, but surprisingly, it wasn't an issue, and some of the rooms were such a trek from the elevators, I ended up glad I was that close to them. I probably never would have paid to stay here if it weren't where my conference was held, and for the money, it was not perfect (nothing big, but little stuff like the in-room movie menu not working), but the location was fantastic--it was nice to be able to go outside and have so many dining, shopping, and people-watching options just steps away. You could certainly do a lot worse.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellyawhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The Sheraton Downtown Denver is centrally located on the 16th St. mall, making food, shopping and entertainment readily accessible. The hotel staff are polite and knowledgeable, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. The only drawback is the constant elevator changing and card-swiping required if your room is located in the tower across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambalayaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 157 in Denver
1,545 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel invites you to experience the best of The Mile High City. Located on a mile-long pedestrian promenade filled with outdoor bistros, shopping and entertainment and situated in the heart of Denver's financial and business district, we're superb choice for both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing